Page 1 of 1

Using a Netgear AC1750 Router

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 7:44 am
by DarrylAylward
I have an NBN cable modem, and want to use a Netgear AC1750 Wifi router (model R6400v2) instead of the one supplied by Exetel. How do I set the Netgear Router up?

Re: Using a Netgear AC1750 Router

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 1:41 pm
by nilushid
DarrylAylward wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 7:44 am
I have an NBN cable modem, and want to use a Netgear AC1750 Wifi router (model R6400v2) instead of the one supplied by Exetel. How do I set the Netgear Router up?
Hi

You will need to connect the Netgear modem the same way the Exetel modem connected. Then you will need to configure the modem with the PPPoE username and the Password which was given to you via an email when the service activated from Exetel end.

If you need further assistant, please refer to the modem manual or contact Netgear support. Please PM me your customer ID or the service number, if you are unable to locate the user credential sent by Exetel

Thanks

Re: Using a Netgear AC1750 Router

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 2:20 pm
by Dazzled
It will recognise the ethernet signal cable inserted in the WAN port.

Enter the router (http://192.168.0.1 from memory), and admin log into it..

The WAN setup "must use ethernet".

On the Basic menu Provider can be other, but use encapsulation PPPOE and add the user name and password you have been sent from Exetel. You may have new credentials if this is a new HFC service.