Cap plans or HSPA plans ? Help

Mobile phone plans, SIM card activation and porting issue
Post Reply
brrmmm
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:47 am
Location: brisbane

Cap plans or HSPA plans ? Help

Post by brrmmm » Fri Dec 18, 2009 4:06 pm

Santa's bringing me this phone:
http://www.uniquemobiles.com.au/Items/l ... 20Stock%29

and my daughter this one:
http://www.uniquemobiles.com.au/Items/m ... 20Stock%29

Will sign up daughter to the "Mobie 10 Cap" for $10 per month and my phone to "Mobile 20 Cap" for $20pm.

Question: Will I be able to access internet on the 20Cap plan (on the LG Renoir) - it does state 100mb per month? Or do I need an HSPA plan? Or do I order them together? Confused.

Hey, pls answer in baby-talk I'm kinda tech-challenged here.

Many thanks in advance.

JasonM

Re: Cap plans or HSPA plans ? Help

Post by JasonM » Fri Dec 18, 2009 4:23 pm

You can use internet on the Vodafone plans - it is 3G enabled in areas.

cubic
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:19 am
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW

Re: Cap plans or HSPA plans ? Help

Post by cubic » Fri Dec 18, 2009 5:01 pm

You could look at it this way: The mobile plans are for people who mainly want a phone but may use a bit of data on the side. The HSPA plans are for those who mainly want data, although some of those come with a phone plan on the side. :D

If 100MB is all you need the mobile plans will suit you well. The Vodafone 3G network (used for the Mobile plans) is getting pretty good now - you should have no problems around Brisbane.
...the term 'Future Perfect' has been abandoned since it was discovered not to be - Douglas Adams

brrmmm
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:47 am
Location: brisbane

Re: Cap plans or HSPA plans ? Help

Post by brrmmm » Fri Dec 18, 2009 5:26 pm

OK, now I get it! Thanks for clarifying this for me.

Think I'll start off with the 20Cap and see how it goes. Now to order the 2 Sim cards, hope I get them before Xmas!

Cheers

brrmmm
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:47 am
Location: brisbane

Re: Cap plans or HSPA plans ? Help

Post by brrmmm » Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:10 am

Oh dear..........to further confuse me...
Just received both phones and the Motorola U9 states that it must be used with a GSM sim card only. Does that mean it won't work with the sim I've ordered? So confused.

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Cap plans or HSPA plans ? Help

Post by jokiin » Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:43 am

brrmmm wrote:Does that mean it won't work with the sim I've ordered? So confused.
no, it will be fine

Post Reply