Page 1 of 1

New Service VOIP Setup questions

Posted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 8:01 am
by nbirk
Hello
Yesterday, I was connected to my Naked DSL service. Connected with no problems with my new dynalink 1046vw modem. However, I have never used VOIP before. I have followed the guides regarding setting up the modem, yet I am still not getting a VOIP connection.
During my application, I did select to PORT my old phone number to Exetel VOIP and I paid the extra $15 to do this. Also, I am still receiving a dial tone on my phone, still connected to the phone outlet on the wall and it is not attached to my modem at this stage.

I have several suspicions as to why I cannot get the connection.

1. It`s only been a day and it may take several days for this to become active.
2. Perhaps my "porting" didn`t work
3. My phone is not connected to the modem

I`m unsure basically.

So could some nice person please just let me know the steps that I have to take, so that I can start using VOIP WITH my old number that I ported.

Also, I have seen an area for me to order VOIP, but there is no mention of my old phone number. Do I simply select one of these other numbers and transfer it to my old number somehow??

Thank you
Neil

Re: New Service VOIP Setup questions

Posted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 1:50 pm
by nbirk
Ok so an update here.

I have received information via email for VOIP set up. It is now all working. However the number they gave me is not my original number.

So my 1 and only question is now, what do I do to enable my original "ported" phone number to be used for my VOIP account?

Regards,
Neil

Re: New Service VOIP Setup questions

Posted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 2:28 pm
by jokiin
nbirk wrote:Ok so an update here.

I have received information via email for VOIP set up. It is now all working. However the number they gave me is not my original number.

So my 1 and only question is now, what do I do to enable my original "ported" phone number to be used for my VOIP account?

Regards,
Neil
I'm not 100% as I haven't done it but I think the number you want ported comes over a few days later and gets mapped to your account, you have a DID to use in the interim though, maybe someone in the know can confirm but I think this is how it works

Re: New Service VOIP Setup questions

Posted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 5:21 pm
by nbirk
Hi again.
Well it`s been 9 days since connection, and still, my old phone number is accepting phone calls through the original land line, and it appears that it hasn`t yet been ported to my account. What is the best way to have this seen to please?
Regards,
Neil

Re: New Service VOIP Setup questions

Posted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 7:48 am
by nbirk
14 days since connection, yet still no number being ported over....what the hell is going on exetel???? I need that number!!!!!

Re: New Service VOIP Setup questions

Posted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:28 am
by JasonM
Your port was resubmitted on the 03/09 - 10 working days after here is 16/09.

Re: New Service VOIP Setup questions

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:57 am
by nbirk
Well thank you for letting me know. No one else has bothered to keep me updated on what is happening. I think it`s pretty bad when I first ordered all of this over a month ago, yet it still isn`t all in place, regardless as to who`s fault it is.
I don`t hold out any hope that this new submission will make any difference, as it should have been done RIGHT the first time. It`s complete bullcrap that I have paid for a service, yet no one can be bothered to give me what I paid for in a timely fashion.
Thanks again
Neil

Re: New Service VOIP Setup questions

Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:45 pm
by Morgs73
I have a similar problem, we were connected to the internet on a naked plan and I also managed to set up the VOIP on my OPEN 824RLW modem using the new VOIP number supplied in exetel's e-mail.

I then received a further e-mail from exetel advising that my old Telstra number had been ported as a DID and that I now needed to set that up. I've tried to do that following the same steps I took to configure the modem with the new VOIP number, but cannot seem to be able to get the port status to show as "registered", rather it shows as being "authfailure".

Can anyone office and advice or assistance? Much appreciated.

I wonder whether I need an additional password???

Thanks - Morgs

Re: New Service VOIP Setup questions

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 12:10 am
by bowjjj
Gday, If you login to the exetel "member facilities" , down the left "voip" , then select " change voip services ". Make sure you're using the same voip number and password listed there. The configure button lets you set up voice mail etc and other features. To login to the exetel site you'll probably need your original phone number and password, as you seem to keep that for login.
See ya Jim