Page 1 of 1

New FTTN connection

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 5:36 pm
by IanS
What is the procedure for arranging a new FTTN NBN service?
Do you need to get a new PSTN service on first or can you just order a new FTTN service through Exetel

Re: New FTTN connection

Posted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 1:53 am
by KavindaS
IanS wrote:What is the procedure for arranging a new FTTN NBN service?
Do you need to get a new PSTN service on first or can you just order a new FTTN service through Exetel
One of the colleagues from the sales department will check the availability and update you with the process.

Re: New FTTN connection

Posted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 12:45 pm
by IanS
It's not for me, but for a mate's business & according to your website NBN is available at his address.

He's already an Exetel customer, but needs to retain his PSTN service for equipment testing & configuration, so the plan was to get a new service with NBN & once it was up and running then cancel the existing ADSL service, but retain the PSTN line.

Just not sure how to go about ordering a brand new service, with a new incoming line. Do we need to get Telstra to install a PSTN line, then go to Exetel & get the NBN connected or can Exetel arrange the whole lot?

Also can the Exetel supplied NBN FTTN modem be setup in bridge mode, as the current modem has an ethernet WAN port & is configured for 3 external VPN connections

Re: New FTTN connection

Posted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:11 pm
by devindag
IanS wrote:It's not for me, but for a mate's business & according to your website NBN is available at his address.

He's already an Exetel customer, but needs to retain his PSTN service for equipment testing & configuration, so the plan was to get a new service with NBN & once it was up and running then cancel the existing ADSL service, but retain the PSTN line.

Just not sure how to go about ordering a brand new service, with a new incoming line. Do we need to get Telstra to install a PSTN line, then go to Exetel & get the NBN connected or can Exetel arrange the whole lot?

Also can the Exetel supplied NBN FTTN modem be setup in bridge mode, as the current modem has an ethernet WAN port & is configured for 3 external VPN connections
One of the colleagues from the sales department will check the availability and update you with the process.

Re: New FTTN connection

Posted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 9:09 am
by natashaf
Hi Ian,

One of our sales representatives will be in touch in order to provide further details

Regards,

Natasha

Re: New FTTN connection

Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:20 pm
by Bellag
devindag wrote:
IanS wrote:It's not for me, but for a mate's business & according to your website NBN is available at his address.

He's already an Exetel customer, but needs to retain his PSTN service for equipment testing & configuration, so the plan was to get a new service with NBN & once it was up and running then cancel the existing ADSL service, but retain the PSTN line.

Just not sure how to go about ordering a brand new service, with a new incoming line. Do we need to get Telstra to install a PSTN line, then go to Exetel & get the NBN connected or can Exetel arrange the whole lot?

Also can the Exetel supplied NBN FTTN modem be setup in bridge mode, as the current modem has an ethernet WAN port & is configured for 3 external VPN connections
One of the colleagues from the sales department will check the availability and update you with the process.
The procedure for arranging a new FTTN NBN service is as follows:

Firstly it would be best if you could PM us with the address of the property to confirm the service?

With regards to the connection however, we would need to obtain the number of an active telephone service as this number can then be utilized (sacrificed) to connect the service and confirm the line. The reason we use the same number connected is so that there will not be any confusion with regards to the copper line that is connected to that specific property and so that other lines would not be used as any other line that has an active ADSL service could be utilized.

Once the service has been connected this line will then be converted to a VOIP service and will not be a physical telephone line thereafter.

The process will be as follows:

• Order placed with active telephone line number to confirm the specific line- once off porting charge of $15 is applicable.
• Activation time frame is approximately 25-30 business days.
• Sent to supplier to confirm and process the order
• If required technician will be sent out to complete the service. Notification email will be sent out to customer prior to technician visit informing of the date and time.
• Once the FTTN service is active the number will be changed across to VOIP

However in the event that the customer does not wish to provide us with this active telephone line to be utilized, we would then need to request to activate a new line which will incur the following charges: $297 to install a new copper line + FFS ($82 per hour) + materials. This will be in addition to the activation of the fibre service. This number when activated will then also be converted to a VOIP number.

With regards to the existing ADSL and PSTN connected, once the fibre service has been activated we would need to be informed so that we can process the cancellation of the existing service in order to avoid further billing. However there is a possibility that both services can be billed simultaneously as the accounts are independent from each other. This will be the same if the number is utilized for the connection.

With regards to you inquiry on:
"Exetel supplied NBN FTTN modem be setup in bridge mode, as the current modem has an ethernet WAN port & is configured for 3 external VPN connections"
- As per our support team, this is possible. However, you need to make sure that the VDSL no vlan tag be enabled.