Can't receive from Telstra system- Fixed or mobile phones

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Post Reply
bowjjj
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:40 pm
Location: Doreen Vic

Can't receive from Telstra system- Fixed or mobile phones

Post by bowjjj » Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:11 pm

Hi, We have Exetel voip ( ported from PSTN) and also MNF voip. I have set up the Exetel voip on a Linksys 3102 ata . I can ring out to most people, but can't "receive" calls from Telstra land lines or mobile, they get message " this number is not available from this service" type of message. I can ring into the EXEvoip number from our Virgin mobiles and can also ring in from the MNF voip number .
I had to set the codec in the 3102 to "g711a only" to be able to ring out, but can't find any codec setting that will allow me to ring in. I don't have a telstra phone to be able to trial lots either which means I need other to ring me... Phone has been quiet at least...
Any ideas?
Thanks, Jim

Harih
Exetel Staff
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Colombo

Re: Can't receive from Telstra system- Fixed or mobile phones

Post by Harih » Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:15 pm

Hello Jim,

Could you send me the VOIP number in PM mode and I will test the service for Incoming from Telstra land lines & mobile, so I may invesstigate this further for you.

Regards
Hari

Harih
Exetel Staff
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Colombo

Re: Can't receive from Telstra system- Fixed or mobile phones

Post by Harih » Tue Aug 04, 2009 5:28 pm

Hi Jim,

I have sent you a PM with a reference number and your issue is currently being investigated into and I will keep you posted on the updates.

Regards
Hari

Harih
Exetel Staff
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Colombo

Re: Can't receive from Telstra system- Fixed or mobile phones

Post by Harih » Thu Aug 06, 2009 3:50 pm

Harih wrote:Hi Jim,

I have sent you a PM with a reference number and your issue is currently being investigated into and I will keep you posted on the updates.

Regards
Hari
Hi Jim,

Your issue is still being investigated.

Regards
Hari

Harih
Exetel Staff
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Colombo

Re: Can't receive from Telstra system- Fixed or mobile phones

Post by Harih » Thu Aug 13, 2009 4:45 pm

Hi Jim,

Your issue is still under investigation by our supplier currently and our support technicians will update you as soon as the issue is resolved.

Regards
Hari

bowjjj
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:40 pm
Location: Doreen Vic

Re: Can't receive from Telstra system- Fixed or mobile phones

Post by bowjjj » Fri Aug 14, 2009 3:56 pm

Thanks, It would be good if this could be sorted out soon. I've tried most everything I can. I got a Teslstra prepaid sim so I could test
quite a few things on my end. Somehow it seems the number was not picked up by Telstra as being active.
I rang Telstra but they say I can only get Exetel to sort it out from their end...
I wonder how many other "PSTN numbers ported to Exetel voip" this will/has happened to.
I'm afraid I really can't recommend any one port their PSTN to Exetel after the run around I've had over 6 weeks...
I doubt anyone would put up with the amount of run around we've had. Far from an easy switch over...
2 weeks of no phone at all, then 4 weeks of basically no one being able to call in as most everyone we know is on the
Telstra "system" it seems...
Jim

Panther
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:55 pm

Re: Can't receive from Telstra system- Fixed or mobile phones

Post by Panther » Sat Aug 15, 2009 12:08 am

Hi Jim,

I have had the same problem with my phone, cant call in and yes its been about the same amount of time as yours, except I had issues with exetel believing that it wasnt on my end. Please post on here if you hear anything and I will do the same :)

Hope

bowjjj
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:40 pm
Location: Doreen Vic

Re: Can't receive from Telstra system- Fixed or mobile phones

Post by bowjjj » Thu Aug 27, 2009 5:21 pm

Someone rang and told me today that our number couldn't be ported to voip after all. We had the PSTN number with Exetel for 12mths+ so not sure quite what the problem is. I had a lot of trouble understanding the bloke from Exetel who rang.
Might have been handy to know this before the 2 months of hassle ...
Now need to work out how much I want to keep the number after it not really working for a while anyway.
Hope others who've ported to VOIP have a better run...
See ya , Jim

zebidy
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 8:58 pm
Location: Queensland

Re: Can't receive from Telstra system- Fixed or mobile phones

Post by zebidy » Wed Nov 18, 2009 8:01 pm

Oh no I just found this thread (dont get me started on the USELESS forum search)
Looks like I have the same issue.
not looking forward to a six week wait to NOT get it resolved either.
my rttale of woe is here
http://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.php?f=284&t=34090

I would love to hear someone who has had a more positive outcome

bowjjj
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:40 pm
Location: Doreen Vic

Re: Can't receive from Telstra system- Fixed or mobile phones

Post by bowjjj » Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:25 am

Here's another related thread-

http://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.ph ... 59&start=0

This being one important bit that may apply to you- This is in a Lynksys device but seems to apply to others too.

Under audio codec try- g711a as prefered and YES for "use prefered codec only". Was the only way I've been able to get a Linksys 3102 to
call out... Not ideal I know, but it got mine working...

I've never been able to get our exetel voip accounts to work with G729 codec. Same problems as you when I've tried...
See ya Jim

Post Reply