Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

HSPA setup and configuration (for wireless networking, please use the 'Networking issue' forum)
Need2No
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 9:15 pm
Location: Shalvey Exchange, NSW

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

Post by Need2No » Fri Jan 01, 2010 6:40 pm

sqgl wrote:Have entered APN, username, password in the Virgin modem utility,
I've never entered a username or password, only changed the APN. I also didn't use the CD that came with my Optus E169.
My Virgin E1762 has only been used in my Netgear 3G router or in my Ubuntu (linux) box. But I imagine that the procedure would be the same as the Optus E169.

Regards

User avatar
sqgl
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: Lake Macquarie

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

Post by sqgl » Fri Jan 01, 2010 7:58 pm

Dazzled wrote:It just works in most non-Windows systems. With Windows drivers (as supplied in the modem) it usually works if you start a new profile rather than alter one.
Ahh yes, thanks, I should have said am trying to get it running using WIndows (Vista).
My other friend who I talked into this setup has Mac so hopefully will work OK for him.

Re Vista, I have the Huwai setup program but am nervous about using it because it will
wipe the Virgin setup (which I may have to revert to... ie refill with another $80).
But I guess I can just take note of the Virgin settings and redo them if needed.

User avatar
sqgl
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: Lake Macquarie

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

Post by sqgl » Sat Jan 02, 2010 3:53 am

I had to do three things:
(1) Find out unlock code http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/showpos ... ount=19265
(2) Install unlocker "HUAWEI MODEM Code Writer.zip" http://www.entsperren.net/HUAWEI/HUAWEI ... Writer.zip
(3) Run a generic connection manager "Mobile_Partner.rar" http://www.nextgenserver.com/files/Mobile_Partner.rar

Step (1) is incredible.
Had to register with the website/forum. That was quick. Just as quick was the response with my unlock code! Free! Even my subsequent offer to buy a beer with paypal was refused in the name of New Year's Goodwill. I hope my post here helps someone else in turn.

machine
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 10:57 am
Location: Wollongong

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

Post by machine » Sat Jan 02, 2010 10:06 am

Hi,

Did you get the wireless modem going?
Create a new profile and enter details.

Is the modem a Huawei brand?

If the modem is a Huawei brand it can be unlocked from the IMEI number(15 digits number) on back of modem.

User avatar
sqgl
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: Lake Macquarie

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

Post by sqgl » Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:50 am

machine wrote:Did you get the wireless modem going?
Thanks machine.
Sorry I wasn't clear in stating that it is now unlocked...

via the three steps (plus creating new profile using the said generic connection manager)
For the record it is a Huawei E160E running on Vista bought from a Virgin store.
Member need2no lists latest info on prices, models, retail outlets at http://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.ph ... 68#p265068

Comparing latest prices to exetel I now see the whole exercise is a waste of time unless my friends had scored the E1762E? (vs E160E which is only $95 via exetel)

User avatar
sqgl
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: Lake Macquarie

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel S

Post by sqgl » Mon Feb 01, 2010 2:09 pm

sqgl wrote:I had to do three things:
(1) Find out unlock code http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/showpos ... ount=19265
(2) Install unlocker "HUAWEI MODEM Code Writer.zip" http://www.entsperren.net/HUAWEI/HUAWEI ... Writer.zip
Step (2) not necessary. I have just repeated the process (on a Mac).
All you need to do is enter the unlock code when the Virgin connection manager asks you to (it allows 10 attempts).
sqgl wrote: (3) Run a generic connection manager "Mobile_Partner.rar" http://www.nextgenserver.com/files/Mobile_Partner.rar
Step (3) not necessary either. Was able to change the settings in Virgin connection manager.
Last edited by sqgl on Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
sqgl
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: Lake Macquarie

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

Post by sqgl » Mon Feb 01, 2010 2:11 pm

Dazzled wrote:It just works in most non-Windows systems. With Windows drivers (as supplied in the modem) it usually works if you start a new profile rather than alter one.
Nowadays it doesn't "just work" on a non-Windows system (OS-X in particular); See my previous post for the workaround.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5997
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

Post by Dazzled » Mon Feb 01, 2010 2:45 pm

I'll check with a mate who uses a Mac. The easiest OS is Ubuntu, or a derivative like Mint or EasyPeasy. Plug in, select Exetel in the drop down, and off you go. No installation required, thanks to an Australian open-source contributer.

User avatar
sqgl
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: Lake Macquarie

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

Post by sqgl » Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:01 pm

Dazzled wrote:I'll check with a mate who uses a Mac.
I'm OK. Thanks.
For the record it might be good to have the info here though.
For both XP and OSX I am/was using a Huawei E160E.

bulletmark
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:06 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

Post by bulletmark » Mon Feb 08, 2010 11:24 pm

Need2No wrote: My Virgin E1762 has only been used in my Netgear 3G router or in my Ubuntu (linux) box. But I imagine that the procedure would be the same as the Optus E169.
Hey Need2No, I picked up a Virgin E1762 today but can't get it to work with my up-to-date ubuntu karmic laptop. Any tricks you can suggest? I've looked all over Google and found nothing that has worked.

Need2No
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 9:15 pm
Location: Shalvey Exchange, NSW

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

Post by Need2No » Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:01 am

bulletmark wrote:
Need2No wrote: My Virgin E1762 has only been used in my Netgear 3G router or in my Ubuntu (linux) box. But I imagine that the procedure would be the same as the Optus E169.
Hey Need2No, I picked up a Virgin E1762 today but can't get it to work with my up-to-date ubuntu karmic laptop. Any tricks you can suggest? I've looked all over Google and found nothing that has worked.
At the time of my testing the E1762 I think I had Jaunty Jackalope on my PC. At the moment my modem is up the Central Coast, so next time someone comes down I will get them to bring it with them.
What problems are you having?
With my E169 I found that I had to enter the DNS servers manually rather then let the modem auto find them.

Regards

bulletmark
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:06 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

Post by bulletmark » Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:21 am

Need2No wrote: What problems are you having?
NM just gives up immediately with a "device not enabled" error.

I think this modem is too new for the karmic kernel and needs a usb-modeswitch hack to swap it from storage device to modem device? I've tried this but failed. My Virgin branded device seems to have a different product id from others I have read about via Google. Perhaps the Virgin E1762 is different?

bulletmark
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:06 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

Post by bulletmark » Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:59 pm

sqgl wrote: Step (2) not necessary. Just repeated the process (on a Mac).
All you need to do is enter the unlock code when the Virgin connection manager asks you to (it allows 10 attempts).
I just got an unlock code from that web site. How do i use it with the Virgin Connection Manager? I tried entering it in Tools/Pin Operations/Enable PIN Verification but it failed and used up 1 of my 3 max attempts. I could run that code writer exe but I am reluctant to run stray exes.

Need2No
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 9:15 pm
Location: Shalvey Exchange, NSW

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

Post by Need2No » Sat Feb 13, 2010 12:56 pm

bulletmark wrote:
Need2No wrote: What problems are you having?
NM just gives up immediately with a "device not enabled" error.

I think this modem is too new for the karmic kernel and needs a usb-modeswitch hack to swap it from storage device to modem device? I've tried this but failed. My Virgin branded device seems to have a different product id from others I have read about via Google. Perhaps the Virgin E1762 is different?
OK, I just got my Virgin E1762 back. I tried it in my karmic desktop and my kermic netbook. Both detected my E1762 OK.
Perhaps, if possible, try it on a Windows PC.

Regards

bulletmark
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:06 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Virgin Prepaid Mobile Broadband starter kit and Exetel SIM

Post by bulletmark » Sat Feb 13, 2010 1:18 pm

Gave up on linux and have been using in my wife's PC with ICS to share about the house. Works fine.

Do you mind doing a "lsusb" and telling me what your device is identified as? Mine is:

Bus 001 Device 004: ID 12d1:1001 Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. E620 USB Modem

The product id (1001) seems to be different to what most people report across linux forums etc. I'm thinking Virgin may have different E1762's out there?

Post Reply