VoiP/PSTN Switching

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Post Reply
monarols
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 8:28 pm
Location: Perth

VoiP/PSTN Switching

Post by monarols » Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:59 am

Hi all,

Have a Netgear DG834GV v2 Router which appears to have registered with the VoiP service OK (According to the Router page). I am using a Uniden XDECT7055 cordless handset. I am just wondering how to switch between PTSN and VoiP? What is the default dial tone when you first pick up the handset? It's just that I am calling the odd mobile call and it appears to be charged via an Optus call, not a VoiP one.

Cheers Chris

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5998
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: VoiP/PSTN Switching

Post by Dazzled » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:56 am

I'm not familiar enough with these to describe the dial tone, but most devices have different tones for VoIP and the PSTN relay. The PSTN switch prefix in Netgears is usually *, unless you have altered it. Check in the PSTN setup page in your browser.

Try ringing your own PSTN number from the Netgear - a VoIP call will ring a plugged in handset; a PSTN call will be engaged.

Post Reply