No SIP light on V210P and I have NFI why

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Golden Path

No SIP light on V210P and I have NFI why

Post by Golden Path » Thu Mar 04, 2010 2:11 pm

Hello everyone. My name is Scott and I'm new to Exetel and also to Voip.

Today my landline switched over to Exetel and I connected my Netcomm V210P to my NB6 modem following the guides that came with the ATA and also the Extel guide.

I have an orange ethernet light on and the power light is on. But the SIP light refuses to come on and the ATA tells me my status is unregistered. All I get on my phone is what sounds like an engaged signal.

I have typed all the details into the ATA manually and checked them several times over.

This process is clearly not as simple as I was led to believe. :roll:

I have tried port forwarding on the modem and have some experience with this for filesharing apps and the likes.

I am however not sure what IP I am supposed to forward to - the modem? The ATA? Either way I have tried both and it makes no difference.

My internet is working just fine since I switched over. The cordless phone I am using was working fine earlier today before the switch over.

As such I am at a loss, after a couple of hours of playing with settings and can only assume that somewhere there is a problem in the settings.

Is anyone able to offer any hints?

Thanks.

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin

Re: No SIP light on V210P and I have NFI why

Post by Dazzled » Thu Mar 04, 2010 2:38 pm

The ATA setup is described at http://www.exetel.com.au/files/v210setup.pdf. The important thing to watch is that the V210P by default is out of range of the modem. That is why you are asked to make it a DHCP client on p3 of the guide. When you disconnect the ATA from the computer and connect it to the router an ATA reboot will sort out the address.

It will now make outward calls.