HTC Legend not connecting 3G Optus on Exetel

HSPA setup and configuration (for wireless networking, please use the 'Networking issue' forum)
Post Reply
Pfitzy
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:26 pm
Location: Sydney

HTC Legend not connecting 3G Optus on Exetel

Post by Pfitzy » Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:59 am

Got a new HTC Legend today and having trouble getting internet access. The phone model should work with Optus 3G according to the retailer, and the SIM I've got I'm assured will handle 3G.

I've just noticed the software version is Android 2.1 update 1 but this shouldn't affect the 3G connection.

Have set up an APN as follows:

Name - exetel1
APN - exetel1
Proxy - <Not set>
Port - <Not set>
Username - <Not set>
Password - <Not set>
Server - <Not set>
MMSC - <Not set>
MMS proxy - <Not set>
MMS port - <Not set>
MMS protocol - WAP 2.0
MCC - 505
MNC - 02
Authentication type - None (have also tried "PAP or CHAP")
APN type - <Not set>

I don't get a 3G symbol on the top of screen like my friend does on his Telstra-based HTC Desire.

I have the Network mode set to GCM/WCDMA auto.

Can't think of anything else...
Friendly fire, isn't...

User avatar
jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: HTC Legend not connecting 3G Optus on Exetel

Post by jokiin » Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:36 am

Pfitzy wrote:
Can't think of anything else...
do you have an Optus cap service, or the Optus HSPA service? The APN detail is different for each

Pfitzy
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:26 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: HTC Legend not connecting 3G Optus on Exetel

Post by Pfitzy » Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:30 pm

It is on a Cap35 plan.
Friendly fire, isn't...

User avatar
jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: HTC Legend not connecting 3G Optus on Exetel

Post by jokiin » Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:39 pm

Pfitzy wrote:It is on a Cap35 plan.
exetel1 is the APN for the HSPA plans, the cap plans (from memory) you need to use internet as the APN

Pfitzy
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:26 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: HTC Legend not connecting 3G Optus on Exetel

Post by Pfitzy » Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:01 pm

Bingo!

You da man. Connected now!

Thanks so much.
Friendly fire, isn't...

User avatar
jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: HTC Legend not connecting 3G Optus on Exetel

Post by jokiin » Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:04 pm

Pfitzy wrote:Connected now!

Thanks so much.
good stuff, no problem

Post Reply