setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by granny1 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:29 pm

Hi,
I have purchased an LG Optimus one Android phone.
What I would appreciate assistance with setting it up for MOIP.
At the moment my MOIP phone is a Nokia N73,
can I take the sim card from that phone and use it for Moip?
Also how do I get the Exetel app on to the new phone?
Do I need something else for the Android side of things?
Sorry for so many questions, but it is a bit daunting.
Thank you in advance for your assistance
Regards Granny

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by jokiin » Thu Dec 23, 2010 4:11 pm

granny1 wrote:Hi,
I have purchased an LG Optimus one Android phone.
What I would appreciate assistance with setting it up for MOIP.
At the moment my MOIP phone is a Nokia N73,
can I take the sim card from that phone and use it for Moip?
Also how do I get the Exetel app on to the new phone?
Do I need something else for the Android side of things?
Sorry for so many questions, but it is a bit daunting.
Thank you in advance for your assistance
Regards Granny

there is no Exetel app for Android as far as I'm aware so you'll need to use something like Csipsimple, some details on that in this thread viewtopic.php?f=308&t=37373

you can use your SIM in this phone and just set the APN accordingly, I haven't used that model handset so sorry I can't give you more specific detail, I'm sure it shouldn't be too hard though

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by granny1 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 5:52 pm

Hi Jokiin,
Thank you for replying, I go ogled csipsimple and I definitely don't understand it nor how to get it to my phone.
dumb dumb dumb I know.
Regards Granny

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by granny1 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 6:54 pm

Hi Jokiin,
Well, I opened a google acc downloaded csipsimple and it said it installed ....I put in my user name and password and the domain server 58.96.1.2
I put exetel1 as my apn user and password.
So next thing how do I know if I am using moip?
Regards Granny

Need2No
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 9:15 pm
Location: Shalvey Exchange, NSW

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by Need2No » Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:18 pm

granny1 wrote:Hi Jokiin,

So next thing how do I know if I am using moip?
Regards Granny
Up at the top of your screen there is a handset symbol with IP next to it. That tells you that csipsimple is running.
When you type in the number that you want to call and then press the green button/symbol, a screen pops up that asks you if you want to use your "VoIP" or mobile.

Regards

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by granny1 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:57 pm

Hi need2no,
I don't have that I am trying to add an image for you
All I get when I go to dial is the same thing and I don't get asked moip or not
Regards Granny
Attachments
Picture 3.jpg
Picture 3.jpg (20.93 KiB) Viewed 2140 times

Baldrick
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:10 am

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by Baldrick » Thu Dec 23, 2010 8:39 pm

granny1 wrote: Well, I opened a google acc downloaded csipsimple and it said it installed ....I put in my user name and password and the domain server 58.96.1.2
I put exetel1 as my apn user and password.
So next thing how do I know if I am using moip?
Regards Granny
So it seems you have data access working granny1. It seems to me you have gotten a little confused with the set up of accounts with the CSipSimple application as the apn has nothing to do with the CSipsimple applcation accounts set up.
I will see if we can get something up & running for you in a few steps over a few posts here.
1st. see if you can create a shortcut to the CSipsimple app onto your desktop.
To do this, just press on the home screen for a couple of seconds which should pop up a screen offering options such as folders, widgets, shortcuts, etc.
select shortcuts (touch shortcuts to select that)
This will bring up a screen where you can select applications,
This will then bring up a screen with a list of installed applications
Scroll through & select CSipsimple

Once you have a shortcut on your home screen, just touch it to bring up the CSipsimple dialer screen
Next touch your menu button ( the 1 that looks like a word processor alignment thingy) & then select accounts

This will bring up the accounts you have set up.
The account you have set up will most likely have a coloured line under it.
Red = problem
Yellow =trying to register
Green = Registered
Let us know what you have to this point & we will do the next steps

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by granny1 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:14 pm

Hi Baldrick,
Thank you, I have exetel with a yellow line
Regards Granny

Baldrick
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:10 am

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by Baldrick » Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:26 pm

granny1 wrote:Hi Baldrick,
Thank you, I have exetel with a yellow line
Regards Granny
k, np we might delete that account & start fresh to make things a little easier.
to delete,
1. select your account
2. touch the menu & select delete account
Next we will add an account from scratch
1. Select add account
2. scroll through the options & select 'Basic'
3. add an account name such as exetel
4. add your phone number as user
5. add 58.96.1.2 as server
6. add your password ( the password that matches your phone number in your exetel facilities)
7. click save
Once this is done, wait a minute or so & let me know what you get for status as next we will switch wizards to expert mode to fine tune a few bits
Once this is all done, we will go to another section & modify a few things such as network settings, user interface, etc

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by granny1 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:42 pm

Hi Baldrick,
I have made a new one but, it is still showing yellow .... I used the phone number and password that I use for the members is that right?
Also I couldn't delete the other one as I couldn't work out how to. is that a problem?
Regards

Baldrick
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:10 am

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by Baldrick » Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:54 pm

granny1 wrote: I have made a new one but, it is still showing yellow .... I used the phone number and password that I use for the members is that right?
nope, wrong password. You need to go to your facilities, click on VoIp, then Change Voip services. You will find your Voip number & password there. Write that pasword down exactly as it is in the facilities, then you can log out of ur faciltities
Also I couldn't delete the other one as I couldn't work out how to. is that a problem?
On the accounts screen, touch the account you wish to delete so that it brings up all the settings ( Account name, etc)
Touch the menu button ( the 1 that looks like the word processor alignment selector)
touch the option that pops up that says 'delete account' & has picture of a rubbish bin

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by granny1 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:03 pm

Hi,
Both Done.
Regards

Baldrick
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:10 am

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by Baldrick » Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:08 pm

granny1 wrote: Both Done.
With the correct password, are you now getting a green line meaning registration successful?

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by granny1 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:09 pm

No still yellow
Regards

Baldrick
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:10 am

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by Baldrick » Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:39 pm

granny1 wrote:No still yellow
just make sure you have entered the password correctly. ( things like O & 0 tend to much things up in that regard.

regardles, we will change to 'expert' mode now
1. from the screen where your account with the colored line is displayed, touch the account so that it brings up the details (Account name, password, etc)
2. touch your menu button & select 'choose wizard'
3. scroll through & select ' expert'
this will now drop you back to the accounts screen.
4. touch your account again, this will switch you to the details screen again except now it has more details
5. touch the 'realm' setting, remove the * & replace with 58.96.1.2
6. scroll down & select 'Transport', change this to UDP
7. touch the 'Publish enabled' so the green tick appears
8. scroll down & select 'allow contact rewrite' so that the green tick appears
9. Press 'Save'
This should get you registered so long as your password is correct. again let me know ur result
next we will mod a few other settings through a different section of the app

Post Reply