Cannot get e169 connected/ vista/ sim problem

HSPA setup and configuration (for wireless networking, please use the 'Networking issue' forum)
Post Reply
kick kombi
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Central Coast

Cannot get e169 connected/ vista/ sim problem

Post by kick kombi » Sat Jul 04, 2009 4:49 pm

Please help, received my e169 usb modem yesterday with sim card.
I activated sim card - received a confirmation sms and email.
So connected my e169 usb modem to my notebook with the Sim card inserted correctly.
Autoplay comes up with install - Run AutoRun.exe. clicked on it
Wireless Broadband Setup wizard then appears - click Next
License Agreement comes up - click I Agree
Choose Install Loactaion - Leave it is as default Destination Folder - C:\Program Files\Wireless Broadband - click Next
Choose Start Menu Folder - Leave it as default Start menu folder - Wireless Broadband - click on Install
Then Shows it installing in a box with green line this takes a few moments.
Thens shows that Wireless Broadban has been installed on your computer - click Finish
Then Shows down the bottom right hand corner "installing device driver software"
Then Shows "your devices are ready to use"
Now have a shortcut on my desktop and also in my star menu - Wireless Broadband - click on it
Box then appears saying - missing shortcut and within that box it says" Windows is searching for wireless broadband.exe to locate file yourself, click Browse - click browse cannot locate it
This is as far as I always get!
I have installed it and uninstalled at least 10 times always the same result.
I am on a Dell Studio XPS 13
Running Vista32 - first 5 times was on SP1 then the last 5 or so was on SP2
A green circle light flicks on/off intermittently on my e169 usb modem during all of this.
I have logged a ticket for repair contact - last night But I think have to wait until a weekday for a reply now.
So I am not sure if it is something in Vista I am missing/doing wrong or if my sim does not work or if it is my e169 modem. I'm thinking something in Vista I can do to fix it but cannot figure it out!

Munka
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 8:22 pm
Location: Rural NSW

Re: Cannot get e169 connected/ vista/ sim problem

Post by Munka » Sat Jul 04, 2009 5:20 pm

So if you navigate to C:\Program Files\Wireless Broadband is the folder present, can you open it and click the .exe file inside, does that bring up the wireless broadband configuration gui?
Munka

kick kombi
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Central Coast

Re: Cannot get e169 connected/ vista/ sim problem

Post by kick kombi » Sat Jul 04, 2009 5:31 pm

The Folder is present the only exe files are:
uninst
DriverUnisnstall
Dreiver Setup
devsetup64
devsetup32
devsetup2k
devsetup

kick kombi
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Central Coast

Re: Cannot get e169 connected/ vista/ sim problem

Post by kick kombi » Sat Jul 04, 2009 7:29 pm

Ok I just tried it on my desktop computer which is runnning XP - exact same result!
I am thinking that all the required software is not on the USB modem stick or the Sim card is not working.

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Cannot get e169 connected/ vista/ sim problem

Post by CoreyPlover » Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:22 pm

I have zipped up my Optus Wireless Broadband software and uploaded it to http://home.exetel.com.au/coreyplover/O ... adband.zip if you would like to re-try it.

kick kombi
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Central Coast

Re: Cannot get e169 connected/ vista/ sim problem

Post by kick kombi » Sun Jul 05, 2009 1:04 pm

Thanks CoreyPlover - IT WORKS! You are a legend.
I knew it was just missing something and that it wasnt me.

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Cannot get e169 connected/ vista/ sim problem

Post by CoreyPlover » Sun Jul 05, 2009 7:06 pm

Great to hear, and thanks for the update

Post Reply