Page 1 of 1

QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 4:07 pm
by Franpa
Image

I have a computer connected to the modem via an Ethernet cable and was wondering how I can configure this modem for the following purposes:

1) Prioritize my computer traffic above all other devices on the network.
2) Prioritize traffic for a specific application, like "Path of Exile".

My familiarity with the terminology on this page isn't great, I'm unsure what to input in to most of the boxes.

Re: QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 6:01 pm
by HimaJ
Exetel is currently looking into this under the reference # - 11486084. You will receive a response shortly.

Exetel apologies for the inconvenience may have caused by this.

Re: QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:51 pm
by Franpa
Unless they are busy at the moment (would make the delay understandable), I have not received the email yet.

Re: QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:47 pm
by Amila Fernando
Franpa wrote:Unless they are busy at the moment (would make the delay understandable), I have not received the email yet.
Hi Franpa,

We are currently working on this matter with relevant team & will provide an update shortly.

We do apologies for the delay and inconvenience caused to you.

Re: QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 12:44 pm
by Franpa
Amila Fernando wrote:
Franpa wrote:Unless they are busy at the moment (would make the delay understandable), I have not received the email yet.
Hi Franpa,

We are currently working on this matter with relevant team & will provide an update shortly.

We do apologies for the delay and inconvenience caused to you.
Okay.

Re: QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 3:47 pm
by Franpa
11 (8 business) days later? ZTE should have already gotten instructions written, surely?

Re: QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 5:27 pm
by KavindaS
Franpa wrote:11 (8 business) days later? ZTE should have already gotten instructions written, surely?
We didn't receive a positive response from the ZTE support team. Therefore we have escalated your question to their management. We will update you once there is a response from them.

Re: QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Thu May 04, 2017 2:32 pm
by Franpa
Thanks for the status update.

Re: QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:43 pm
by Gavin WA
I hope it's OK to bump this thread - I was also after some information about QoS on the ZTE modem.

I've got my QoS setup like this:

Image

I just want one device (top) to have the highest priority over another (the bottom) but it doesn't seem to work when the bottom device is watching Netflix. Is this because the QoS works for uploads only? I can't seem to choose WAN as an ingress. I sent off an email to Exetel support, the ticket number is #12446729 but I forgot to reference this thread.

Thanks in advance.

Re: QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:56 pm
by KavindaS
Gavin WA wrote:I hope it's OK to bump this thread - I was also after some information about QoS on the ZTE modem.

I've got my QoS setup like this:

I just want one device (top) to have the highest priority over another (the bottom) but it doesn't seem to work when the bottom device is watching Netflix. Is this because the QoS works for uploads only? I can't seem to choose WAN as an ingress. I sent off an email to Exetel support, the ticket number is #12446729 but I forgot to reference this thread.

Thanks in advance.
I will cross refer the ticket with this thread and get a support engineer to update you via the same ticket #12446729.

Re: QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:29 pm
by Franpa
Gavin WA wrote:I hope it's OK to bump this thread - I was also after some information about QoS on the ZTE modem.

I've got my QoS setup like this:

https://i.imgur.com/zh6sKzy.png

I just want one device (top) to have the highest priority over another (the bottom) but it doesn't seem to work when the bottom device is watching Netflix. Is this because the QoS works for uploads only? I can't seem to choose WAN as an ingress. I sent off an email to Exetel support, the ticket number is #12446729 but I forgot to reference this thread.

Thanks in advance.
Any new info that can be provided in this topic is appreciated, regardless of topic age.

Re: QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 11:05 pm
by KavindaS
Franpa wrote: Any new info that can be provided in this topic is appreciated, regardless of topic age.
Did you receive the ZTE manual via an email?

Re: QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 3:00 am
by Franpa
Yeah, it didn't really explain it all in a way that I understood though. When looking through the whole manual it read like it was written by someone with a not so great understanding of English too.

Re: QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:18 am
by Gavin WA
I read the maintenance manual and unless I'm mistaken it suggests the QoS only works on outbound traffic and not inbound traffic.

Re: QoS configuration help (ZTE NBN modem)

Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:29 pm
by KavindaS
Franpa wrote:Yeah, it didn't really explain it all in a way that I understood though. When looking through the whole manual it read like it was written by someone with a not so great understanding of English too.
Unfortunately we have received the same manual to refer with relates to the queries of QoS configuration help. If I get more information on this, I will definitely pass the it to you :)