VoIP Dialling Problem

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
JasonM

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by JasonM » Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:34 pm

Something isn't right, I get forbidden to outbound numbers for your service.
I'll ask our VoIP engineer to look into this.

ozbrit
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 10:47 pm
Location: NSW

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by ozbrit » Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:57 pm

Perhaps I need to be issued with another phone number ?

ozbrit
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 10:47 pm
Location: NSW

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by ozbrit » Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:24 pm

Its three days later, has the voip engineer come up with an answer to my number being forbidden for dialing out? Thanks.

outbush
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:49 am

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by outbush » Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:20 pm

ozbrit wrote:......Something you may be unaware of (unless you've read through the whole thread) is that pennytel works Ok from both line 1 and in the gateway. Exetel voip will ring and connect to mobile phones. .....
According to your configuration file, provisioning is set up to pennytel.
Is this ATA of yours locked to Pennytel?
Did you purchase it from pennytel for a bargain price?

JasonM

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by JasonM » Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:32 pm

I haven't received anything back just yet, however, I have asked for an update..

ozbrit
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 10:47 pm
Location: NSW

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by ozbrit » Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:58 pm

yes the ata was purchased from Pennytel - unlocked. No it wasn't a bargain compared to those out of China. This idea is actually irrelevent if you'd checked my earlier posts as the ata previously worked well with the same settings (Exetel sip in line 1 and pennytel in the gateway) for 4 months prior to this month.

Anyhow, I've also mentioned in my earlier posts my Exetel number is also returning the engaged tone when I attempt to make calls with the x-lite softphone. I think this suggests that my number has somehow been crippled and that has been suggested to be the case in an earlier post here.

The worst aspect of this all, is that while I'm getting this engaged tone with landlines and incidentally no tone on calls to mobiles, the phone at the other end does indeed ring and when they answer a successful call is logged to my account, yet neither party got to hear a voice. When Exetel returned the service back to where it was at the beginning of the month, I assumed (wrongly) that my voip would also return to normal.

Thanks outbush for your suggestion.

kenobiajay
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:05 pm
Location: Sydney, New South Wales

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by kenobiajay » Fri Nov 27, 2009 6:27 pm

ozbrit wrote: Anyhow, I've also mentioned in my earlier posts my Exetel number is also returning the engaged tone when I attempt to make calls with the x-lite softphone. I think this suggests that my number has somehow been crippled and that has been suggested to be the case in an earlier post here.

The worst aspect of this all, is that while I'm getting this engaged tone with landlines and incidentally no tone on calls to mobiles, the phone at the other end does indeed ring and when they answer a successful call is logged to my account, yet neither party got to hear a voice. When Exetel returned the service back to where it was at the beginning of the month, I assumed (wrongly) that my voip would also return to normal.

Thanks outbush for your suggestion.
Funny thing is, when I get the engaged tone, the other end does not ring.

Until the problem is fixed, im dialling local numbers with 0011612 (which works...don't know why though!).

ozbrit
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 10:47 pm
Location: NSW

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by ozbrit » Sat Nov 28, 2009 3:47 pm

kenobiajay wrote:
ozbrit wrote:
Funny thing is, when I get the engaged tone, the other end does not ring.

Until the problem is fixed, im dialling local numbers with 0011612 (which works...don't know why though!).

I had made a long reply but have had to change it as I now find that by dialing 001161 - hallelujah it works.

kenobiajay
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:05 pm
Location: Sydney, New South Wales

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by kenobiajay » Sat Nov 28, 2009 5:54 pm

If it helps, you can use the following dial plan:

Code: Select all

|<:0011612>[89]xxxxxxx|<02:0011612>[89]xxxxxxx|
which replaces 02 with / or adds 0011612.

ozbrit
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 10:47 pm
Location: NSW

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by ozbrit » Sat Nov 28, 2009 8:08 pm

kenobiajay wrote:If it helps, you can use the following dial plan:

Code: Select all

|<:0011612>[89]xxxxxxx|<02:0011612>[89]xxxxxxx|
which replaces 02 with / or adds 0011612.

Hmmm! Would this also be applied to Pennytel in the gateway which I use to dial overseas?

kenobiajay
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:05 pm
Location: Sydney, New South Wales

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by kenobiajay » Sat Nov 28, 2009 9:22 pm

ozbrit wrote:
kenobiajay wrote:If it helps, you can use the following dial plan:

Code: Select all

|<:0011612>[89]xxxxxxx|<02:0011612>[89]xxxxxxx|
which replaces 02 with / or adds 0011612.

Hmmm! Would this also be applied to Pennytel in the gateway which I use to dial overseas?
I don't think so, since your existing dial plan probably has something setup to force calls through the pennytel gateway. But I'm not really sure about dial plans in general...still learning. Test it out and let us know...

outbush
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:49 am

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by outbush » Sat Nov 28, 2009 11:15 pm

ozbrit wrote:
kenobiajay wrote:If it helps, you can use the following dial plan:

Code: Select all

|<:0011612>[89]xxxxxxx|<02:0011612>[89]xxxxxxx|
which replaces 02 with / or adds 0011612.
Hmmm! Would this also be applied to Pennytel in the gateway which I use to dial overseas?
NO, as it only applies to your Line 1 account.
With your dial plan of <#1,:>xx.<:@gw1>|........
you need to dial the prefix of #1 to get a line out through pennytel on gateway 1

ozbrit
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 10:47 pm
Location: NSW

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by ozbrit » Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:21 pm

outbush wrote:
ozbrit wrote:
kenobiajay wrote:If it helps, you can use the following dial plan:

Code: Select all

|<:0011612>[89]xxxxxxx|<02:0011612>[89]xxxxxxx|
which replaces 02 with / or adds 0011612.
Hmmm! Would this also be applied to Pennytel in the gateway which I use to dial overseas?
NO, as it only applies to your Line 1 account.
With your dial plan of <#1,:>xx.<:@gw1>|........
you need to dial the prefix of #1 to get a line out through pennytel on gateway 1


I do indeed, you're help is much appreciated - thanks.

kenobiajay
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:05 pm
Location: Sydney, New South Wales

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by kenobiajay » Wed Dec 02, 2009 4:08 pm

If it helps anyone, an Exetel engineer called today fixed the problem. There was some issue with local call routing...all fixed now.

Wartai
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:34 pm
Location: Maroochydore, QLD

Re: VoIP Dialling Problem

Post by Wartai » Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:22 pm

Not sure if i should post it on this thread, but topic was about dialing problem
Im using a Linksys PAP2T ATA with Billion 7402 router (on ADSL2+ Naked), ports are forwarded.
Incoming calls are fine but I cant seem to dial out, i get the dial tone and punch in the numbers, local, STD and Mobiles but i get no ring tone, like its not dialing out at all and phone on other end doesnt recieve the call..
Ive gone over the Exetel FAQ settings for this ATA but not having much luck
Also tried dialing 121 for the voicemail

Post Reply