No hobart DID's??

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Post Reply
fester
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Tasmania

No hobart DID's??

Post by fester » Sun Apr 06, 2008 8:01 pm

I just went to sign up for a voip service however there are no DIDS for Hobart. Am I supposed to use a Melborne one instead and if i do and somebody calls my DID from Hobart will that be charged as an STD call?

VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Thu Apr 10, 2008 12:28 pm

That is correct it will be billed as an STD call.

Sorry for the late reply i must have missed this post.

Kameleon
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:14 pm
Location: Hobart

Post by Kameleon » Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:22 pm

Any plans of adding Hobart DIDs in the near future?

Kameleon
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:14 pm
Location: Hobart

Post by Kameleon » Tue Apr 15, 2008 8:32 pm

What about free Exetel-Exetel voip calls? (Quite unrelated to the OP, but hey, why not ask the question...) Surely if the call doesn't jump onto the PSTN then there is no need to charge for it?

ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by ForumAdmin » Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:04 pm

Kameleon wrote:Any plans of adding Hobart DIDs in the near future?
I'll see what can be done.

ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Post by ExetelVoice » Wed Apr 16, 2008 8:19 am

Any plans of adding Hobart DIDs in the near future?
The only specific VIC/TAS (03) area outside of Melbourne (039) at this stage is Geelong, with prefixes of 0342 and 0352. However, we will check again with our supplier and report if this has changed.

ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Post by ExetelVoice » Wed Apr 16, 2008 9:30 am

Our supplier confirmed Hobart is not available.

fester
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Tasmania

Post by fester » Wed Apr 16, 2008 3:34 pm

Darn :(

shanport
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: Geelong

Re: Local DID number in Geelong?

Post by shanport » Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:26 pm

ExetelVoice wrote:
Any plans of adding Hobart DIDs in the near future?
The only specific VIC/TAS (03) area outside of Melbourne (039) at this stage is Geelong, with prefixes of 0342 and 0352. However, we will check again with our supplier and report if this has changed.

I have only just signed up for ADSL2 in the last week, i was under the impression that DID numbers were only available for Melbourne (03).
I am hapy with the Melbourne number but after reading this post thought there might be an option of getting a Geelong local number of 0342 or 0352.

Can someone confirm if this is the case and if so how i go about requesting a number in my local area?

Thanks,
Shannon

shanport
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: Geelong

Re: No hobart DID's??

Post by shanport » Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:41 pm

OOPS,
After doing further searching found that when my account is created i can select my VOIP service from the geelong number. Could this information (and any other regional numbers) please be updated on the website.
I almost didnt subscribe to ADSL2 with exetel as i was unable to get a local DID.
Makes you wonder how many customers have not signed up because they "thought" they couldnt get a DID in their area even though they were available.

Thanks,
Shannon

Abraham
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 5:50 pm
Location: Hobart

Re: No hobart DID's??

Post by Abraham » Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:48 pm

No Further advance with Hobart Did's?

I signed up to exetel's voip thinking you could get a hobart did but then after discovering i couldn't i've gone for anouther company for now, I'd be willing to pay extra for the did if it is possible.

Post Reply