Trouble Registering on LinkSys PAP2

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Post Reply
captainskitz
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:48 pm
Location: ACT

Trouble Registering on LinkSys PAP2

Post by captainskitz » Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:32 pm

We had a power failure last night and now my VOIP device is not able to register. I have checked all of the settings and passwords. I have restarted both the router and the ATA. I double checked that the ports were forwarded correctly and even tried putting the ATA in the DMZ.

It says "Can't Contact Login Server". The server is currently set to 58.96.1.2.

I can ping the server via CMD prompt on my PC. I'm pretty much stumped now. Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers

User avatar
stevecJ
Forum Admin
Posts: 1032
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:48 am

Re: Trouble Registering on LinkSys PAP2

Post by stevecJ » Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:56 pm

captainskitz wrote:We had a power failure last night and now my VOIP device is not able to register. I have checked all of the settings and passwords. I have restarted both the router and the ATA. I double checked that the ports were forwarded correctly and even tried putting the ATA in the DMZ.

It says "Can't Contact Login Server". The server is currently set to 58.96.1.2.

I can ping the server via CMD prompt on my PC. I'm pretty much stumped now. Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers
Hi,

Could you please PM me your service number so I can check on the voip service for you :?:
To Log a fault ticket, please click click here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

=================
Exetel Support Portal
=================

captainskitz
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:48 pm
Location: ACT

Re: Trouble Registering on LinkSys PAP2

Post by captainskitz » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:29 pm

Update:

On a hunch I tried enabling Line 2 on the ATA and putting the settings in again for that. It worked. I'm guessing that the power issues caused some problem with the internals for line1. I have now disabled line1 and hopefully I'm good to go.

Wierd...

User avatar
stevecJ
Forum Admin
Posts: 1032
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:48 am

Re: Trouble Registering on LinkSys PAP2

Post by stevecJ » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:35 pm

captainskitz wrote:Update:

On a hunch I tried enabling Line 2 on the ATA and putting the settings in again for that. It worked. I'm guessing that the power issues caused some problem with the internals for line1. I have now disabled line1 and hopefully I'm good to go.

Wierd...
It's great to hear that you were able to resolve the issue and the voip appears to be working fine as per the test call which I made :)
To Log a fault ticket, please click click here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

=================
Exetel Support Portal
=================

captainskitz
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:48 pm
Location: ACT

Re: Trouble Registering on LinkSys PAP2

Post by captainskitz » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:36 pm

Thanks for that. I really appreciate the quick response.

User avatar
stevecJ
Forum Admin
Posts: 1032
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:48 am

Re: Trouble Registering on LinkSys PAP2

Post by stevecJ » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:49 pm

captainskitz wrote:Thanks for that. I really appreciate the quick response.
No Worries :)
To Log a fault ticket, please click click here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

=================
Exetel Support Portal
=================

Post Reply