Transfer Your Current PSTN Home Number To Exetel VoIP

Discussions regarding new & existing plans and other Exetel initiatives
Post Reply
User avatar
paulp
Exetel Staff
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:13 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Transfer Your Current PSTN Home Number To Exetel VoIP

Post by paulp » Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:38 am

Hi Mark

I believe answered this to you privately?
The Naked ADSL2 forms which included the ability to port PSTN to VOIP has now been discontinued as a product to buy from our website.

I dont know whether you applied for a naked ADSL2 yet. However I recommend you go here;

https://www.exetel.com.au/pstn_to_voip/ ... siness.php

While for business, you can still use this as an individual method to port your Telstra PSTN to VOIP.
It's definately operational from a standalone perspective.

CorporateVoIP

Re: Transfer Your Current PSTN Home Number To Exetel VoIP

Post by CorporateVoIP » Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:51 am

Mark,
As Paul says, please use the business PSTN to VoIP form. Once you have applied, please email provisioning@exetel.com.au with the number you have requested to port and ask that this be attached to your ADSL/phone/data account for single billing otherwise a new account will be created for this nubmer.

When the porting is complete, you will receive a notification email and the number will appear under the manage voip section of your members facilities.

Regards,
CV

fsm
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 10:46 pm
Location: Aus

Re: Transfer Your Current PSTN Home Number To Exetel VoIP

Post by fsm » Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:41 pm

What's the current story about porting PSTN number to VOIP DIDs?

Can it be done with the Optus bundled plans?

Must it be done when the plans are first ordered?

What is the cost?

Is the new Optus-assigned number for the landline itself portable?

While on the subject of porting, can a mobile number be transferred to an existing wireless plan replacing the number?

Thanks,

ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Re: Transfer Your Current PSTN Home Number To Exetel VoIP

Post by ExetelVoice » Wed Dec 21, 2011 8:43 am

What's the current story about porting PSTN number to VOIP DIDs?
Can it be done with the Optus bundled plans?
Yes this is possible.
Must it be done when the plans are first ordered?
Not necessarily. It's important to note that regardless of whether it is an existing Exetel PSTN service or belonging to another provider, it is a 'port' (full transfer) of service.
This takes 5-10 business days.
What is the cost?
$15 for a single PSTN service (CAT A)
Is the new Optus-assigned number for the landline itself portable?
Broadly speaking, normally. It actually depends on the CCA (call collection area) itself. The best way to check is to use our online SQ (service qualification) tool:
https://www.exetel.com.au/pstn_to_voip/ ... siness.php
It will return either 'Enabled' or 'Not Enabled'
While on the subject of porting, can a mobile number be transferred to an existing wireless plan replacing the number?
Unfortunately not.

bigshow
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:43 am
Location: Vic

Re: Transfer Your Current PSTN Home Number To Exetel VoIP

Post by bigshow » Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:00 pm

Is it possible to transfer an iiNet VoIP number to Exetel VoIP or Exetel PSTN?
What would the procedure be? The iiNet VoIP number is portable as it was previously ported from Telstra.

EromalR
Exetel Staff
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: Transfer Your Current PSTN Home Number To Exetel VoIP

Post by EromalR » Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:31 pm

bigshow wrote:Is it possible to transfer an iiNet VoIP number to Exetel VoIP or Exetel PSTN?
What would the procedure be? The iiNet VoIP number is portable as it was previously ported from Telstra.
Is it possible to transfer an iiNet VoIP number to Exetel VoIP or Exetel PSTN?
- This is not possible as we can not transfer an existing VOIP number over to Exetel

bigshow
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:43 am
Location: Vic

Re: Transfer Your Current PSTN Home Number To Exetel VoIP

Post by bigshow » Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:36 pm

So transferring an original Telstra PSTN number with iiNet VoIP back to Telstra PSTN then to Exetel VoIP or PSTN is not possible under any circumstances?

EromalR
Exetel Staff
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: Transfer Your Current PSTN Home Number To Exetel VoIP

Post by EromalR » Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:50 pm

bigshow wrote:So transferring an original Telstra PSTN number with iiNet VoIP back to Telstra PSTN then to Exetel VoIP or PSTN is not possible under any circumstances?
We can not transfer a VOIP number that you currently have to Exetel VOIP service

We can (if enabled) transfer a PSTN number that you have to our VOIP service

Please contact Exetel sales to further discuss.

bigshow
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:43 am
Location: Vic

Re: Transfer Your Current PSTN Home Number To Exetel VoIP

Post by bigshow » Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:20 pm

Contact with sales has been fruitless, ending in the number transfer cannot be done at all. If that is the case the applicant will not be ordering an ADSL service.

Upon further research it definitely is possible and has been done (to move a phone number from iiNet VoIP to Telstra PSTN):
http://whrl.pl/RcJZp4

From there it would be a straight port from PSTN to Exetel VoIP.

EromalR
Exetel Staff
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: Transfer Your Current PSTN Home Number To Exetel VoIP

Post by EromalR » Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:44 pm

bigshow wrote:Contact with sales has been fruitless, ending in the number transfer cannot be done at all. If that is the case the applicant will not be ordering an ADSL service.

Upon further research it definitely is possible and has been done (to move a phone number from iiNet VoIP to Telstra PSTN):
http://whrl.pl/RcJZp4

From there it would be a straight port from PSTN to Exetel VoIP.
Exactly, a port from a PSTN to VOIP is possible as long as the number is enabled. Please check the number portability in here once you have the PSTN active https://www.exetel.com.au/pstn_to_voip/ ... siness.php

Post Reply