Can't connect/ping to remote IPs

Wired and wireless home networking
Post Reply
dawmail333
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 9:19 pm
Location: Helidon Spa

Can't connect/ping to remote IPs

Post by dawmail333 » Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:50 am

I'm having problems (sporadic) attempting to connect to one particular website (dreamwidth.org), but that's not my main issue. My main issue is that I hired a VPS recently, and I haven't ever been able to rdp into it from my computer.
It also JUST started to resolve from my computer (after 3 DAYS), but I still can't RDP. I can rdp into my local laptop. I can RDP into my server from my dad's computer, and my iPod. I managed to once from my laptop, but can't always. But I've never been able to do it from my own computer.

Seeing there is a lot of funniness about accessing certain IPs from my computer alone, I'm wondering if there's some network configuration I can change to finally get this working.

Code: Select all

telnet 65.57.166.47 3389
doesn't respond. I can still always RDP into my laptop though, which indicates that my firewall is not the issue. I doubt the router is too: I can rdp from my ipod and father's computer, and they are behind the same router.

I've wasted 3 days now trying to rdp into the vps I just hired. Can someone PLEASE help?

User avatar
CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Can't connect/ping to remote IPs

Post by CoreyPlover » Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:00 pm

That IP address seems to be inaccessible for me too, via Remote Desktop

I can't even tracert to it. Connection gets lost after reaching 0.ae3.BR3.LAX15.ALTER.NET [152.63.113.185], which indicates a routing issue. What does a tracert say fro you father's computer or ipod?
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5996
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Can't connect/ping to remote IPs

Post by Dazzled » Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:17 pm

Dreamwidth.org traceroutes here (Sydney) from a 115.x.x.x IP address, though not the same route. The site is visible.

Code: Select all

$ tracepath dreamwidth.org
 1:  192.168.1.2 (192.168.1.2)                              0.114ms pmtu 1500
 1:  gateway-router.home (192.168.1.1)                      1.099ms 
 1:  gateway-router.home (192.168.1.1)                      0.983ms 
 2:  gateway-router.home (192.168.1.1)                      1.185ms pmtu 1492
 2:  no reply
 3:  57.2.233.220.static.exetel.com.au (220.233.2.57)      43.637ms 
 4:  46.2.233.220.static.exetel.com.au (220.233.2.46)      43.071ms 
 5:  119.225.5.245 (119.225.5.245)                         42.936ms asymm  6 
 6:  10.248.24.3 (10.248.24.3)                             43.501ms asymm  7 
 7:  61.88.221.65 (61.88.221.65)                           43.744ms 
 8:  203.208.148.89 (203.208.148.89)                      203.819ms asymm 10 
 9:  te-4-2.car2.SanJose1.Level3.net (4.79.42.229)        388.991ms asymm 10 
10:  vlan99.csw4.SanJose1.Level3.net (4.68.18.254)        211.028ms 
11:  ae-92-92.ebr2.SanJose1.Level3.net (4.69.134.221)     204.995ms 
12:  ae-2-2.ebr2.LosAngeles1.Level3.net (4.69.132.14)     215.469ms asymm 10 
13:  ae-3-3.ebr3.Dallas1.Level3.net (4.69.132.78)         247.310ms asymm 11 
14:  ae-3-80.edge9.Dallas1.Level3.net (4.69.145.144)      237.964ms asymm 13 
15:  PEER-1-NETW.edge9.Dallas1.Level3.net (4.59.118.6)    244.494ms asymm 13 
16:  no reply
17:  no reply
18:  dreamwidth.org (69.174.244.50)                       246.142ms reached
     Resume: pmtu 1492 hops 18 back 50 

User avatar
CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Can't connect/ping to remote IPs

Post by CoreyPlover » Sat Nov 06, 2010 5:08 pm

I meant a tracert to 65.57.166.47:

Code: Select all

Tracing route to 65.57.166.47 over a maximum of 30 hops

  1     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  [192.168.1.1]
  2    38 ms    38 ms    39 ms  193.1.233.220.static.exetel.com.au [220.233.1.193]
  3    38 ms    39 ms    40 ms  61.2.233.220.static.exetel.com.au [220.233.2.61]
  4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  5    40 ms    39 ms    39 ms  GigabitEthernet.GW11.SYD2.ALTER.NET [203.166.42.101]
  6    38 ms    40 ms    39 ms  0.ge-7-3-0.XT3.SYD2.Alter.Net [210.80.34.189]
  7   200 ms   199 ms   262 ms  0.so-6-0-0.IR1.LAX12.Alter.Net [210.80.49.85]
  8   198 ms   197 ms   199 ms  0.so-5-0-0.IL1.LAX9.ALTER.NET [152.63.48.65]
  9   196 ms   200 ms   197 ms  0.so-7-0-0.XL3.LAX15.ALTER.NET [152.63.112.53]
 10   198 ms   187 ms   189 ms  0.xe-10-0-0.BR1.LAX15.ALTER.NET [152.63.115.90]
 11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

Post Reply