can not connect second laptop wireless

HSPA setup and configuration (for wireless networking, please use the 'Networking issue' forum)
pmmehta22
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:15 pm
Location: sydney

can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by pmmehta22 » Tue Jan 27, 2009 9:25 pm

Hi

I have got Dynalink RTA1046vw modem and have successfully connected my personal laptop to the internet last week. Then after I have tried connecting my office Dell laptop (latitue D 630)wireless using the same neetwork key and it gets connected but I can not access the internet. I tried calling Exetel and Dynalink support but no joy.....Just to mention that the wireless device is on and I can detect and connect the same network I did in my personal HP laptop but no internet access.

Any help appreciated.....

Thanks

User avatar
jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by jokiin » Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:10 pm

pmmehta22 wrote:Hi

I have got Dynalink RTA1046vw modem and have successfully connected my personal laptop to the internet last week. Then after I have tried connecting my office Dell laptop (latitue D 630)wireless using the same neetwork key and it gets connected but I can not access the internet. I tried calling Exetel and Dynalink support but no joy.....Just to mention that the wireless device is on and I can detect and connect the same network I did in my personal HP laptop but no internet access.

Any help appreciated.....

Thanks
when you say work laptop does it have any work related DNS settings configured?

User avatar
Mixer
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Sydney - Randwick

Re: can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by Mixer » Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:24 pm

What Firewall/security software are you using on both laptops ?
Are they both the same operating system, ie: Xp Pro and/or Xp Home ?
RAND-NF/20INCTEL-Draytek 2710vn

pmmehta22
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:15 pm
Location: sydney

Re: can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by pmmehta22 » Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:03 am

I do not use the wireless at work so there are no DNS settings configured....Apart from that I was with AAPT before I join Exetel and both the laptops were working fine.

Re Firewall settings...I have actually disable all the firewalls onto my dell laptop and both of them use XP.

Thanks,

User avatar
jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by jokiin » Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:17 pm

pmmehta22 wrote:I do not use the wireless at work so there are no DNS settings configured....Apart from that I was with AAPT before I join Exetel and both the laptops were working fine.

Re Firewall settings...I have actually disable all the firewalls onto my dell laptop and both of them use XP.

Thanks,
have you checked the work laptop for any proxy settings etc related to the connection?

User avatar
CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by CoreyPlover » Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:22 pm

...Also any DNS suffix settings in the Advanced properties under Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) settings.

pmmehta22
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:15 pm
Location: sydney

Re: can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by pmmehta22 » Wed Jan 28, 2009 5:03 pm

For the proxy settings i can see in registry HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings has Proxyenable set to 0.
and for the DNS settings in TCP/IP advance tab,
i can only see the radio button checked for Append Primary and connection specific DNS suffixies and the check box below it of Append parent suffixes of the primary DNS suffix

and at bottom of the screen check box for Register this connection's address in DNS is checked

Is there any other setting i need to check or change... plz advise

austdata
Posts: 629
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:38 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by austdata » Wed Jan 28, 2009 5:34 pm

Try clicking on Start > Connect to > Show all connections > LAN or High Speed Internet then right click > properties > Internet Protocol TCP/IP > Properties then check if the IP Addresses are keyed in or are selected automatically.

Some ADSL2+ modems need the DNS details keyed in, some work with DHCP automatically.

Cheers,

Mike

PS: It's damn hot here, so if I've missed the point entirely - tough
The views I present here are not necessarily those from my brain.
Exetel's support number outside Sydney: 1300 788 141 NOTE: I do not work for Exetel.

pmmehta22
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:15 pm
Location: sydney

Re: can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by pmmehta22 » Wed Jan 28, 2009 5:44 pm

Thanks for quick response. well right now it is obtain automatically and i have even tried with manually providing it but no luck

User avatar
CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by CoreyPlover » Wed Jan 28, 2009 8:48 pm

OK. Some back-to-beginning diagnosis steps:
  • Temporarily disable wireless security. Does this make your second laptop internet work?
  • Perform an "IPCONFIG /all" on each laptop. Look for any differences in the setups
  • Try PINGing the modem, Exetel's DNS server (220.233.0.3) and an external site (say Google on 66.249.89.147) from each laptop. See if there is any difference
  • Try PINGing a URL (like "www.google.com.au") on each laptop. See if there are any differences.
The crucial point is to either undo stuff until it works or compare things between a working and non-working system. Either way should be useful in identifying the culprit.

Failing all that, you can try a hardware reset on the modem, or possibly a WinSock reset on the laptop. You can do this via the Command Prompt "netsh int ip reset". Another command you can also try is "netsh winsock reset catalog", though this may require you to reinstall any internet security related software you may have. See http://support.microsoft.com/kb/326155 under "Method 5" for details.

pmmehta22
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:15 pm
Location: sydney

Re: can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by pmmehta22 » Thu Jan 29, 2009 2:32 pm

i have tried disabling wireless security but no luck.
For the ipconfig comparision for my machine i have primary DNS suffix having my company name, node type is hybrid and DNS suffix search list is having value of home and value of primary DNS suffix .

While on the laptop where wireless is working fine , it has no value for primary DNS suffix and node type is unknown and DNS search list is having value of home.

For the wireless connection on working fine laptop, i have For the non working office laptop has,
IP Address 192.168.1.3 IP address : 192.168.1.4
subnet mask 255.255.255.0 Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
Default gateway 192.168.1.1 Default gateway : no value
DHCP Server 192.168.1.1 DHCP server : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers 192.168.1.1 DNS Servers : 220.233.04
220.233.0.3

I am thinking of making the all the DHCP and DNS server settings same as the working one.

pmmehta22
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:15 pm
Location: sydney

Re: can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by pmmehta22 » Thu Jan 29, 2009 2:34 pm

sorry the past reply dint show up the setting correctly,
i have tried disabling wireless security but no luck.
For the ipconfig comparision for my machine i have primary DNS suffix having my company name, node type is hybrid and DNS suffix search list is having value of home and value of primary DNS suffix .

While on the laptop where wireless is working fine , it has no value for primary DNS suffix and node type is unknown and DNS search list is having value of home.

For the wireless connection on working fine laptop, i have
IP Address 192.168.1.3
subnet mask 255.255.255.0
Default gateway 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers 192.168.1.1

For the non working office laptop has,
IP address : 192.168.1.4
Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
Default gateway : no value
DHCP server : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers : 220.233.04
220.233.0.3
I am thinking of making the all the DHCP and DNS server settings same as the working one.

User avatar
Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1808
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Re: can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by Gidget » Thu Jan 29, 2009 2:55 pm

I would suggest you definitely need the gateway value (192.168.1.1) on the non-working laptop, however, you will probably need to change this (as well as the DNS servers) when you are on your work connection (assuming these are coded directly into your TCP/IP settings and that your work connection is not with Exetel).

Also, unless this is a typo, your Primary DNS Server on the non-working laptop (220.233.04) is missing a dot - it should be 220.233.0.4

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

pmmehta22
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:15 pm
Location: sydney

Re: can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by pmmehta22 » Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:07 pm

Yeah i am going to do that today evening when i ll reach home. yeah office is not with exetel and it doesnot have wireless. its cable one.
my bad , it was a typo.
Thanks again for the help

User avatar
CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: can not connect second laptop wireless

Post by CoreyPlover » Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:39 pm

I suggest you remove the DNS suffix from the office laptop: Settings, Network Connections, right click the wireless adapter, Properties, Internet Protocol (TCP/IP), Properties, Advanced, DNS tab, DNS suffix.

But the main problem will be the lack of a default gateway. Default gateways are the IP address that internet traffic should be relayed to. In your case, this should be set to the IP address of your modem (i.e. "send all internet requests through my modem"). Being blank means "send all my internet requests nowhere".

Reset the office computer TCP/IP properties to automatic obtain IP and DNS addresses. Then re-run "IPCONFIG /all". If the default gateway is still blank then try "IPCONFIG /release" and then "IPCONFIG /renew". Retry "IPCONFIG /all" and if it is *still* blank, then you should hard code all the figures in the TCP/IP Property window instead of using the "automatically obtain" option:
IP Address:192.168.1.4
Subnet: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers: 220.233.0.3 and 220.233.0.4

Post Reply