New ZTE H268A Modem - No WiFi On 2.4 Ghz

Services provided via NBN Co, Opticomm, Open Networks, Red Train, LBN Co, and TPG FttB
Post Reply
chiv000
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 9:37 am

New ZTE H268A Modem - No WiFi On 2.4 Ghz

Post by chiv000 » Mon Mar 25, 2019 1:57 pm

I recently moved house and also switched from Exetel ADSL at my old address to Exetel NBN at the new address. Received the ZTE modem in the post and plugged it in.
All appeared to be a trouble-free process until I attempted to use the WiFi. The 5Ghz band is working properly - no issues. However, the 2.4Ghz band is refusing to accept connections. The SSID is seen by all devices (Windoze, Linux, Android & Apple), but the devices "time out" without connecting.
I have even tried using No Security in the settings, but still no connection. Could reflashing firmware (or replacing the modem itself) be the solution? I have inserted screenshots of the WiFi settings page to try to give the full story.

SSID Settings -
Global Config.png
Global Config.png (27.93 KiB) Viewed 368 times
Global Settings -
Global Config.png
Global Config.png (27.93 KiB) Viewed 368 times

User avatar
nilushid
Exetel Staff
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:18 pm
Location: sydney

Re: New ZTE H268A Modem - No WiFi On 2.4 Ghz

Post by nilushid » Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:14 pm

chiv000 wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 1:57 pm
I recently moved house and also switched from Exetel ADSL at my old address to Exetel NBN at the new address. Received the ZTE modem in the post and plugged it in.
All appeared to be a trouble-free process until I attempted to use the WiFi. The 5Ghz band is working properly - no issues. However, the 2.4Ghz band is refusing to accept connections. The SSID is seen by all devices (Windoze, Linux, Android & Apple), but the devices "time out" without connecting.
I have even tried using No Security in the settings, but still no connection. Could reflashing firmware (or replacing the modem itself) be the solution? I have inserted screenshots of the WiFi settings page to try to give the full story.
Can you please PM your Customer ID or Service Number so we can look into this matter and get back to you asap?

chiv000
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 9:37 am

Re: New ZTE H268A Modem - No WiFi On 2.4 Ghz

Post by chiv000 » Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:17 pm

PM sent.

User avatar
nilushid
Exetel Staff
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:18 pm
Location: sydney

Re: New ZTE H268A Modem - No WiFi On 2.4 Ghz

Post by nilushid » Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:55 pm

chiv000 wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:17 pm
PM sent.
Thanks for the PM. We have done some changers from our end to rectify the issue. Please restart the modem and check whether it is working. If the issue persist Please Factory reset the modem and check the service.

Ref: #14648566

chiv000
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 9:37 am

Re: New ZTE H268A Modem - No WiFi On 2.4 Ghz

Post by chiv000 » Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:18 pm

Factory reset performed using the web interface. Unfortunately, I still have the same WiFi problem and I now have no internet connection. Can connect via LAN or 5Ghz to the router, but not to internet.

Greg.

User avatar
nilushid
Exetel Staff
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:18 pm
Location: sydney

Re: New ZTE H268A Modem - No WiFi On 2.4 Ghz

Post by nilushid » Tue Mar 26, 2019 3:03 pm

chiv000 wrote:
Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:18 pm
Factory reset performed using the web interface. Unfortunately, I still have the same WiFi problem and I now have no internet connection. Can connect via LAN or 5Ghz to the router, but not to internet.

Greg.
We checked your service and there was a configuration issue on the modem, which is now fix. You are now connected to the internet. Please check both 2.4G and 5G WiFi network and get back to us with the outcome. If it still does not connect to 2.4G we will further investigate the modem issue with ZTE.

chiv000
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 9:37 am

Re: New ZTE H268A Modem - No WiFi On 2.4 Ghz

Post by chiv000 » Tue Mar 26, 2019 7:17 pm

Thanks. DSL is back up. Unfortunately 2.4Ghz says "Authentication error occurred". 5Ghz connects within 1 or 2 secs.

Greg.

User avatar
nilushid
Exetel Staff
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:18 pm
Location: sydney

Re: New ZTE H268A Modem - No WiFi On 2.4 Ghz

Post by nilushid » Tue Mar 26, 2019 8:22 pm

chiv000 wrote:
Tue Mar 26, 2019 7:17 pm
Thanks. DSL is back up. Unfortunately 2.4Ghz says "Authentication error occurred". 5Ghz connects within 1 or 2 secs.

Greg.
Thanks for getting back to us. We will check this with ZTE and get back to you asap. Ref: #14648566

User avatar
nilushid
Exetel Staff
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:18 pm
Location: sydney

Re: New ZTE H268A Modem - No WiFi On 2.4 Ghz

Post by nilushid » Wed Mar 27, 2019 3:32 pm

Hi Greg.

We have done a encryption change to the 2.4G SSID as advised by the modem manufacture. Please check the service and get back to us if the issue persist.

chiv000
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 9:37 am

Re: New ZTE H268A Modem - No WiFi On 2.4 Ghz

Post by chiv000 » Wed Mar 27, 2019 3:44 pm

Thanks, but I already tried it with No Security. That was my first fault finding step. Still doesn't connect.
Greg.

User avatar
nilushid
Exetel Staff
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:18 pm
Location: sydney

Re: New ZTE H268A Modem - No WiFi On 2.4 Ghz

Post by nilushid » Wed Mar 27, 2019 7:20 pm

chiv000 wrote:
Wed Mar 27, 2019 3:44 pm
Thanks, but I already tried it with No Security. That was my first fault finding step. Still doesn't connect.
Greg.
Hi Greg

We tried to reach you on the given landline number, but could not connect. However we have sent you an email (Nominated email address) regarding this issue. Could you, please go through the instructions in the email and reply back to us with the outcome asap.

Ref:14648566

Post Reply