setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by granny1 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:56 pm

Hi Baldrick,
I have done all that....still no reg.
But, I did notice that the registration url is sip.sip.pennytel.com
thats not right is it?
Regards
P.S.
The account id is showing <sip.07etc@sip.pennytel.com>

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by Dazzled » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:00 pm

I'm following this with huge interest...... I hope Baldrick's account gets into the wiki eventually.
No that's the wrong URL. Exetel's VoIP server lives at 58.96.1.2

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by jokiin » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:02 pm

granny1 wrote: The account id is showing <sip.07etc@sip.pennytel.com>
do you also have a Pennytel account?

just confirming you do want to setup an Exetel VoIP account on the phone, yes?

Baldrick
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:10 am

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by Baldrick » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:03 pm

granny1 wrote: I have done all that....still no reg.
But, I did notice that the registration url is sip.sip.pennytel.com
thats not right is it?

The account id is showing <sip.07etc@sip.pennytel.com>
No, that is very Wrong... You have done the initial set up using the 'Pennytel' wizard. :)
I think for ease, delete that account & start again. This time when you create the account, ensure you use the wizard that says 'Basic'
( You need to scroll through the wizards past Pennytel, etc.)
It may be that you need to touch the 'generic wizards' to show them all.
Let me know how you go :)

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by jokiin » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:16 pm

Baldrick wrote: No, that is very Wrong... You have done the initial set up using the 'Pennytel' wizard. :)
that explains a lot :)

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by granny1 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:19 pm

Hi,
I deleted the old one made a new one following step by step ...still not registering
Baldrick? do you want me to use the did number or the mobile number...
regards

Baldrick
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:10 am

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by Baldrick » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:23 pm

Dazzled wrote:I'm following this with huge interest...... I hope Baldrick's account gets into the wiki eventually.
No that's the wrong URL. Exetel's VoIP server lives at 58.96.1.2
If exetel wants me to do a wiki for this I will install the Android SDK so i can do it up into screen shots.
I have been developing a mcrocontroller which I have set up for installers to access via windows GUi i have written which i am thinking about porting to Android & using a bluetooth serial converter to program these things. Just not quite ready to take that part of my project on yet. :)

Baldrick
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:10 am

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by Baldrick » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:28 pm

granny1 wrote:Hi,
I deleted the old one made a new one following step by step ...still not registering
Baldrick? do you want me to use the did number or the mobile number...
regards
You will need to use your exetel supplied DID phone number along with the matching password supplied by exetel
( You can obtain both the phone number & password through your user facilities 'Voip\change service' page)
Also make sure that the server is 58.96.1.2 & not pennytel or any other provider as this is needed to point to the exetel servers

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by granny1 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:31 pm

Hi,
Thats ok ... that's what I have used, just wanted to make sure I wasn't messing up again ...still not registered
Regards

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by jokiin » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:33 pm

granny1 wrote:Hi,
Thats ok ... that's what I have used, just wanted to make sure I wasn't messing up again ...still not registered
Regards
are you using 3G or Wi-Fi when attempting to register?

Baldrick
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:10 am

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by Baldrick » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:37 pm

granny1 wrote:Hi,
Thats ok ... that's what I have used, just wanted to make sure I wasn't messing up again ...still not registered
Regards
Ok. Can you list out what the settings are saying for me please
mainly; account Id
Registration URI
realm
Transport
Publish enabled
Allow contact rewrite

There is more we can do yet, so don't give in :)
Jokkin wrote:are you using 3G or Wi-Fi when attempting to register?
should not really matter at this stage so long as internet access is working. (that bit comes later when we go through network settings)
Are you able to do a google search from this phone while Jokkin brings this up?

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by granny1 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:43 pm

<sip.075xxxxxxx@58.96.1.2>
sip.58.96.1.2
58.96.1.2
UDP
PUBLISH ENABLED
ALLOW CONTACT REWRITE
Last edited by granny1 on Fri Dec 24, 2010 12:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by granny1 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:46 pm

I don't know if it's 3G or not.
can't search it says
no network connection

Baldrick
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:10 am

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by Baldrick » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:57 pm

granny1 wrote:<sip.07xxxxxxx@58.96.1.2>
sip.58.96.1.2
58.96.1.2
UDP
PUBLISH ENABLED
ALLOW CONTACT REWRITE
the bit I forgot about if you are using 3g network is you need to allow it. (It is illegal in USA apparently which is why this option must be selected. See below instruction)
Granny1, you might want to edit ur last post so the accountid on this forum to read as sip.07xxxxxxx@58.96.1.2 please for security.

That all looks correct now.
So:
1. Are you able to do a google search from your phone?
2. if you are using mobile network do you have a good signal?
3. beside your signal bars are you seeing anything that semebles a 'G', '3G' or 'HSDPA' icon?

Next thing to try is modifying some of the network, gui settings etc. the network settings will very likely get you registered if you have a weak signal.
So:
1.get back to the CSip simple phone dialler
2. touch your menu button
3. select 'settings'
4. select 'easy configuration'
5. make sure integrate with android is ticked
6. make sure 'always available' is selected
##################################################################
5. THE biggie which is likely to be giving you grief: make sure 'I'm allowed to use mobile' is ticked <---------------- :mrgreen:
##################################################################

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: setting up moip ON NEW ANDROID PHONE

Post by granny1 » Fri Dec 24, 2010 12:09 am

ok did all that
what about edge and gprs?
regards

Post Reply