Gravatar Blocked

Wired and wireless home networking
Post Reply
Harms
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:35 pm
Location: Toowoomba

Gravatar Blocked

Post by Harms » Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:11 pm

I have been trying to work out why gravatar is only occasionally working in BF3. All avatars will show or none. I have tried the following.

Turning off router firewall
turning off AVS
using Firefox and IE
adding gravatar to exception list both browsers

BF3 battlelog will load and the try and access http://www.gravatar.com and just time out
when I put this into the address bar of either browser it will time out.
Also tried using ubuntu and cannot access http://www.gravatar.com

but on the occasions it does work it accesses en.gravatar.com.
So I used my pad 3G connection and put in http://www.gravatar.com in safari and got redirected to en.gravatar.com no problem
turn on wireless and try using my ADSL2. No redirection with the pad.

So BF3 will only load gravatar if it is allowed to access http://www.gravatar.com and be redirected to en.gravatar
It is possible its my modem but this is the only site I cannot access. So is it Bocked?

I think the IP for gravatar is 79.125.21.168 (cant ping it).
Can ping Optus 61.88.88.88

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5992
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Gravatar Blocked

Post by Dazzled » Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:47 pm

The IP address is 68.178.232.143 (Use dig in your Ubuntu box) It isn't blocked, but diverted. eg: (using an Ubuntu machine)

Code: Select all

$ curl -v www.gravitar.com
* About to connect() to www.gravitar.com port 80 (#0)
*   Trying 68.178.232.143... connected
* Connected to www.gravitar.com (68.178.232.143) port 80 (#0)
> GET / HTTP/1.1
> User-Agent: curl/7.18.0 (i486-pc-linux-gnu) libcurl/7.18.0 OpenSSL/0.9.8g zlib/1.2.3.3 libidn/1.1
> Host: www.gravitar.com
> Accept: */*
> 
< HTTP/1.1 302 Moved Temporarily
< Content-Length: 0
< Location: /?31fa2080
< 
* Connection #0 to host www.gravitar.com left intact
* Closing connection #0
and

Code: Select all

$ curl -v en.gravitar.com
* About to connect() to en.gravitar.com port 80 (#0)
*   Trying 68.178.232.143... connected
* Connected to en.gravitar.com (68.178.232.143) port 80 (#0)
> GET / HTTP/1.1
> User-Agent: curl/7.18.0 (i486-pc-linux-gnu) libcurl/7.18.0 OpenSSL/0.9.8g zlib/1.2.3.3 libidn/1.1
> Host: en.gravitar.com
> Accept: */*
> 
< HTTP/1.1 302 Moved Temporarily
< Content-Length: 0
< Location: /?4380a8d0
< 
* Connection #0 to host en.gravitar.com left intact
* Closing connection #0
. A browser can negotiate this, eg Opera finally gets the satisfactory response

Code: Select all

HTTP/1.1 200 OK 
Server: nginx
Date: Fri, 27 Jan 2012 09:31:42 GMT
Content-Type: text/html; charset=utf-8
Connection: keep-alive
P3P: CP="CAO PSA"
Expires: Wed, 11 Jan 1984 05:00:00 GMT
Last-Modified: Fri, 27 Jan 2012 09:31:42 GMT
Cache-Control: no-cache, must-revalidate, max-age=0
Pragma: no-cache
and displays the website.

Games like BF3 aren't my scene, but you will have to handle the 302 redirection response.

Harms
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:35 pm
Location: Toowoomba

Re: Gravatar Blocked

Post by Harms » Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:21 pm

Thank you Daz for your reply. I have installed Opera and the diversion (as we will now call it) still doesnt work.

So this morning I used usb tethering on my iphone to my windows machine and was able to get it too work. removed tether and turned on my Billions and the problem was back. I think although we are both on exetel we may not be on the same network!

Sorry Im not really that much of a ubuntu user yet. Also cleared caches and removed browser addons.

User avatar
jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Gravatar Blocked

Post by jokiin » Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:26 pm

Harms wrote:
So this morning I used usb tethering on my iphone to my windows machine and was able to get it too work. removed tether and turned on my Billions and the problem was back. I think although we are both on exetel we may not be on the same network!
I wouldn't think so going by both your IP addresses

perhaps your problem lay in the config of the Billion, have you tried checking the Billion forums for any clues, they are usually pretty good at helping customers out

Harms
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:35 pm
Location: Toowoomba

Re: Gravatar Blocked

Post by Harms » Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:29 pm

Wait. now after a modem reset. Not the first reset either. it is now diverting in firefox, my default browser. let me play with this for a while and see if it was that or something else. Then again I have notice this thing comes and goes.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5992
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Gravatar Blocked

Post by Dazzled » Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:55 pm

FF has an entry in about:config - network.http.redirection-limit. It defaults to 20. Set it to 0 and all redirects will fail.

Opera is much more adaptable than FF for site analysis, but you may be interested in https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... p-headers/.

Post Reply