VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Post Reply
wood88
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:24 pm
Location: Western Aus

VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

Post by wood88 » Sat Jan 31, 2015 2:03 pm

Hi Everyone,

My parents just bought a new modem a TP Link TD-VG3631 replacing a Netcomm NB9WMAXX.

We have set it all up and internet is working fine. But we have a strange issue with the VOIP. They can make calls to mobiles, PSTN and my brothers VoIP number (iinet).
But they can't call me (Exetel VoIP) comes up engaged for them and when I try and call them it rings and they can answer it but no one can hear each other.

I can call their PSTN line fine with my VOIP number.
My modem is a Netcomm NB12WV.

Any suggestions would be great.

Thanks

aroshak
Exetel Staff
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

Post by aroshak » Sat Jan 31, 2015 2:47 pm

wood88 wrote:Hi Everyone,

My parents just bought a new modem a TP Link TD-VG3631 replacing a Netcomm NB9WMAXX.

We have set it all up and internet is working fine. But we have a strange issue with the VOIP. They can make calls to mobiles, PSTN and my brothers VoIP number (iinet).
But they can't call me (Exetel VoIP) comes up engaged for them and when I try and call them it rings and they can answer it but no one can hear each other.

I can call their PSTN line fine with my VOIP number.
My modem is a Netcomm NB12WV.

Any suggestions would be great.

Thanks
Please check your codec settings on both these service. The priorities has to be set as in the following order.

1. A-law
2. U-law
3. G.729

Cheers

wood88
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:24 pm
Location: Western Aus

Re: VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

Post by wood88 » Sat Jan 31, 2015 3:08 pm

Yep codec settings are the same on both modems and voice vad is also disabled on both modems.
Problem still exists

wood88
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:24 pm
Location: Western Aus

Re: VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

Post by wood88 » Sat Jan 31, 2015 8:40 pm

Any ideas???
It was all working fine with the old modem.
What would cause just my VoIP able to ring my parents but no one can hear each other and when my parents call me all they get is an engaged sound?

angelos
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1068
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:22 pm
Location: Australia

Re: VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

Post by angelos » Sun Feb 01, 2015 9:06 am

wood88 wrote:Any ideas???
It was all working fine with the old modem.
What would cause just my VoIP able to ring my parents but no one can hear each other and when my parents call me all they get is an engaged sound?
Could you confirm if the issue occurs if you de-register the numbers from the VoIP modems and try it using a softphone such as XLITE or ZOIPER?

This is just a test to check the VoIP service directly...

wood88
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:24 pm
Location: Western Aus

Re: VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

Post by wood88 » Sun Feb 01, 2015 1:09 pm

angelos wrote: Could you confirm if the issue occurs if you de-register the numbers from the VoIP modems and try it using a softphone such as XLITE or ZOIPER?

This is just a test to check the VoIP service directly...
I de-registered my parents phone and used Zoiper to call my phone and it worked fine.
Then I de-registered my phone and used Zoiper to call my parents phone and it worked fine.

I'll upload the settings for both modems for you to have a look at.

wood88
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:24 pm
Location: Western Aus

Re: VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

Post by wood88 » Sun Feb 01, 2015 3:08 pm

Setting from my Netcomm NB16WV which is connected to my Cable modem (Telstra)
NetComm NB16WV.jpg
NetComm NB16WV
NetComm NB16WV.jpg (208.24 KiB) Viewed 4112 times
Parents TP Link TD-VG3631 modem connected straight to the internet (Exetel)
Image

Kaushalya
Exetel Staff
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:25 pm
Location: Australia

Re: VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

Post by Kaushalya » Sun Feb 01, 2015 7:59 pm

I de-registered my parents phone and used Zoiper to call my phone and it worked fine.
Then I de-registered my phone and used Zoiper to call my parents phone and it worked fine.
It appears there is nothing wrong with the Exetel service as it works fine through a softphone.

I would suggest you to do a full factory reset to the modem and configure it back. Also you can go for a firmware upgrade on the modem.

wood88
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:24 pm
Location: Western Aus

Re: VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

Post by wood88 » Sun Feb 01, 2015 8:34 pm

Kaushalya wrote: It appears there is nothing wrong with the Exetel service as it works fine through a softphone.

I would suggest you to do a full factory reset to the modem and configure it back. Also you can go for a firmware upgrade on the modem.
I have already done a firmware upgrade to the TP Link which resulted in a factory reset and factory reset the Netcomm same problem persists. The Netcomm doesn't have any new firmware

Imran.Hossen
Exetel Staff
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 9:12 pm
Location: Australia

Re: VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

Post by Imran.Hossen » Mon Feb 02, 2015 7:25 am

Hi There,

I have run through the configuration that you have attached and would like you to try the DTMF setting to be set to "InBand" DTMF and try testing the service registration.

Regards

wood88
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:24 pm
Location: Western Aus

Re: VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

Post by wood88 » Mon Feb 02, 2015 2:33 pm

Imran.Hossen wrote:Hi There,

I have run through the configuration that you have attached and would like you to try the DTMF setting to be set to "InBand" DTMF and try testing the service registration.

Regards
Hi Imran,

This is me of the first settings I tried when I came across the error. As one was sent to RFC2833 and the other was set to Inband. I tried swapping them around both ways and it didn't resolve the problem.

I will try again after work though.
Any other suggestions?

Thanks for everyone's help so far.

angelos
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1068
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:22 pm
Location: Australia

Re: VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

Post by angelos » Mon Feb 02, 2015 3:07 pm

wood88 wrote:
Imran.Hossen wrote:Hi There,

I have run through the configuration that you have attached and would like you to try the DTMF setting to be set to "InBand" DTMF and try testing the service registration.

Regards
Hi Imran,

This is me of the first settings I tried when I came across the error. As one was sent to RFC2833 and the other was set to Inband. I tried swapping them around both ways and it didn't resolve the problem.

I will try again after work though.
Any other suggestions?

Thanks for everyone's help so far.
Could you PM your mobile number to get someone to get in touch with you?

wood88
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:24 pm
Location: Western Aus

Re: VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

Post by wood88 » Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:07 pm

angelos wrote: Could you PM your mobile number to get someone to get in touch with you?
Hi Angelos,

My patents are waiting to hear back from TP Link if they know any issues.
If they don't suggest anything I will pm you my mobile number.

Thanks

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2473
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: VOIP Issues - TP Link TD-VG3631

Post by KavindaS » Tue Feb 03, 2015 12:11 am

wood88 wrote:
angelos wrote: Could you PM your mobile number to get someone to get in touch with you?
Hi Angelos,

My patents are waiting to hear back from TP Link if they know any issues.
If they don't suggest anything I will pm you my mobile number.

Thanks
You may email or contact us if further assistance require.

Post Reply