Linksys(rt31p2-na) and D-link modem Voip Question

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Resonant.Frequency
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:10 am
Location: AUSTRALIA QLD

Linksys(rt31p2-na) and D-link modem Voip Question

Post by Resonant.Frequency » Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:26 am

Hi guys,
Ive just had ADSL2 naked setup at my joint, and its working fine through my D-link modem(dsl200), but im trying to setup voip by using the linksys router. I think half of the problem is that the d-link modem is a usb modem and as such is slower and does not directly connect through router, I donno :(

ive connected the router to the computer and run the setup , but when i access the routers "web setup" by typing its ip in the IE addesss bar, I cannot access the voice tab(it says to contact server)

This being my first router/voip setup im pretty lost :oops:

Where should I start?
Thanks heaps,
Andrew

VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:29 am

Looking at the specs it is only a router, so you will need a modem as well that plugs into the Linksys unit.

You will need to buy a ethernet modem/router and put it in bridge mode to use with the Linksys unit.

In regards to the router's voice tab you may need to contact the manufacture for further assistance, as a suggestion i would reset the unit back to factory defaults and try again.

If that doesnt help then update the firmware.

Resonant.Frequency
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:10 am
Location: AUSTRALIA QLD

help!

Post by Resonant.Frequency » Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:29 pm

Hi, again.

In an attempt to get voip working, I have purchased a linksys modem(ag300). Ive been able to get online fine, but cant get the voip on the router(rt32p2-na) to work.... when i enter the websetup page( by typing http://192.168.15.1) into IE, i cannot access the voice tab. It says please contact internet provider. *(i need that page to enter voip settings)(apparently)

So is it my end or has voip not been setup yet?

why cant things just work... :cry:


Cheers for any help provided...

Andrew

VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:34 pm

What is your internal network IP range? Is it in the same range of 192.168.15.0 /24?

If it is on a different range you will not be able to reach the web setup page.

Resonant.Frequency
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:10 am
Location: AUSTRALIA QLD

Post by Resonant.Frequency » Wed Feb 20, 2008 5:32 pm

Hi, Do you mean the routers DHCP Address Range:
( 192.168.15.2 to 192.168.15.51)
?


:?

Cheers

VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Thu Feb 21, 2008 8:36 am

Yeah, so they are on the same range.

What is the IP address of the Linksys unit and the rt32p2-na unit?

Can you ping both units from the computer you are on as well?

Resonant.Frequency
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:10 am
Location: AUSTRALIA QLD

Post by Resonant.Frequency » Thu Feb 21, 2008 11:18 am

192.168.1.1(modem) and 192.168.15.1(router), both of which ping fine. as i said i just cant access the voice page on the router...
its just a normal phone ive plugged into the router, i take it this is ok?

thanks again

VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:10 pm

Does it work if you connect directly to the VoIP unit?

Make sure you have your security programs turned off incase they may be blocking the attempt.

If all else fails i suggest you contact the manufacturer.

Resonant.Frequency
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:10 am
Location: AUSTRALIA QLD

Post by Resonant.Frequency » Thu Feb 21, 2008 3:47 pm

Sorry to keep pestering about this, but no i cant get to the voice page by connecting directly to the router, it says the same, contact service provider...

out of interest, is it possible for you to double check if voip has actually been enabled and configured correctly for my account? it would just rule that out of the equation...

Thanks

VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:42 pm

I can assure you that it has nothing to do with your VoIP account.

ymo
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Wollongong NSW

Post by ymo » Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:25 pm

Resonant.Frequency wrote:Sorry to keep pestering about this, but no i cant get to the voice page by connecting directly to the router, it says the same, contact service provider...
You haven't bought a VOIP box that is tied to another provider by any chance?

Resonant.Frequency
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:10 am
Location: AUSTRALIA QLD

Netcomm Nb9W voip setup>>.

Post by Resonant.Frequency » Fri Feb 22, 2008 4:34 pm

nar linksys rt32-na's just sux... Ive now brought a netcomm nb9w.... easy setup for adsl and wireless... just still having problems with the voip.!!... So firstly, i have used both the voip setup guides provided by exetel(there are two differnt ones)... I have few questions.

Firstly, (DispName: Auth. ID:) < these 2 are asked for in the web setup of the modem, but what are they...ive been provided a password, voip number, and sip server in an email from exetel, but not a display name or auth id.... where can i find these???? the setup does not mention them....

Also i have updated to the latest firmware from netcomm.

Voip is so frustrating

Thanks heaps

AndrewN

VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Fri Feb 22, 2008 4:39 pm

Display name and Auth ID is the VoIP number provided in the email.

VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Fri Feb 22, 2008 4:41 pm

I have just sent the guide to your hotmail address.

Please reply via reply email or post here if you have any problems.

Resonant.Frequency
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:10 am
Location: AUSTRALIA QLD

Post by Resonant.Frequency » Fri Feb 22, 2008 4:59 pm

WOOH, all sorted now

thanks very much guys

Post Reply