Page 1 of 1

xlite softphone oneway audio for incoming calls

Posted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:21 pm
by pasanm
please be advice only allow g711a codec in xlite Enabled Codec Tab as per the attached screenshot.

By Default Xlite has three enabled codecs with are g711u,g711a and Speex

allowing both g711u,g711a codec in xlite causes one way audio for incoming calls as xlite has a codec negotiation problem with our switch.

problem seems to be with xlite as it generate different RTP payload than it negotiated.

Re: xlite softphone oneway audio for incoming calls

Posted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:38 pm
by jokiin
officially G711 hasn't been supported for incoming calls, if it can work by allowing just G711a then I guess that's a bonus, is this only relative to X-Lite or is it recommended to not use G711u in other devices also, we do from time to time get people having issues with incoming calls which is invariably setup related but if G711u is a general problem for other devices, softphones, ATA etc then it would be better to let customers know to avoid that codec option altogether

Re: xlite softphone oneway audio for incoming calls

Posted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 11:04 pm
by pasanm
Hi
This is just related to xlite. as the problem is with the software where it generate two different RTP streams for an incoming call.

In this case either g711u or g711a codec should be in the xlite Enabled codec tab. doesn't have to bee exactly g711a as these are just two different variants of the same codec.

Re: xlite softphone oneway audio for incoming calls

Posted: Thu Mar 11, 2010 9:02 am
by jokiin
pasanm wrote:Hi
This is just related to xlite. as the problem is with the software where it generate two different RTP streams for an incoming call.

In this case either g711u or g711a codec should be in the xlite Enabled codec tab. doesn't have to bee exactly g711a as these are just two different variants of the same codec.
ok, the FAQ's have always stated the G711 wasn't supported for incoming calls which is why I asked, if that's just an X-Lite thing though that's good to know

Re: xlite softphone oneway audio for incoming calls

Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 3:30 pm
by plasmapuff
Does using the g729 codec make a difference? I'm using the proprietary version of X-lite, eyebeam- which supports this codec.

Re: xlite softphone oneway audio for incoming calls

Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 5:13 pm
by Dazzled
Several users are running Twinkle, which defaults to G.711A-law, G.711μ-law,GSM and Speex, without difficulty. I've only seen the problem with X-Lite and xtensoftphone.

Re: xlite softphone oneway audio for incoming calls

Posted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 2:32 pm
by PM
pasanm wrote:Hi
This is just related to xlite. as the problem is with the software where it generate two different RTP streams for an incoming call.

In this case either g711u or g711a codec should be in the xlite Enabled codec tab. doesn't have to bee exactly g711a as these are just two different variants of the same codec.
I believe this still applies to the new version 4.x of X-Lite. I haven't left the 3 default codecs and tried, but I assume it will be the same, so have enabled only G711a.

Re: xlite softphone oneway audio for incoming calls

Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 3:18 pm
by pasanm
PM wrote:
pasanm wrote:Hi
This is just related to xlite. as the problem is with the software where it generate two different RTP streams for an incoming call.

In this case either g711u or g711a codec should be in the xlite Enabled codec tab. doesn't have to bee exactly g711a as these are just two different variants of the same codec.
I believe this still applies to the new version 4.x of X-Lite. I haven't left the 3 default codecs and tried, but I assume it will be the same, so have enabled only G711a.

yes according my testing xlite 4.0 had same issue.