VoIP settings for Grandstream HT801

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Post Reply
Lutz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 11:05 am

VoIP settings for Grandstream HT801

Post by Lutz » Fri Apr 10, 2020 10:14 am

The Grandstream HT801 VoIP adaptor allows for very specific in-depth config, but also may prevent VoIP to work 'out of the box' without specialist knowledge.

• I have a brand new HT801, where I have entered all SIP details provided by exetel,
• and I have left all other settings as default (except "SLIC" which I have set to "AUSTRALIA"),
• but VoIP will not register/connect.

• The HT801's internet connection indicator on the device is on, so it is connected to exetel
• I have triple-checked that the SIP ID + authentication credentials are correct
so that is not an issue.

I have no clue which of the config settings on the HT801 is preventing VoIP to connect,
therefore below is a series of screenshots showing the complete HT801 configuration settings (except passwords).

Please assist by explaining which config setting(s) need to change and what value(s) they need to be set to in order for exetel VoIP to connect.

Thanks!
--Lutz

STATUS PAGE

Image


BASIC SETTINGS

Image
Image
Image


ADVANCED SETTINGS

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image


"FXS PORT" SETTINGS

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

KavindaS
Exetel Staff
Posts: 2714
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: VoIP settings for Grandstream HT801

Post by KavindaS » Fri Apr 10, 2020 6:18 pm

Lutz wrote:
Fri Apr 10, 2020 10:14 am
The Grandstream HT801 VoIP adaptor allows for very specific in-depth config, but also may prevent VoIP to work 'out of the box' without specialist knowledge.

• I have a brand new HT801, where I have entered all SIP details provided by exetel,
• and I have left all other settings as default (except "SLIC" which I have set to "AUSTRALIA"),
• but VoIP will not register/connect.

• The HT801's internet connection indicator on the device is on, so it is connected to exetel
• I have triple-checked that the SIP ID + authentication credentials are correct
so that is not an issue.

I have no clue which of the config settings on the HT801 is preventing VoIP to connect,
therefore below is a series of screenshots showing the complete HT801 configuration settings (except passwords).

Please assist by explaining which config setting(s) need to change and what value(s) they need to be set to in order for exetel VoIP to connect.

Thanks!
--Lutz
Hi Lutz,

I have checked the relevant VOIP settings on your screenshots. Voip account is perfectly active from our end and still no registration.

Outbound proxy - insert the same "sip1.exetel.com.au" without keeping it empty.

Only other concern is the password you type there. If it is still not registering, after re typing password and the mentioned outbound proxy, let us know and we will reset the VOIP password and email to you given contact email address.

Any other special settings, it is recommended to contact the modem vendor support.

Lutz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 11:05 am

Re: VoIP settings for Grandstream HT801

Post by Lutz » Sat Apr 11, 2020 1:58 pm

Thanks Kavinda,
I have entered the outbound proxy and re-booted, the result is the same, status "not registered".
You can try re-setting the SIP password, although I doubt that will addresses the issue, but won't comment unless password-reset has been tried.
--Lutz

judep
Exetel Staff
Posts: 703
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:57 pm
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: VoIP settings for Grandstream HT801

Post by judep » Sun Apr 12, 2020 5:16 pm

Lutz wrote:
Sat Apr 11, 2020 1:58 pm
Thanks Kavinda,
I have entered the outbound proxy and re-booted, the result is the same, status "not registered".
You can try re-setting the SIP password, although I doubt that will addresses the issue, but won't comment unless password-reset has been tried.
--Lutz
Hi,

We have sent you an email to your nominated email address, under the reference no #17074073. Kindly get back to us by replying to the same email thread.

Thanks.

Lutz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 11:05 am

Re: VoIP settings for Grandstream HT801

Post by Lutz » Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:04 am

Thank you judep,
I have successfully re-set the VoIP password on my side, which made no difference to the issue, as commented before.

The question comes back to what I had initially requested,

a specification of the required detailed exetel VoIP settings, namely, what are the exetel-specific settings for:

• DHCP Option 120?
• SIP Transport?
• SIP URI Scheme When Using TLS?
• Use Actual Ephemeral Port in Contact with TCP/TLS?
• NAT Traversal?
• DNS Mode?
• DNS SRV use Registered IP?
• Tel URI?
• Outgoing Call without Registration?
• Register Expiration?
• Reregister before Expiration?
• SIP Registration Failure Retry Wait Time?
• Layer 3 QoS?
• Enable RTCP?
• Remove OBP from Route Header?
• Support SIP Instance ID?
• Authenticate server certificate domain?
• Authenticate server certificate chain?
• Use P-Access-Network-Info Header?
• SIP REGISTER Contact Header Uses?
• SIP T1 Timeout?
• SIP T2 Interval?
• DTMF Payload Type?
• Preferred DTMF method?
• Inband DTMF Duration?
• Disable DTMF Negotiation?
• Generate Continuous RFC2833 Events?
• Send Hook Flash Event?
• Callee Flash to 3WC?
• Use NAT IP?
• SIP User-Agent?
• SIP User-Agent Postfix?
• RFC2543 Hold?
• Voice Frames per TX?
• iLBC Frame Size?
• iLBC Payload Type?
• PUS Payload Type?
• VAD?
• Symmetric RTP?
• Jitter Buffer Type?
• Jitter Buffer Length?
• SRTP Mode?
• Crypto Life Time?
• SLIC Setting?
• Caller ID Scheme?
• Polarity Reversal?
• Loop Current Disconnect?
• RFC2833 Events Count?

or any other settings as per provided screenshots which may be relevant for causing VoIP registration to fail?

thank you
--Lutz

KasunW
Exetel Staff
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 6:03 pm

Re: VoIP settings for Grandstream HT801

Post by KasunW » Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:46 pm

Lutz wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:04 am
Thank you judep,
I have successfully re-set the VoIP password on my side, which made no difference to the issue, as commented before.

The question comes back to what I had initially requested,

a specification of the required detailed exetel VoIP settings, namely, what are the exetel-specific settings for:

• DHCP Option 120?
• SIP Transport?
• SIP URI Scheme When Using TLS?
• Use Actual Ephemeral Port in Contact with TCP/TLS?
• NAT Traversal?
• DNS Mode?
• DNS SRV use Registered IP?
• Tel URI?
• Outgoing Call without Registration?
• Register Expiration?
• Reregister before Expiration?
• SIP Registration Failure Retry Wait Time?
• Layer 3 QoS?
• Enable RTCP?
• Remove OBP from Route Header?
• Support SIP Instance ID?
• Authenticate server certificate domain?
• Authenticate server certificate chain?
• Use P-Access-Network-Info Header?
• SIP REGISTER Contact Header Uses?
• SIP T1 Timeout?
• SIP T2 Interval?
• DTMF Payload Type?
• Preferred DTMF method?
• Inband DTMF Duration?
• Disable DTMF Negotiation?
• Generate Continuous RFC2833 Events?
• Send Hook Flash Event?
• Callee Flash to 3WC?
• Use NAT IP?
• SIP User-Agent?
• SIP User-Agent Postfix?
• RFC2543 Hold?
• Voice Frames per TX?
• iLBC Frame Size?
• iLBC Payload Type?
• PUS Payload Type?
• VAD?
• Symmetric RTP?
• Jitter Buffer Type?
• Jitter Buffer Length?
• SRTP Mode?
• Crypto Life Time?
• SLIC Setting?
• Caller ID Scheme?
• Polarity Reversal?
• Loop Current Disconnect?
• RFC2833 Events Count?

or any other settings as per provided screenshots which may be relevant for causing VoIP registration to fail?

thank you
--Lutz
we have replied back to the same email thread with the information that we received from our Level 2 VoIP team. Kindly refer to the email which has been sent under the reference #17074073

jaymes1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: newcastle nsw

Re: VoIP settings for Grandstream HT801

Post by jaymes1 » Wed May 06, 2020 4:26 pm

Did you get this sorted? I have just purchased this model and am waiting for the setup email.

Lutz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 11:05 am

Re: VoIP settings for Grandstream HT801

Post by Lutz » Wed May 06, 2020 9:28 pm

Hi James, yes,
• extetel support wasn't very helpful
• grandstream support was trying hard
• figured it out myself in the end, it turned out that my router - Synology RT2600ac - had defaulted to block traffic to/from the HT801 after I had plugged it in.
That aside, the Synology RT2600ac has a great user interface that is not so hard to understand, just need to look through a number of tabs to find this stuff. This was the only hiccup I ever had with the Synology RT2600ac, it works like a charm and I can highly recommend it. The HT801 works great too.

jaymes1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: newcastle nsw

Re: VoIP settings for Grandstream HT801

Post by jaymes1 » Wed May 06, 2020 9:52 pm

Thanks. I am still waiting for my setup details, ie, UN & PW. Hopefully soon.

Post Reply