Page 1 of 1

DynalinkRTA1046VW

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 2:55 pm
by eleanor6482
I realise that this is a forum about exetel but as I am customer and I purchase this modem through Exetel, thought I might log my issue. Perhaps someone else is familiar with my problem.

Basically, my modem has developed a lessened radius of wirelessness. I can only really get full strength when in the same room as my modem. I have tested with my iphone and it's the same problem so it IS definitely my modem not Airport (macbook) or the ADSL connection. I seem to have the latest firmware but am completely frustrated by this problem. As soon as I move laptop to the next room (3-4 metres away) I lose signal and have to put in WEP passwrod but even then the connection times out. Back in the same room it automatically fires up. Help!!!!!

Re: DynalinkRTA1046VW

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 8:18 pm
by Dazzled
Have you tried setting it to use any other wireless channels?

Re: DynalinkRTA1046VW

Posted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 6:01 am
by eleanor6482
I have but channel 11 does seem to be best. I will get some support from Dynalink today. The modem has started to play up (or signal I mean) since moving the modem to a new room. However, is a small unit! so should not make amy difference. Thanks....

Re: DynalinkRTA1046VW

Posted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:13 am
by cubic
Anything special about the room that could provide shielding or interference? (large metal objects, microwave ovens etc.) If not it could just be a hardware problem with the router itself - perhaps try adjusting the antenna in case there's a loose connection there.

(Should this thread be in a different forum?)