Regional VoIP DID's

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
daniel7
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 8:08 pm
Location: Wangaratta

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by daniel7 » Wed Mar 24, 2010 8:24 pm

Im definately keen for a Wangaratta DID number. I have had to sign up to My Net Fone to get a Wang DID. I also know another 3-4 people who would be interested as they are looking at exetel naked with voip.

So that could bring the numbers up to 7 people. Im assuming a lot more would be interested as they wouldn't all read these forums.

User avatar
Lawrie
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 10:45 pm
Location: Unanderra

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by Lawrie » Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:50 pm

Just checked the DIDs available, and currently the Newcastle and Wollongong numbers are mixed up - ie. the Wollongong DIDs are listed under the Newcastle title and the Newcastle DIDs are under the Wollongong title.

ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by ExetelVoice » Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:57 am

Yes we know. It is being sorted out.

ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by ExetelVoice » Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:57 am

1. The Newcastle/Wollongong DID mix up is fixed.

2. Wangaratta DID's will be available to order on Monday.

ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by ExetelVoice » Fri Mar 26, 2010 2:58 pm

Actually Wangaratta DID's are available now to order.

TekHed
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 3:22 pm
Location: benalla

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by TekHed » Wed Apr 14, 2010 10:34 am

I would really like benalla VoIP numbers to be available.

If 035762 numbers could be made available it woudl make me very happy as well as my customers (i'm agent v103)

ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by ExetelVoice » Wed Apr 14, 2010 10:42 am

Benalla DIDs are not available I'm afraid.

rseydler
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by rseydler » Wed Apr 14, 2010 10:51 am

ExetelVoice wrote:Actually Wangaratta DID's are available now to order.
yes I've already got mine. Thanks!!!

Ron

TekHed
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 3:22 pm
Location: benalla

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by TekHed » Wed Apr 14, 2010 11:19 am

Bummer :(

No Benalla VoIP numbers, let me guess all because of Telstra lock down of our exchange?

Can you provide some info why we cant have them, it woudl make it a lot easier if i have a reason to tell people why they cant have a local voip number.

JasonM

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by JasonM » Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:42 pm

TekHed wrote:let me guess all because of Telstra lock down of our exchange?
Telstra doesn't have controls on numbering, ACMA manage numbering.
If it's not available, it's possible our supplier doesn't have any numbers there.

TekHed
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 3:22 pm
Location: benalla

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by TekHed » Wed Apr 14, 2010 1:18 pm

Cool, well that's something I didn't know.

Thankyou for the info, does anyone know how we woudl go about getting numbers for Benalla from the ACMA through exetel then?

Or should I just give up and simply accept the fact that there will never be Benalla VoIP numbers.

JasonM

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by JasonM » Wed Apr 14, 2010 1:22 pm

Hmm. I'll ask our Voice manager for more details, I've checked ACMA's allocations list, and GoTalk, Soul, AAPT all seem to have numbers there..

Update: We can't get them from our suppliers at all.

TekHed
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 3:22 pm
Location: benalla

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by TekHed » Wed Apr 14, 2010 1:48 pm

I understand that we cant get them from our suppliers but why?

Whats stopping them from selling them to eXeTel? if other telcos have them why cant eXeTel?

Its rather confusing

JasonM

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by JasonM » Wed Apr 14, 2010 1:51 pm

Exetel doesn't take on numbers directly from ACMA (mainly because we don't have equipment to terminate those number ranges).
So, we are left with whatever our upstream suppliers are 'offering'.

TekHed
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 3:22 pm
Location: benalla

Re: Regional VoIP DID's

Post by TekHed » Wed Apr 14, 2010 2:06 pm

Awesome, thank you.

A nice technical answer that gives a clear definitive reason why benalla cant have local VoIP numbers.

Its exactly what i wanted/need, thank you for your time and concise info.

Post Reply