Looking for Nokia 3G Mobile Recommendations

Mobile phone plans, SIM card activation and porting issue
Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin

Looking for Nokia 3G Mobile Recommendations

Post by Gidget » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:48 pm

Hi mobile gurus :D

I'm looking for some recommendations for 3G mobiles, specifically, a Nokia model with a native SIP client. The phone doesn't need all the bells and whistles (eg 2 or 3 megapixel camera is fine, don't really need anything better), I'm just after a phone that can be used for VOIP calls, a bit of browsing/emailing, music downloads and playing, wifi capability - the users don't need a top of the range model as long as these specs are met. Because I know the intended users, my most important spec is the SIP client because the VOIP has to be really easy to use :)

Oh, and yes, not more than $300 - $350 would be nice :D, and unlocked so they can enjoy an Exetel plan without fiddling around.

I'm a noob when it comes to mobiles (my head spins looking at the possibilities) so apologies in advance if I am asking for an impossible set of features at an impossible price :lol: If I am, please feel free to point me at something more feasible.

Many thanks

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin

Re: Looking for Nokia 3G Mobile Recommendations

Post by jokiin » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:52 pm

native SIP client is disappearing in current models, likely due to telco pressure, that said you can add a 3rd party SIP client to a lot of models and is maybe the better way to go, have they got a particular style they like?

Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin

Post by Gidget » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:59 pm

Thanks, jokiin

No particular style as far as I know - I think price will probably be the limiting factor, but I'm obviously open to suggestions.