500 I'm terribly sorry, server error occurred

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Post Reply
buzzedman
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: Newcastle

500 I'm terribly sorry, server error occurred

Post by buzzedman » Fri Dec 12, 2008 2:31 pm

Hi Guys,

I'm having problems where I cant make outgoing calls. I get the following in my SIP logs:

Dec 12 03:09:33.676: //-1/xxxxxxxxxxxx/SIP/Msg/ccsipDisplayMsg:
Sent:
INVITE sip:0434166451@sip1.exetel.com.au:5060 SIP/2.0
Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 220.233.140.106:5060;branch=z9hG4bK5074342
From: "Study" <sip:0240170721@sip1.exetel.com.au>;tag=71DC306C-2C3
To: <sip:0434166451@sip1.exetel.com.au>
Date: Fri, 12 Dec 2008 03:09:33 GMT
Call-ID: 22202924-C73111DD-9E0FB027-25245E93@220.233.140.106
Supported: 100rel,timer,resource-priority,replaces
Min-SE: 1800
Cisco-Guid: 497249886-3341881821-2651500583-623140499
User-Agent: Cisco-SIPGateway/IOS-12.x
Allow: INVITE, OPTIONS, BYE, CANCEL, ACK, PRACK, UPDATE, REFER, SUBSCRIBE, NOTIFY, INFO, REGISTER
CSeq: 102 INVITE
Max-Forwards: 70
Timestamp: 1229051373
Contact: <sip:0240170721@220.233.140.106:5060>
Expires: 180
Allow-Events: telephone-event
Proxy-Authorization: Digest username="0240170721",realm="sip1.exetel.com.au",uri="sip:0434166451@sip1.exetel.com.au:5060",response="0e8a3705966c20e0bb3215745768b919",nonce="4941d71bc53540c63487249611a1b78106e566e2",algorithm=md5
Content-Type: application/sdp
Content-Disposition: session;handling=required
Content-Length: 304

Dec 12 03:09:33.736: //-1/xxxxxxxxxxxx/SIP/Msg/ccsipDisplayMsg:
Received:
SIP/2.0 500 I'm terribly sorry, server error occurred (1/SL)
Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 220.233.140.106:5060;branch=z9hG4bK5074342;rport=63223
From: "Study" <sip:0240170721@sip1.exetel.com.au>;tag=71DC306C-2C3
To: <sip:0434166451@sip1.exetel.com.au>;tag=329cfeaa6ded039da25ff8cbb8668bd2.34ae
Call-ID: 22202924-C73111DD-9E0FB027-25245E93@220.233.140.106
CSeq: 102 INVITE
Server: OpenSer (1.1.0-tls (i386/linux))
Content-Length: 0



Also, once I get this error I hear the reorder(?) / busy tone on my SIP phone, but the strange thing is that my mobile will actually ring a few seconds later and show an incoming call from 0280036300. When you try to answer this there is nothing there....


Any Ideas? Do i need to change something with for new SIP Server ?

Buzz

buzzedman
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: Newcastle

Re: 500 I'm terribly sorry, server error occurred

Post by buzzedman » Fri Dec 12, 2008 8:43 pm

I dont know if anyone else can confirm this, but it appears to be related to the "from" address in the invite.
I have a phone in my study, with a display name of "study" & when the invites contain:

From: "Study" <sip:0240170721@sip1.exetel.com.au>;tag=71DC306C-2C3

I get the 500 error, but If i change the display name to "0240170721" so that from invites contain:

From: "0240170721" <sip:0240170721@sip1.exetel.com.au>;tag=B70B24-1EF1
things start working again..

Is this a result of the new SIP server ? I also cant figure out why the called party sees an incoming call from 0280036300 when I get the 500 error ??

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: 500 I'm terribly sorry, server error occurred

Post by jokiin » Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:26 pm

buzzedman wrote:I dont know if anyone else can confirm this, but it appears to be related to the "from" address in the invite.
I have a phone in my study, with a display name of "study" & when the invites contain:

From: "Study" <sip:0240170721@sip1.exetel.com.au>;tag=71DC306C-2C3

I get the 500 error, but If i change the display name to "0240170721" so that from invites contain:

From: "0240170721" <sip:0240170721@sip1.exetel.com.au>;tag=B70B24-1EF1
things start working again..

Is this a result of the new SIP server ? I also cant figure out why the called party sees an incoming call from 0280036300 when I get the 500 error ??
if you use a name in the from address rather than a number it can cause problems in some configs, it may have worked ok with the old SIP server but you are probably better to use the actual number, in this case it might cause the same issue if a name is used in an ATA rather than a number, haven't seen any reports of this issue as yet but the new SIP server was only recently deployed

buzzedman
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: Newcastle

Re: 500 I'm terribly sorry, server error occurred

Post by buzzedman » Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:53 pm

Hi Jok11n,

Any idea why I am seeing a call come in on the called number from 0280036300 everytime I get this error?

Buzz

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: 500 I'm terribly sorry, server error occurred

Post by jokiin » Sat Dec 13, 2008 3:22 pm

buzzedman wrote:Hi Jok11n,

Any idea why I am seeing a call come in on the called number from 0280036300 everytime I get this error?

Buzz
no idea sorry

kruuzer
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 1:08 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: 500 I'm terribly sorry, server error occurred

Post by kruuzer » Sun Dec 14, 2008 12:18 am

I have had the same problem over the last couple of days. Outgoing calls show up on the receiving phone as coming from 0280036300 plus calls either dropped out after about a minute or did not work at all - both outgoing and incoming.
Had a name in DisplayName, not a number. Have just reset this to the number and it shows up ok now on my mobile. Haven't tested the calls yet as it is a bit late :wink:

Hopefully that has resolved the issue. Strange that we have both had the same number displaying.

I'm using a Cisco ATA-186

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: 500 I'm terribly sorry, server error occurred

Post by jokiin » Sun Dec 14, 2008 9:35 am

kruuzer wrote: Had a name in DisplayName, not a number. Have just reset this to the number and it shows up ok now on my mobile. Haven't tested the calls yet as it is a bit late :wink:

Hopefully that has resolved the issue. Strange that we have both had the same number displaying.
I had a feeling it would be a name in the display field problem, the number you were seeing I think is one of the gateway numbers

MCCMikey
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:24 pm
Location: Guyra, NSW
Contact:

Re: 500 I'm terribly sorry, server error occurred

Post by MCCMikey » Mon Dec 15, 2008 6:37 pm

Same problem occurred on X-Lite. It's now more or less confirmed by Exetel that the only information you can now have in the Display field is the account number. Anything else prevents it from working. This is true for all types of VoIP devices on the new SIP server.

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: 500 I'm terribly sorry, server error occurred

Post by jokiin » Mon Dec 15, 2008 6:39 pm

MCCMikey wrote:It's now more or less confirmed by Exetel that the only information you can now have in the Display field is the account number
Correct, it must be the outgoing number from now on

Post Reply