Page 1 of 1

Resolved[Setting up an E180]

Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 8:06 pm
by Lore
Sorry if this is in the wrong forum, I wasn't quite sure exactly where to put it.

Info
I recently moved to Melbourne, to be on campus for university. The in-house provider charges ridiculous amounts, and the phone system is PABX, so DSL is out.
I chose the Exetel C3 plan over 3's alternative (The 200 free VOIP calls), and have just received the SIM today.

I bought a 3-branded E180 modem from Ebay, which I think is locked to the 3 network. I didn't think that would be a problem at the time, since 3 and Exetel both use Optus, but I think I can get an unlock code if I have to.
-[The previous owner was on a $39/6GB/month non-contract plan, which is still in effect until the end of the month. He also sent me his SIM card and offered to transfer the plan.]

The modem has the 3 client on it. I'm not sure whether the firmware makes a difference. There's a screenshot from 'DC Unlocker' below.
Here's the link to the ebay auction (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll ... 0435835478)
-I was told by the seller that it wasn't locked, but I guess that was wrong.




It boils down to:
What do I need to do to get connected?
-Do I need an unlock code for the modem (or would 'flashing' the firmware unlock it)?
-- How exactly do I get one of those?
Will the 3 client work for exetel?
- If not where can I get exetel (or 'General Provider') software/firmware for it?
-- [The download from the Huawei site simply gives me a 10mb file. I'm not sure what to do with it]


Relevant (I think) Images:
Printout from DC Unlocker
Information from the 3 Client
Startup message 1 2
Connecting Message / Error
Network Settings
Connection Settings



If you need any more information, please ask
I'd very much appreciate some help.. I think I've jumped in a little deep.

Thanks in advance

Re: Setting up an E180

Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 10:41 pm
by jokiin
if it's locked to 3 you won't be able to use the Exetel SIM in it, once you've unlocked it you need to change the APN to exetel1 (no user name or password required) so that you can get your connection going, not familiar with that particular model to know if there is any restriction in the software but it should be ok if it's similar to other Huawei models

Re: Setting up an E180

Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 10:42 pm
by CoreyPlover
Firstly, clear the username and password. All you need is the APN "exetel1" (and the dial code #99*) in order to connect. As far as I can tell, the authentication comes from the SIM card itself.

Secondly, 3 does not use Optus' networks, so you will need an unlock code. I *think* that a firmware flash would also unlock it but I can't find a firmware download for the E180. I assume the 10MB file you downloaded was http://www.huawei.com/mobileweb/en/doc/ ... -1&id=5600? It is a simple ZIP file with a single executable inside. It appears to be a "Dashboard update wizard" to update the "dashboard" of your Data Card to version UTPS11.030.<lots of numbers>, so this could be a firmware update

Re: Setting up an E180

Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:00 am
by Lore
Thanks for the replies

Knowing that it was a zip file helped alot. I ran the update, which cleared the 3 software from the device - replacing it with the generic version. It also updated the firmware to the latest version.
Unfortunately it still requires an unlock code, which I realise now is the main problem.
I don't really want to pay the $27 to unlock it using software, so I'll see tomorrow if 3 will give me the code..
Maybe miracles happen =/

Re: Resolved[Setting up an E180]

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 7:04 pm
by Lore
Got it working now.
Simply needed to get the modem unlocked.
I used DC Unlocker for $27, as opposed to paying the $99 that 3 wanted.
CoreyPlover wrote:All you need is the APN "exetel1" (and the dial code #99*) in order to connect.
The dial code is actually *99#, for anyone using this information.

Re: Resolved[Setting up an E180]

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:20 pm
by CoreyPlover
Great to hear and thanks for the update. I'm sure other users will come across this thread and find it very helpful.