Page 1 of 1

VoIP info for new naked ADSL2 connection

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 3:30 pm
by drnick_
Hi there,

Ive orderd a new Naked ADSL for my brother, and will be configuring his hardware for him.

It looks like the connection has not quite been enabled, but my brother reports that his PSTN phone at home is no longer working, so chances are its nearly ready to go.

I just want to check, with the Naked ADSL plan, a VoIP DID is included, yes? Do we have to actually request a DID? or is that already assumed?

will the welcome email detail all the VOIP settings we need to configure an ATA ? (im assuming this email will be sent once the connection is fully enabled)

Cheers,
Nick

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 3:36 pm
by VoIP Admin
A DID account will automatically be created within 24 hours of the DSL service being completed.

You will need to setup an ATA or softphone inorder to use VoIP unless you already have an all in one unit like the NB9/NB9W units.

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 3:38 pm
by drnick_
VoIP Admin wrote:A DID account will automatically be created within 24 hours of the DSL service being completed.

You will need to setup an ATA or softphone inorder to use VoIP unless you already have an all in one unit like the NB9/NB9W units.
coolness... thanks for the quick response

i have a Linksys ATA ready to go! :)

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 3:49 pm
by VoIP Admin
Should not be problem :)

VOIp

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 4:21 pm
by reveler
Is there anyway to kick start it? I've been connected for a day now but Exetel still isn't registering it as complete, but I'd like to get my VOIP up and running as I can't make calls on my PSTN.

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:04 pm
by James D
I have asked someone to chase this up for you.

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 11:14 am
by reveler
any news? I've noticed my ADSL has kicked over to active in the members area but I still haven't recieved my voip details

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 1:51 pm
by reveler
nevermind just came through then.

Posted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 9:07 pm
by robytseng
VoIP Admin wrote:You will need to setup an ATA or softphone inorder to use VoIP unless you already have an all in one unit like the NB9/NB9W units.
Could we order the NB9W from Exetel?

I'm planning to replace my current NB5Plus4W with the NB9W so I can make VOIP calls from my current home phone but this modem doesn't seem to be available to be ordered from Exetel.

Posted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 10:28 pm
by outbush
robytseng wrote:Could we order the NB9W from Exetel?
They were available in the past, but with their problems maybe they are off the market now.

edited.

Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 12:28 am
by ymo
As roby points out, the NB9 series modems are not listed, only the NB6 series:
Modem Type Sale Price Description Qty
Netcomm NB6 (includes 1 filter) $50.00 ADSL2/2+Ethernet/Single Port
Netcomm NB6W (includes 1 filter) $80.00 ADSL2/2+ Ethernet Modem/router Wireless
Netcomm NB6PLUS4W (includes 1 filter) $100.00 ADSL2/2+ 4 Port Ethernet Modem/router Wireless

Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:52 am
by VoIP Admin
The Dynalink RTA has replaced it.

In my opinion it is a better unit, from tests within our office they simply work without any problems.

No firmware upgrade or anything messy like that :)

Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 5:12 pm
by robytseng
VoIP Admin wrote:The Dynalink RTA has replaced it.

In my opinion it is a better unit, from tests within our office they simply work without any problems.

No firmware upgrade or anything messy like that :)
So when is this new modem available to be ordered? This one is not listed either!