8192/384 Plan Parameters

Discussions regarding new & existing plans and other Exetel initiatives
ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by ForumAdmin » Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:20 pm

We are considering upgrading the 8192/384 plans as part of the exercise of introducing Telstra ADSL2 plans in the near future.

Generally speaking this means that Telstra ADSL2 will become available on some 1,200 exchanges where the overwhelming bulk of Exetel's current 8192/384 are located.

We are interested in your views on whether you would prefer ADSL2 to 8192/384 and for what reasons (other than the higher upload speeds) as there may not be that much real download speed difference in regional areas and, not that we have any Exetel experience as yet, in other areas where a 'fast' 8192/384 service is available.

Any ideas would, as usual, be welcome.

LordS
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:56 pm
Location: Australia

Re: 8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by LordS » Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:44 pm

Does that mean we'd be moved from our current plans to adsl2+ plan, or retain our current plans (and contract lengths etc) but just have our speed lifted?

Like what happened with adsl to adsl2+ previously...

If so, the upload speed would always be welcomed..... Far too often my mum/sister are uploading pictures to facebook and the internet becomes unusable =/

Yuri
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 9:27 am

Re: 8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by Yuri » Thu Aug 05, 2010 1:53 pm

I have an ADSL1 plan because the line on which the ADSL is applied is under contract (and on a rotary line system) until next July. I'll then switch to ADSL2 with Exetel on the fax line (single line) once it's out of contract.

ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: 8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by ForumAdmin » Thu Aug 05, 2010 3:54 pm

LordS wrote:Does that mean we'd be moved from our current plans to adsl2+ plan, or retain our current plans (and contract lengths etc) but just have our speed lifted?

Like what happened with adsl to adsl2+ previously...

If so, the upload speed would always be welcomed..... Far too often my mum/sister are uploading pictures to facebook and the internet becomes unusable =/
There will be no 'forcible' moves.

The plans are different and the infrastructures are different and, as far as I know, Telstra imposes a churn charge.

LordS
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:56 pm
Location: Australia

Re: 8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by LordS » Thu Aug 05, 2010 4:36 pm

If there is costs involved count me out lol.

gong_guy
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 11:06 am

Re: 8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by gong_guy » Thu Aug 05, 2010 7:57 pm

ForumAdmin wrote: We are interested in your views on whether you would prefer ADSL2 to 8192/384 and for what reasons (other than the higher upload speeds)
If the costs are the same then it is a no brainer, go ADSL2 for no other reason than marketing.

If ADSL2 will cost say $5-$10 more then maybe 8192/384 would be preferable, everything else being equal, as 8192/384 is already premium priced compared to ADSL1.

It would be unfortunate if there was a "churn" charge to move from Telstra ADSL1 to Telstra ADSL2, it should be made as simple as possible. I realise it is outside you control as you are dealing with Telstra but they seem to be getting rather competitive these days so maybe they will back down.

ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: 8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by ForumAdmin » Thu Aug 05, 2010 10:13 pm

There will be a churn charge - there always has been and its still in the revised contract.

fredbucket
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 7:02 pm
Location: Abbotsbury

Re: 8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by fredbucket » Thu Aug 05, 2010 11:28 pm

I'm currently on ADSL1 8192/386, behind a RIM, and get very close to full speed most if not all of the time. My modem attenuation is 28.0 downstream, which suggests that in theory I could get up to double that speed from ADSL2 (also requiring that Telstra enable ADSL2 on my RIM). So for me assuming the costs are not too different, ADSL2 may well be better.

On the other hand, I don't really need the extra speed so if FA is upgrading the ADSL1 plans I doubt that I would switch.

Regards
Fred

LordS
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:56 pm
Location: Australia

Re: 8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by LordS » Fri Aug 06, 2010 6:25 am

Does that mean there'd be a churn fee to lift the speed but we'd maintain our current plans/contracts/cost etc?

I still don't think its been said whether or not upload is counted?

ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: 8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by ForumAdmin » Fri Aug 06, 2010 8:42 am

LordS wrote:Does that mean there'd be a churn fee to lift the speed but we'd maintain our current plans/contracts/cost etc?

I still don't think its been said whether or not upload is counted?
Exetel has never counted uploads.

Currently there is no plan either in use or projected that includes uploads.

To move from Telstra ADSL1 to Telstra ADSL2 there is a churn charge - they are different services with the Telstra processing system.

There has always been a speed change charge within the Telstra system.

LordS
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:56 pm
Location: Australia

Re: 8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by LordS » Fri Aug 06, 2010 8:47 am

ForumAdmin wrote:
LordS wrote:Does that mean there'd be a churn fee to lift the speed but we'd maintain our current plans/contracts/cost etc?

I still don't think its been said whether or not upload is counted?
Exetel has never counted uploads.

Currently there is no plan either in use or projected that includes uploads.

To move from Telstra ADSL1 to Telstra ADSL2 there is a churn charge - they are different services with the Telstra processing system.

There has always been a speed change charge within the Telstra system.
Thanks for clarifying the upload not being counted,

Last question.... Those of us on 8mbit that wouldn't mind the lift in speed.... would we just have the limits taken off our ports and move to adsl2+ with our current plans/contract lengths etc. (+ the churn cost)

Or would we have to apply for the new 24mbit plans advertised?

David R
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Sydney

Re: 8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by David R » Fri Aug 06, 2010 10:49 am

Or would we have to apply for the new 24mbit plans advertised?
LordS... a few days ago, recall? viewtopic.php?f=24&t=36486&start=60#p279687
ForumAdmin at Mon Aug 02, 2010 11:58 am wrote:
LordS wrote:Wow, thats awesome John.

1) Do the plans include upload like all the others?

2) What kinda contracts are involved?
1) Uploads are not counted - though we are thinking of doing that.

2) 6 months
Anyway, given that it is a new commitment being sought/demonstrated here, I hope at least our old (favorable,12hours) off-peak time-setting would follow the user, forgoing the 'unlimited' and until the new parameter(s). It is part of our longevity.
*Vista Ultimate* Billion,7402GL &TP-Link,D-W8920G <Atten(dB)42 @1.9 km>; HTC Kaiser II, WM6; Pre-paid RP2000 (Optus)
200GB@3.1Mbps,$60pm Zone 1+ 2X H-Line Budget; WP Saver VoIP._ 220.233.165.22x; $3,450 revenue: 5 years club.

ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: 8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by ForumAdmin » Fri Aug 06, 2010 2:42 pm

LordS wrote:
Thanks for clarifying the upload not being counted,

Last question.... Those of us on 8mbit that wouldn't mind the lift in speed.... would we just have the limits taken off our ports and move to adsl2+ with our current plans/contract lengths etc. (+ the churn cost)

Or would we have to apply for the new 24mbit plans advertised?
At this stage you would definitely have to apply for the new ADSL2service.

thecraw
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 12:43 am
Location: BrisVegas
Contact:

Re: 8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by thecraw » Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:54 pm

I am on 8mb and get max speed. I am about 1klm from the exchange and the attentuation indicates a possible speed of about 18mb.

I am generally not interested in the upload increase just download.

I am Regional 2, Telstra only exchange. Why would you expect there would be no increase in speed on regional exchanges for those already on 8mb ?

Bottom line is I would definetly change to ADSL2+ even at the risk of minimal increase.

PS Just noticed that you have introduced 2 new 8mb plans starting from $45 ! I am guessing thats only going to be for new users.

ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: 8192/384 Plan Parameters

Post by ForumAdmin » Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:26 pm

thecraw wrote:I am on 8mb and get max speed. I am about 1klm from the exchange and the attentuation indicates a possible speed of about 18mb.

I am generally not interested in the upload increase just download.

I am Regional 2, Telstra only exchange. Why would you expect there would be no increase in speed on regional exchanges for those already on 8mb ?

Bottom line is I would definetly change to ADSL2+ even at the risk of minimal increase.

PS Just noticed that you have introduced 2 new 8mb plans starting from $45 ! I am guessing thats only going to be for new users.
I have NO knowledge of the performance of Telstra's regional ADSL2 network but I am a cautious person, at least these days, and there has been so much media reporting of exchanges delivering poor performance (whether true or not) I am not going to be silly enough to make ANY claims of likely performance.

In terms of the revised 8192/384 plans you have been around long enough to know that there is always a delay between announcing new plans and making them available on the user facilities.

Post Reply