Regional VoIP DID's

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
ozkidzez91
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 11:27 am
Location: Helidon, Qld

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by ozkidzez91 » Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:59 pm

vk3xem wrote:If your VoIP hardware is not locked you will be able to use it with Exetel, if it is locked to Engin just call them to enquire about unlockinging it. Will work out cheaper than buying new hardware.
We have one of those Sipura SPA 2000 ATAs (i think that's right) and I'm sure it's locked, but if I can get it unlocked that would be great. I'm still a bit worried about the loss of our old VoIP number, as it's in the local phone book, and of course we've missed the chance to swap it before the new one comes out so it's gonna be wrong for a whole year :(

ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by ExetelVoice » Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:10 am

P.S. Toowoomba numbers are still not on the order form
They are now there. Apologies for the delay.

ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by ExetelVoice » Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:21 am

Tamworth (NSW) DID's are now available.

lehman05
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 2:40 pm

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by lehman05 » Tue Mar 02, 2010 8:05 am

1: Just wondering what makes it so black and white why you can or can't get DID's for certain areas such as Armidale? Is it related to not being able to get adsl2?

2: With MNF you can mask your outgoing voip DID with your own telstra pstn number. Is this possible with Exetel's voip service?

ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by ExetelVoice » Tue Mar 02, 2010 8:08 am

1: Just wondering what makes it so black and white why you can or can't get DID's for certain areas such as Armidale? Is it related to not being able to get adsl2?
Nothing to do with ADSL2. It's just whether our suppliers are able to get DID's for those areas.
2: With MNF you can mask your outgoing voip DID with your own telstra pstn number. Is this possible with Exetel's voip service?
It can be done but the upstream carriers don't like it.

lehman05
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 2:40 pm

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by lehman05 » Tue Mar 02, 2010 10:39 am

Thanks for that.

It would be a nice feature if it could be added. I currently use mnf for all of my business calls purely because I can't get a local DID here and so I use the masking feature instead. Customers want to see a local number when you are calling them.

I would be happy to change if it could be implemented.

Kayla
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:34 am
Location: Wangaratta

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by Kayla » Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:48 am

Wangaratta - Yes Please

TKS
:)

ExetelVoice wrote:Unfortunately, Armidale is not possible.

Interesting Wangaratta is possible but only 26K population.
Any others for Wangaratta?

ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by ExetelVoice » Mon Mar 08, 2010 11:16 am

2 so far for Wangaratta is still not enough for a business case. (need to order 100 DID's from supplier)

ozkidzez91
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 11:27 am
Location: Helidon, Qld

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by ozkidzez91 » Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:31 pm

ExetelVoice wrote:2 so far for Wangaratta is still not enough for a business case. (need to order 100 DID's from supplier)
That's a bit harsh. On the order form you only had 10 or so DIDs for Toowoomba. Are you able to get less depending on the location?

ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by ExetelVoice » Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:49 pm

That's a bit harsh. On the order form you only had 10 or so DIDs for Toowoomba. Are you able to get less depending on the location?
No, we have to order 100 DID's for each area. We just don't display that many on the form.

User avatar
slave1
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:59 pm
Location: Toowoomba QLD

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by slave1 » Sat Mar 13, 2010 2:22 am

Can I possibly 'swap' my current Brisbane DID for a Toowoomba DID? Toowoomba ones weren't available when I signed up in August 2008 on a Naked plan...

Or better yet - can I buy back my original pre-naked phone number, which is now my service number?

User avatar
CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by CoreyPlover » Sat Mar 13, 2010 12:33 pm

slave1 wrote:Can I possibly 'swap' my current Brisbane DID for a Toowoomba DID? Toowoomba ones weren't available when I signed up in August 2008 on a Naked plan...
Quite possibly. Email residentialsupport@exetel.com.au
slave1 wrote:Or better yet - can I buy back my original pre-naked phone number, which is now my service number?
Most probably not. Your number would have been quarantined when you signed up to Naked, but by now it is likely back into the general pool of numbers distributed by telcos.
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by ExetelVoice » Mon Mar 15, 2010 8:46 am

Can I possibly 'swap' my current Brisbane DID for a Toowoomba DID? Toowoomba ones weren't available when I signed up in August 2008 on a Naked plan...
Yes, just order a Toowoomba DID from your Exetel members facility. Then cancel your Brisbane DID. There is no charge for any of this.
Any problems please email voice@exetel.com.au
Or better yet - can I buy back my original pre-naked phone number, which is now my service number?
There is really no need to do this. This number is only used for SQ purposes.

User avatar
slave1
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:59 pm
Location: Toowoomba QLD

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by slave1 » Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:09 am

Thanks for the responses!

:D

rseydler
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by rseydler » Mon Mar 22, 2010 2:53 pm

ExetelVoice wrote:2 so far for Wangaratta is still not enough for a business case. (need to order 100 DID's from supplier)
Come on Wang people... 3rd person gets a lollipop!

Ron

Post Reply