Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Les
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2004 8:19 pm
Location: Kariong (Central Coast NSW)
Contact:

Re: Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

Post by Les » Fri Sep 26, 2008 7:13 pm

Thiago,

I was calling from an Exetel VOIP services and tried calling both Sydney Numbers. The same phone has no problems sending DTMF when calling Extels Offices over the same VOIP services.

Les

JOHNNY_JO_JINX
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

Post by JOHNNY_JO_JINX » Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:45 pm

Has this conference facility fallen by the wayside, or is it supposed to be working happily?

Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1813
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

Post by Gidget » Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:57 pm

JOHNNY_JO_JINX wrote:Has this conference facility fallen by the wayside, or is it supposed to be working happily?
Is this a general question, or did you try to use it and found it didn't work?

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

JOHNNY_JO_JINX
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

Post by JOHNNY_JO_JINX » Tue Feb 10, 2009 10:10 pm

Both, I guess.

I have tried to initiate a conference a couple of times but couldn't get it to work.

Maybe lack of input to the thread means that people are having no problems with the facility?

Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1813
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

Post by Gidget » Tue Feb 10, 2009 10:27 pm

I'll try and found out for you what's happening.

Cheers

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Re: Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

Post by ExetelVoice » Wed Feb 11, 2009 8:34 am

Apologies for the troubles you are experiencing with this facility.

We will get this working by the end of this week.

dsc68
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 5:01 pm
Location: Lower Beechmont, Qld

Re: Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

Post by dsc68 » Tue Mar 10, 2009 9:13 pm

Les wrote: I dialed the Sydney access number, and entered the room number (1001) followed by # key when prompted, but it just prompts again for the room number. After the 3rd attempt at entering the room number followed by the # key the call is terminated.
I'm having this problem also. If I dial in from my Exetel VoIP service the system doesn't recognise the DTMF tone and keeps requesting the conference room number. I tried both the Canberra and Sydney numbers with no success. If I dial in using the POTS service it works fine.

The same VoIP/DTMF configuration works fine on the VoIP (121) and Mobile voicemail systems.

Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1813
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

Post by Gidget » Tue Mar 10, 2009 10:49 pm

Hi dsc68

I had a similar problem with the DTMF tones not being recognised. I hadn't experienced this problem when first using the conference facility last year, and DTMF codes were still being recognised okay with company phone systems that direct you to the right area.

I'm using a Sipura SPA-841 VoIP Telephone. Fellow Admin jokiin gave me a lot of help a couple of weeks ago to get it working for my VoIP phone.

I made 2 changes to my configuration and then the DTMF codes were recognised again by the conference facility. I don't know if both changes were required, but once it started working I didn't really care :) The changes jokiin advised were:
1) "AVT Dynamic Payload: is currently set to 96, the correct value is 101"
2) "Inband DTMF Boost: which is not in the other Sipura ATA's, this is currently set to 12db (which does sound high so a possible culprit), I would probably set that back to 0db, try it and see if any difference, if not try 3db, then 6db and so on and see if you get the right result with a bit of fine tuning"

In case you have these setting options in your ATA/IP phone it would probably be worth checking their values.

Hope this helps - if not, jokiin will probably be along later to help you out :D

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

dsc68
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 5:01 pm
Location: Lower Beechmont, Qld

Re: Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

Post by dsc68 » Wed Mar 11, 2009 10:51 am

Unfortunately my Billion 7402VGO doesn't have any DMTF related settings.

jimbob
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:00 pm
Location: Wollongong, NSW

Re: Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

Post by jimbob » Tue May 05, 2009 6:42 am

I tried setting up a conference room for the first time today, and I think I'm being affected by the same DMTF issue. Using my handset (plugged into a RTA1046VW) I couldn't get past the room number. I tried using x-lite and could enter the room number, but it wouldn't accept my password. :(
There don't appear to be any DMTF related settings in either x-lite or my DSL router. However, even if I could fix that, it would mean I would have to also get everyone else dialing in to test their access too.
Is there any chance of the DMTF tone recognition being fixed at the server end? (if that's the problem).

tmccoy
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 10:35 am

Re: Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

Post by tmccoy » Tue May 05, 2009 4:39 pm

I'm also getting the issue where I can't get past the password stage. My conference room seems to be recognised, by it isn't accepting my User or Admin PIN, either from a VOIP fixed phone at my office, my mobile phone or Skype.

sable
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 9:28 am
Location: NSW

Re: Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

Post by sable » Tue May 05, 2009 5:33 pm

by dsc68 on Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:51 am

Unfortunately my Billion 7402VGO doesn't have any DMTF related settings.
dsc68
What firmware version are you using?

I am using latest 5.71 and DTMF can be changed on the edit phone port page and from memory is there in v5.60 and probably also in the 2 or 3 versions prior.


tmccoy
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 10:35 am

Re: Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

Post by tmccoy » Thu May 07, 2009 6:30 pm

I've just tried again, and removed my conference room from the user pages, and then added a new one with new two-digit PINs. Now I'm getting stuck in a loop being asked for my Conference Room number, from my mobile and Skype. I've currently got room 1083 with a PIN of "55" if anyone wants to try. I'll change the PINs back later :D

I just held a conference call with myself in Room 100 (from the first post), and it was fine with one end on my PC and the other on Skype! So what gives - is the members area not properly setting up rooms?

Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1813
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Telephone Conference Room From Exetel

Post by Gidget » Thu May 07, 2009 9:04 pm

I've reported the issue to Exetel.

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

Post Reply