Page 1 of 1

VoIP config for NF18ACV

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:37 pm
by daveh0
This is a helper post if anyone encounters the same problem as me: I received a Netcomm NF18ACV from Exetel for my new NBN service earlier this week and VoIP didn't work out of the box because some settings were missing from the configuration.

The VoIP config is more or less the same as the NF4V (http://exewiki.exetel.com.au/index.php? ... etup_Guide). My modem's VoIP configuration was missing the SIP Outbound Proxy and SIP Registrar settings (see attached screenshot) and after adding those the VoIP service started working.

Re: VoIP config for NF18ACV

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 10:32 pm
by KavindaS
daveh0 wrote:
Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:37 pm
This is a helper post if anyone encounters the same problem as me: I received a Netcomm NF18ACV from Exetel for my new NBN service earlier this week and VoIP didn't work out of the box because some settings were missing from the configuration.

The VoIP config is more or less the same as the NF4V (http://exewiki.exetel.com.au/index.php? ... etup_Guide). My modem's VoIP configuration was missing the SIP Outbound Proxy and SIP Registrar settings (see attached screenshot) and after adding those the VoIP service started working.
Thank you for informing this. I will address this with Netcomm support and get them to configure all required fields in future modems.

Re: VoIP config for NF18ACV

Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:58 am
by kookaburra2
Extra suggestion for information improvement...

Recently I switched my services with Exetel from ADSL to FTTN/VDSL, and had them port my landline number to VoIP. I got the standard Netcomm NF18ACV modem from Exetel. As soon as the port to VoIP was completed, Exetel sent an email containing VoIP username, password, and settings. The settings information is insufficient. All it said was:
* sip server (proxy) address:
* sip1.exetel.com.au
* supported codecs:
* g711a, g711u, g729
That is simply too brief and incomplete.
At least it should explain that the sip info has to be entered into 3 places [which the modem labels "Use SIP Proxy", "Use SIP Outbound Proxy", "Use SIP Registrar"]. And that the port in each case should be set to 5060. And that the service number needs to be entered into 3 places: Authentication name, Cid Name, Cid Number.
And it is misleading or worse to list g729 given that the NF18ACV does not even have g729.

When my NBN service failed (oh, yeah, it does happen!, in my case it died suddenly and totally after 9 days of quite stable service), as part of the problem investigation, Exetel had me factory reset the modem. After that, it took me much effort and experimentation to reenter the necessary VoIP settings into the modem, because nowhere that I could find is it properly documented sufficiently.

Re: VoIP config for NF18ACV

Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:03 pm
by judep
This issue will be addressed with the Exetel's management and we will update the ExeWiki http://exewiki.exetel.com.au/index.php?title=Main_Page webpage with the configurations for Netcomm NF18ACV device.We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused

Re: VoIP config for NF18ACV

Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:31 pm
by kookaburra2
judep wrote:
Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:03 pm
... we will update the ExeWiki http://exewiki.exetel.com.au/index.php?title=Main_Page webpage with the configurations for Netcomm NF18ACV device.
Has this been done?

Re: VoIP config for NF18ACV

Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:09 pm
by rehanj
kookaburra2 wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:31 pm
judep wrote:
Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:03 pm
... we will update the ExeWiki http://exewiki.exetel.com.au/index.php?title=Main_Page webpage with the configurations for Netcomm NF18ACV device.
Has this been done?
Apologies for the delay, the Exewiki page is currently under development and should be ready shortly. I will follow up on the development progress, and confirm once the Link is ready to go live.

Re: VoIP config for NF18ACV

Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:56 pm
by hamishbear
rehanj wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:09 pm
kookaburra2 wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:31 pm
judep wrote:
Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:03 pm
... we will update the ExeWiki http://exewiki.exetel.com.au/index.php?title=Main_Page webpage with the configurations for Netcomm NF18ACV device.
Has this been done?
Apologies for the delay, the Exewiki page is currently under development and should be ready shortly. I will follow up on the development progress, and confirm once the Link is ready to go live.
Did this ever get published? I know the NF18ACV is no longer supplied by Exetel, but there must be quite a few users out there.

I've just switched to Exetel and my new ZTE H238A isn't yet working properly. I'd like to try my previous NF18ACV but don't know the correct config settings for Exetel. Can anyone help?

Re: VoIP config for NF18ACV

Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 6:13 pm
by KavindaS
hamishbear wrote:
Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:56 pm

Did this ever get published? I know the NF18ACV is no longer supplied by Exetel, but there must be quite a few users out there.

I've just switched to Exetel and my new ZTE H238A isn't yet working properly. I'd like to try my previous NF18ACV but don't know the correct config settings for Exetel. Can anyone help?
Please refer your emails as I have already fixed your VOIP config issue. Service should be working by now.

NF18ACV user manual has been already uploaded via http://exewiki.exetel.com.au/images/3/3 ... _Guide.pdf

For the separate VOIP guidelines, you may refer a similar interface of http://exewiki.exetel.com.au/index.php? ... etup_Guide

Re: VoIP config for NF18ACV

Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:41 pm
by hamishbear
Thanks for the VoIP fix, Kavinda, and also for those references. It's nice to know I now have an alternative option if the ZTE ever turns its toes up...