New NBN FTTC connection - Question re BYO Router

Services provided via NBN Co, Opticomm, Open Networks, Red Train, LBN Co, and TPG FttB
Post Reply
Edwin
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 6:25 am
Location: Sydney

New NBN FTTC connection - Question re BYO Router

Post by Edwin » Sat May 11, 2019 6:02 pm

Hi all,

I've just been connected to NBN (FTTC), I've got the Exetel supplied ZTE modem, but would prefer to use my own router.

When connecting the Exetel supplied ZTE modem, I get a 220.233.x.x IP address. However when connecting my BYO router and setting up using the supplied PPPoE credentials, I get a 100.67.x.x IP address and I cannot route any traffic from/to the internet.

Any idea what may be the cause of this?

Thanks,
Ed

rasikak
Exetel Staff
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:34 pm
Location: North Sydney

Re: New NBN FTTC connection - Question re BYO Router

Post by rasikak » Sat May 11, 2019 6:31 pm

Thank you for reaching out. Please forward me your customer ID or the service number as a PM to assist you accordingly.

Edwin
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 6:25 am
Location: Sydney

Re: New NBN FTTC connection - Question re BYO Router

Post by Edwin » Mon May 13, 2019 8:22 pm

After further investigating, I found that I was incorrect:

Both with the ZTE and the BYO routers I get the 100.67.x.x IP address assigned to the WAN interface. I can also route traffic to the internet (I just had to be patient as the connection did take its time to establish).

However, I cannot establish inbound connectivity to my devices at home, as the WAN interface address is a non-routable IP address.

How do I get a proper static & public IP address?

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2425
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: New NBN FTTC connection - Question re BYO Router

Post by KavindaS » Mon May 13, 2019 9:17 pm

Edwin wrote:
Mon May 13, 2019 8:22 pm
After further investigating, I found that I was incorrect:

Both with the ZTE and the BYO routers I get the 100.67.x.x IP address assigned to the WAN interface. I can also route traffic to the internet (I just had to be patient as the connection did take its time to establish).

However, I cannot establish inbound connectivity to my devices at home, as the WAN interface address is a non-routable IP address.

How do I get a proper static & public IP address?
Please log in to the your My Exetel members section and request a static IP, by mentioning the exact technical reason for having a static IP. This will create a ticket and you will be informed, once we have consider your request accordingly on you contact email address.

Edwin
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 6:25 am
Location: Sydney

Re: New NBN FTTC connection - Question re BYO Router

Post by Edwin » Mon May 13, 2019 9:54 pm

Hi KavindaS,

Are you referring to the "Carrier Grade NAT Opt-Out Request"?

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2425
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: New NBN FTTC connection - Question re BYO Router

Post by KavindaS » Mon May 13, 2019 10:04 pm

Edwin wrote:
Mon May 13, 2019 9:54 pm
Hi KavindaS,

Are you referring to the "Carrier Grade NAT Opt-Out Request"?
Correct :)

Revhead
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 8:40 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: New NBN FTTC connection - Question re BYO Router

Post by Revhead » Thu Jun 20, 2019 10:18 pm

I too want to use my router for FTTC?
NBN Co sent my a connection device and Exetel sent me a modem.
What settings to I have to enter in my modem and can I connect it directly to the wall socket or do I need to use the connection device and plug the modem into that?
Sent Exetel a support question but no answer.
Modem is a TP-Link Archer VR2800 which I understood was NBN ready when I bought it earlier this year.
Ticket number is - #15346047#
Cheers
Cheers, Rev
ADSL2+ T-Bundled-1TB NSW
TP-Link Archer VR2800

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2425
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: New NBN FTTC connection - Question re BYO Router

Post by KavindaS » Fri Jun 21, 2019 12:09 am

Revhead wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 10:18 pm
I too want to use my router for FTTC?
NBN Co sent my a connection device and Exetel sent me a modem.
What settings to I have to enter in my modem and can I connect it directly to the wall socket or do I need to use the connection device and plug the modem into that?
Sent Exetel a support question but no answer.
Modem is a TP-Link Archer VR2800 which I understood was NBN ready when I bought it earlier this year.
Ticket number is - #15346047#
Cheers
You need to connect using the device and plug in to that. You should have all details in the self installation kit you have received with the device.

Modem need to be configured as pppoe Ethernet wan, using the Exetel provided username and password.

Revhead
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 8:40 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: New NBN FTTC connection - Question re BYO Router

Post by Revhead » Fri Jun 21, 2019 6:51 pm

What Exetel username and password? You mean my ADSL one? I don't have any other?
Cheers, Rev
ADSL2+ T-Bundled-1TB NSW
TP-Link Archer VR2800

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2425
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: New NBN FTTC connection - Question re BYO Router

Post by KavindaS » Fri Jun 21, 2019 9:12 pm

Revhead wrote:
Fri Jun 21, 2019 6:51 pm
What Exetel username and password? You mean my ADSL one? I don't have any other?
Please check your emails. We have sent an email on your nominated email today at 20:35:03, which includes the modem configuration username and password.

Post Reply