VoIP via Fring - can't dial internationally?

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Post Reply
Graham C
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 8:16 pm

VoIP via Fring - can't dial internationally?

Post by Graham C » Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:14 am

I don't use my VoIP account much these days, but I need to make a call to the USA and I'm having a hard time of it.

I have set up Fring on iPhone to do the job. I can dial my home PSTN number and listen to my answering machine message just fine, but when I try to make an international call - Fring just says 'Call was terminated'.

I also tried to make the call via my modem last night and this seemed to give a busy signal for any international number called. I'd really like to just use Fring, as I am away from home now. If I dial 001 for the USA fring changes it to +1.

I checked user facilities last night and international calling as barred. So I unbarred that, but still cannot call overseas.

What do I need to do to make this call?

felix
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 11:41 pm
Location: Orange, NSW, Australia
Contact:

Re: VoIP via Fring - can't dial internationally?

Post by felix » Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:00 am

You need to dial the full USA number inc the IDD code. It will look like this

0011 1 987 654 3211

1st block is IDD code
2nd block is country code
3rd block is area code
4th block is exchange code
5th block is subscriber number

Graham C
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 8:16 pm

Re: VoIP via Fring - can't dial internationally?

Post by Graham C » Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:17 am

Thanks felix. The number I am trying to call is toll free 1800 289 6229, which I think is 800 289 6229 non toll free. It is Macy's department store.

When I dial 0011 with fring it changes the '001' to '+1'. I think this is likely to be my problem?

Graham C
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 8:16 pm

Re: VoIP via Fring - can't dial internationally?

Post by Graham C » Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:52 am

Ok I think I have the answer for anyone who finds this thread through searching.

I added Macy's as a contact in my iPhone contacts list with the phone number stored as shown by felix. Fring then uses the number as stored in contacts and does not change anything (I was using the 'Dialer' previously when it was doing this).

Post Reply