OCV200: please help me create a VOIP dial plan (7404VGP)

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Post Reply
adaml
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 12:09 am
Location: Melbourne

OCV200: please help me create a VOIP dial plan (7404VGP)

Post by adaml » Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:14 pm

I'm trying to create a VOIP dial plan for my Billion 7404VGP due to the switch from Naked DSL to OCV200 which now includes a pstn line. I'd imagine a few people would be in the same situation.

The following is what I'm trying to achieve:
1800xxxxxx: pstn (free)
1300xxxxxx: pstn (30c)
13xxxx: pstn (30c)
04xxxxxxxx: voip (22c/min, no flagfall)
0011: voip (cheaper /min rates)
any local or national call: pstn (free)
disallow 19xxxxxxxx calls

the following is what I've come up with so far (entering via telnet to router):

voip endpoint 1 set digitmap <:03>[45689]xxxxxxx+0[2378]xxxxxxxx+1[38]x.T<:@pstn>+0011x.T+04xxxxxxxx<:@Current Profile>+19!
enter
system config save
enter

Can anyone please take a look at the above sequence and see if any errors?


Notes:
* I'm trying to get rid of the 4 (or 6?) second timeout, hence creating this dial plan via telnet not GUI, and minimising use of "T". I believe that if creating via the GUI, you can't remove the "T" from the end of every rule.
* I'm in Victoria, hence the "03" rule. Though I realise adding 03 to a local number is not necessary for a pstn line as it already knows which state I'm in.

Also I could do this via pstn dial plan,
eg
voip clear dcmdials
voip add dcmdial 000 0 dial_with_prefix
voip add dcmdial 106 0 dial_with_prefix
voip add dcmdial 1800 6 dial_with_prefix
voip add dcmdial 13 8 dial_with_prefix at_timeout
voip add dcmdial 02 8 dial_with_prefix
voip add dcmdial 03 8 dial_with_prefix
voip add dcmdial 07 8 dial_with_prefix
voip add dcmdial 08 8 dial_with_prefix
voip add dcmdial 4 7 dial_with_prefix
voip add dcmdial 5 7 dial_with_prefix
voip add dcmdial 6 7 dial_with_prefix
voip add dcmdial 8 7 dial_with_prefix
voip add dcmdial 9 7 dial_with_prefix
enter
system config save
enter

Thanks a lot from a voip with pstn fallback newbie (been using just voip for years with naked DSL, so never had to worry about these rules)

p.s. even though my exetel members facilities "change service status" still says "PENDING", the new line is active and I found the new pstn number via the "wireline meter" section of the members facilities.

IanS
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 11:32 pm
Location: Newcastle

Re: OCV200: please help me create a VOIP dial plan (7404VGP)

Post by IanS » Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am

Hi adaml

You could try these rules

0[23578]x.T<:@pstn> this handles calls where the area code is dialled
[123456789]x.T<:@pstn> this handles any call without area codes, includes 13, 1300 & 1800 numbers.
[000]x.T<:@pstn> forces 000 emergency calls to be dialled via PSTN

Calls starting with 04 & 00 will by default be dialled via VoIP (unless your VoIP service is down)

As for 1900 numbers, they can't be dialled on VoIP & I think they're blocked by Optus PSTN (or there may be an option to block/unblock in the user facilities)

Stickler
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 1:27 pm

Re: OCV200: please help me create a VOIP dial plan (7404VGP)

Post by Stickler » Mon Feb 07, 2011 9:37 am

Hi All,

Whilst on the subject, is there any chance someone could come up with a dial plan for a spa-3102 with the same criteria as the OP EXCEPT also having the PSTN for mobiles? That would be awesome and I'd be very grateful.......

cheers, Nick

adaml
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 12:09 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: OCV200: please help me create a VOIP dial plan (7404VGP)

Post by adaml » Mon Feb 07, 2011 10:36 am

IanS wrote:Hi adaml

You could try these rules

0[23578]x.T<:@pstn> this handles calls where the area code is dialled
[123456789]x.T<:@pstn> this handles any call without area codes, includes 13, 1300 & 1800 numbers.
[000]x.T<:@pstn> forces 000 emergency calls to be dialled via PSTN

Calls starting with 04 & 00 will by default be dialled via VoIP (unless your VoIP service is down)

As for 1900 numbers, they can't be dialled on VoIP & I think they're blocked by Optus PSTN (or there may be an option to block/unblock in the user facilities)
Hi Ian, thanks for your suggestions. I'm trying to avoid using the "T" as it forces a delay to actually making the call. Hence the specificity in my rule set.

latest rule plan:
voip endpoint 1 set digitmap (<:03>[45689]xxxxxxx<:@pstn>|0[2378]xxxxxxxx<:@pstn>|1[38]x.T<:@pstn>|0011x.T|04xxxxxxxx|19!)+<:03>[45689]xxxxxxx<:@pstn>+0[2378]xxxxxxxx<:@pstn>+1[38]x.T<:@pstn>+0011x.T+04xxxxxxxx+19!

I believe that the rules in brackets tell the router what to do and the rules without brackets show up in the GUI. notice separation by "|" inside brackets and "+" after brackets. Also I got rid of "@current profile" as I don't have any VOIP user defined profiles.

this has passed tests on the router itself, just got to test via actual calls.

Oh, and I should point out that I'll use either the voip dial plan or the pstn dial plan, not both, due to conflicts.
Last edited by adaml on Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mandella
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast

Re: OCV200: please help me create a VOIP dial plan (7404VGP)

Post by Mandella » Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:49 am

We also need a dial-plan to call Optus mobiles (and resellers) via pstn.

adaml
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 12:09 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: OCV200: please help me create a VOIP dial plan (7404VGP)

Post by adaml » Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:27 pm

Mandella wrote:We also need a dial-plan to call Optus mobiles (and resellers) via pstn.
This will be very difficult due to number porting.

My guess is you'd have to do it number by number. For example, create rules for every optus/reseller mobile that you regularly call, then a catch all for remainder.

simonr
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 9:25 am
Location: sydney

Re: OCV200: please help me create a VOIP dial plan (7404VGP)

Post by simonr » Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:50 pm

adaml wrote:I'm trying to create a VOIP dial plan for my Billion 7404VGP due to the switch from Naked DSL to OCV200 which now includes a pstn line. I'd imagine a few people would be in the same situation.

The following is what I'm trying to achieve:
1800xxxxxx: pstn (free)
1300xxxxxx: pstn (30c)
13xxxx: pstn (30c)
04xxxxxxxx: voip (22c/min, no flagfall)
0011: voip (cheaper /min rates)
any local or national call: pstn (free)
disallow 19xxxxxxxx calls
hi adaml, I'm trying to do the same thing. A few clarifying questions if you don't mind.
1. Is the phone plugged into Line 1 on your 7404?
2. Do you enter a seperate pstn profile into the voip general settings profile, and if so, is it the voip or pstn profile that is no.1?

Also, my pstn number is different from from voip DID number. Not sure if that complicates things, or whether I should port my old voip number to become ny new pstn (if possible).

thanks in advance

slave1
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:59 pm
Location: Toowoomba QLD

Re: OCV200: please help me create a VOIP dial plan (7404VGP)

Post by slave1 » Sun Feb 13, 2011 1:11 am

I too came from Naked using VoIP back to a PSTN number on this plan + hardware. The following info may not answer you question directly but it may help. Basically, I wanted to continue receiving calls through my MNF VoIP number as this remained the same since going Naked. At the same time I wanted to make all local and national calls through the new PSTN number. Queried how to do this with the 7404VGP - incoming via VoIP and outgoing via PSTN.

Here's what I discovered, plus a copy of my dial plan (MNF user-defined profile assigned to Port 1, phone plugged into port 1). I should point out that I live in Qld, so the dial plan has been customised accordingly:

- You need 2 cables from wall to router, one unfiltered directly to ADSL socket, the other filtered to line socket
- Phone plugged into 1 of 2 VoIP socket (port 1 for me)
- Both VOIP & PSTN calls can then be made/received via the one phone

Dial plan:
voip endpoint 1 set digitmap '(<:07>[345]xxxxxxx<:@pstn>|0[238]xxxxxxxx<:@pstn>|1[38]xxxxxxxx|04xxxxxxxx|13xxxx|0011x|000) +<:07>[345]xxxxxxx<:@pstn> +0[238]xxxxxxxx<:@pstn> +1[38]xxxxxxxx +04xxxxxxxx +13xxxx +0011x +000'

So basically:
- any [Qld] number dialled beginning with 3, 4 or 5 are prepended with 07 and routed via PSTN
- any other national number dialled requires full area code + number, and routed via PSTN
- 1300/1800 numbers routed via VoIP
- all mobile numbers routed via VoIP
- all 13 numbers routed via VoIP
- all international numbers via VoIP
- emergency 000 calls via VoIP (confirmed with provider OK)

Hope that helps.

Cheers

outbush
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:49 am

Re: OCV200: please help me create a VOIP dial plan (7404VGP)

Post by outbush » Sun Feb 13, 2011 5:21 pm

slave1 wrote:
Dial plan:
voip endpoint 1 set digitmap '(<:07>[345]xxxxxxx<:@pstn>|0[238]xxxxxxxx<:@pstn>|1[38]xxxxxxxx|04xxxxxxxx|13xxxx|0011x|000) +<:07>[345]xxxxxxx<:@pstn> +0[238]xxxxxxxx<:@pstn> +1[38]xxxxxxxx +04xxxxxxxx +13xxxx +0011x +000'
............Cheers
This part of your dial plan is no good. |0011x|
You should have a Timeout on overseas calls
Also it only allows ONE number after 0011

It should be |0011x.T|

simonr
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 9:25 am
Location: sydney

Re: OCV200: please help me create a VOIP dial plan (7404VGP)

Post by simonr » Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:29 pm

slave1 wrote:I too came from Naked using VoIP back to a PSTN number on this plan + hardware. The following info may not answer you question directly but it may help. Basically, I wanted to continue receiving calls through my MNF VoIP number as this remained the same since going Naked. At the same time I wanted to make all local and national calls through the new PSTN number. Queried how to do this with the 7404VGP - incoming via VoIP and outgoing via PSTN.

- You need 2 cables from wall to router, one unfiltered directly to ADSL socket, the other filtered to line socket
thanks slave1 for your reply, it sounds your setup is quite what I'm looking for. I would never have thought of having to split the signal from the wall.

So you havn't changed/deleted any voip profile settings,or added any new pstn settings in the router?

cheers :)

slave1
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:59 pm
Location: Toowoomba QLD

Re: OCV200: please help me create a VOIP dial plan (7404VGP)

Post by slave1 » Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:07 pm

outbush wrote: This part of your dial plan is no good. |0011x|
You should have a Timeout on overseas calls
Also it only allows ONE number after 0011

It should be |0011x.T|
Thx outbush, I'll give that a go. Can't say I've made any OS calls for a while, but my setup seemed to work using just the x, and haven't changed dial plan for a long time. Page 16 of the Billion_VoIP_DialPlans_Ver_1_1.pdf indicates that the single 'x' will allow for up to 16 digits, so I've followed that guide and simply deleted the .T timeout. In any case, I shall certainly test with the .T timeout as you've advised.
simonr wrote: thanks slave1 for your reply, it sounds your setup is quite what I'm looking for. I would never have thought of having to split the signal from the wall.

So you havn't changed/deleted any voip profile settings,or added any new pstn settings in the router?

cheers :)
Glad to help simonr. No I haven't had to alter voip or pstn settings in the router, just the dial-plan via telnet. I was logged into 192.168.1.254 admin it when i telnet'ed the dial plan via command line, then exited command prompt, saved settings in admin and logged out, rebooting to make doubly sure it all worked.

I have tested this also using the OPEN824RLW 4-port, which is a clone of the Billion [save for the ability to update to Billion firmware] and hanging up after finishing an outgoing call via PSTN seems to disconnect / reset router occasionally, so this may be a separate on/off-hook voltage issue that I'll have to muck around with a bit more. But I digress, happy with this current setup and thanks to Quentin from Billion over at whingepool for the advice.

outbush
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:49 am

Re: OCV200: please help me create a VOIP dial plan (7404VGP)

Post by outbush » Mon Feb 14, 2011 2:17 pm

slave1 wrote:
outbush wrote: This part of your dial plan is no good. |0011x|
You should have a Timeout on overseas calls
Also it only allows ONE number after 0011

It should be |0011x.T|
........... Page 16 of the Billion_VoIP_DialPlans_Ver_1_1.pdf indicates that the single 'x' will allow for up to 16 digits,......
I think you have the wrong facts here:
From the above document it states that a single 'x' is one digit.
'x.' allows for multiple digits up to 16, (Note the '.' after the x)
T by itself is the timeout factor

slave1
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:59 pm
Location: Toowoomba QLD

Re: OCV200: please help me create a VOIP dial plan (7404VGP)

Post by slave1 » Mon Feb 14, 2011 11:24 pm

outbush wrote: I think you have the wrong facts here:
From the above document it states that a single 'x' is one digit.
'x.' allows for multiple digits up to 16, (Note the '.' after the x)
T by itself is the timeout factor
Thanks - will change it over.

Post Reply