Page 1 of 1

old pstn number as exetel voip number

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:25 am
by ocular
Have had a PSTN number/service that is now closed, is it possible to get that number as a exetel VOIP number?

Re: old pstn number as exetel voip number

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 12:13 pm
by lodperera
Hi ocular,

By default number should be active from any other provider to port it as a PSTN to VoIP.

However, please PM me the number to run a service qualification test.

regards
LOD

Re: old pstn number as exetel voip number

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:52 pm
by ocular
Thanks
PM sent

Re: old pstn number as exetel voip number

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:49 pm
by lodperera
Hi ocular,

In order to go ahead with the PSTN to VoIP order the number should be active.

So the answer is ; your number cannot be ported to VoIP :(

regards
LOD

Re: old pstn number as exetel voip number

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 4:52 pm
by ocular
Is the only way to make this number "active" is to attach it to a new pstn installation?

Are there any other ways to make this number active?

Re: old pstn number as exetel voip number

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 5:27 pm
by lodperera
Not that we are aware of mate.. :(

Check with Telstra whether they could shed some light on this.

regards
LOD

Re: old pstn number as exetel voip number

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 10:36 pm
by ocular
When I type the number in question into

https://www.exetel.com.au/pstn_to_voip/ ... siness.php

it says enabled

and the service is still listed against my name in the whitepages.com.au

Re: old pstn number as exetel voip number

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 10:47 pm
by KavindaS
ocular wrote:When I type the number in question into

https://www.exetel.com.au/pstn_to_voip/ ... siness.php

it says enabled

and the service is still listed against my name in the whitepages.com.au
I have informed this to voip engineers. They will check and update you accordingly.

Re: old pstn number as exetel voip number

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2013 9:07 am
by lodperera
Hi ocular,

The PSTN to VoIP order form looks up our internal database to check whether it is basically a valid 10 digit number. It doesn't check for any service active/inactive status. Even though it says enabled, the order will be rejected as the number is not active.

However we could see that the number is ACTIVE on Telstra but wasn't able to call that number. Which means they have not updated their records.

Please contact your previous provider and check for the cancellation date.
With that information dial into provisioning team via 0280301000 option 3
They will advise you accordingly.

summary of the steps that we will have to take in order port that number

1. order the number as a standalone PSTN service. (charges applied)
2. Provider will check the quarantine pool(as it is inactive) for the number and assign it to a copper pair.
3. port it across to VoIP(PSTN cancellation charges + porting charges might apply )

regards
LOD