wireless connection not working netgear wgr614

HSPA setup and configuration (for wireless networking, please use the 'Networking issue' forum)
Post Reply
bellam
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:51 pm
Location: Ipswich

wireless connection not working netgear wgr614

Post by bellam » Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:51 pm

Finally I set up the wired connection with my modem (siemens SpeedStream 4200) and wireless router Netgear WGR614v7. The modem is fullbridged. the computer that connected with cable to the router working fine, but the laptop is not. When I established the wireless network, I tried to put in the settings "obtain an IP address automatically" and "Obtain DNS server address automatically". Then the connection show "Limited connectivity". Then I changed to the "Use the follow IP address" and I entered my IP address, that I found on the website. I also entered prefered DNS server 220.233.0.4 and Alternate DNS server 220.233.0.3. but then the computer asked for the subnet mask. I didn't know what to enter there, so I let the computer do it by itself. After that the connection appears OK, connected, but when I tried to open explorer and use the internet, its not working. Help me! What can do to fix this problem? May be there is the number I could put in the subnet mask?

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: wireless connection not working netgear wgr614

Post by CoreyPlover » Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:59 pm

bellam wrote:May be there is the number I could put in the subnet mask?
Most common subnet is 255.255.255.0. For internet to work with hardcoded IP settings you need the following:
  • A default gateway that matches the IP address of your modem
  • A subnet of anything, which when expressed in binary has 1's on the left and 0's on the right. 255.255.255.0 is the most common
  • An IP address that matches your default gateway, except in the part that corresponds to the 0's in your subnet (i.e. in this case matches in the first three number but differs in the last
  • An IP address that doesn't conflict with your existing computers and devices
You can simply type "IPCONFIG" in a Command Prompt window on your working desktop to see an example of these values. Just change the IP address so it has a different last number and use these values on your laptop.

If you still need help, post the result of the command "IPCONFIG /all" from both your desktop and your laptop.

peterh_oz
Posts: 522
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:13 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: wireless connection not working netgear wgr614

Post by peterh_oz » Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:45 am

Limited connectivity can often be fixed by a reboot, I'd leave the IP as "obtain automatically", both in the router and in the PC. But in the router, you might have a range to issue IPs, set this as a different range to the modem (eg if the modem is 192.168.1.1 put the range as 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.255 (note the slight difference). If your router doesn't give you this option then ignore this post (I've got a Linksys WRT54GP2 which does allow a different range to the modem).

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: wireless connection not working netgear wgr614

Post by CoreyPlover » Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:14 am

peterh_oz wrote:But in the router, you might have a range to issue IPs, set this as a different range to the modem (eg if the modem is 192.168.1.1 put the range as 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.255 (note the slight difference).
bellam, if you try this suggestion then your subnet mask in the modem's DHCP settings should be set to 255.0.0.0 or 255.255.0.0.

bellam
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:51 pm
Location: Ipswich

Re: wireless connection not working netgear wgr614

Post by bellam » Fri Jan 16, 2009 2:46 pm

Thank you both for usefull answers!
It really helped. I made the connection on my first laptop, but now I need to connect the second laptop to the same network connection, but I cannot connect. The second laptop has Vista on it. I tried to put the same IP address, next in the range IP address, no IP address, but nothing working. Do you have any suggestion, what can be a problem?

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: wireless connection not working netgear wgr614

Post by CoreyPlover » Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:57 pm

I'm not intimately familiar with Vista (so wouldn't be surprised if it is a Vista-centric firewalling issue) but you definitely need to ensure unique IP addresses across every device in your network (networked printers, etc included).

Try running the Command Prompt command "IPCONFIG" or an "IPCONFIG /all" on each computer and post the results.

bellam
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:51 pm
Location: Ipswich

Re: wireless connection not working netgear wgr614

Post by bellam » Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:46 pm

I dont use any other devises on this network. only 2 laptops.
I did ipconfig/all on the second laptop and this is what came out:


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : raz-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-4C-27-0D-72
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Fast Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-38-6B-7F-1C
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::806c:70b2:f6aa:8530%8(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.5(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 16 January 2009 5:40:20 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 17 January 2009 5:40:20 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{31BD35DF-2FB6-4E57-A52E-39A084312
45F}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{EF56171C-BD96-49D8-9B8C-ED3A8D2FA
3B2}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: wireless connection not working netgear wgr614

Post by CoreyPlover » Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:09 pm

And your modem's IP address is 192.168.1.1? If so, that all looks correct

I don't know what the Tunnel adapters are but they suspect they are related to Windows Vista's IPv6 protocol. You might want to try unistalling the IPv6 support. I think you can do this by typing "netsh int ipv6 uninstall" at the Command Prompt or following the instructions from http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 79349.aspx. Afterwards, if the IPv6 uninstall doesn't do it, you can clean up the network connections by deleting all the "Tunnel adapters" in your Network Connections

bellam
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:51 pm
Location: Ipswich

Re: wireless connection not working netgear wgr614

Post by bellam » Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:28 am

I just did the reset on the router and installed the connection from the begginning and now its works ok. thank you for your help! :P

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: wireless connection not working netgear wgr614

Post by CoreyPlover » Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:48 am

That's great to hear. Thanks for the update

Post Reply