AuthFailure Billion 7404VNPX

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
vbap

AuthFailure Billion 7404VNPX

Post by vbap » Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:37 am

Hi all,

My VoIP line had an AuthFailure at (Melbourne time):

Nov 02 04:25:51 gateway:sip_SipTransactionManager_?:none: SIP Invalid Username/Password for phone 039482xxxx

As has been reported here before, the billion does not attempt to re-register after this failure. It works if I login to the modem and press the SyncNow button.
This is the second time this has happened (that I have noticed - I am new to Exetel and VoIP...!). After the first time, I changed the registration server from FQDN back to raw IP address. So it does not seem to be a DNS issue.

I want to follow-up with Billion, but just in case someone can check (on the Exetel side) why it might have failed in the first place? Obviously I have the correct details entered, otherwise SyncNow would not work. My Billion has a 240 second expiry.

Thanks,
vbap

vbap

Re: AuthFailure Billion 7404VNPX

Post by vbap » Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:46 am

Just to update, it has happened again yesterday morning around 1:30am and then again this morning around 2:30am.

I logged a ticket yesterday, and the response was to restart the billion modem with factory settings and re-enter all settings again. This was the same advice I received at the Billion forums. (it's standard billion procedure to do this - it's the only tech device that not only needs regular reboots, but also needs to effectively be clean installed each time there is an issue...!).

Since I am overseas at the moment, I'll leave it until I get back - VoIP seems to be OK during the day (according to my wife, although there are some niggles) and when I call there also appear to be no problems. So until I get back in a few days, I'll just log on remotely each morning, and press the SyncNow button.

snudge42

Post by snudge42 » Fri Jun 25, 2010 6:28 pm