Page 1 of 1

eXeSMS will not send

Posted: Mon May 24, 2010 8:57 pm
by steve sydneyside
I am having problems getting my computer to send SMS using eXeSMS. I have used it successfully with a previous SIM card in a Nokia 6500. But I have since upgraded my internet connection and am using a HUAWEI E160G modem on a different Exetel plan and new SIM.
Installed on the computer is Version 1.5 (same computer and internet is working fine)
I initially thought that it was because I had not registered my mobile number, so I did this but there is no change?
I believe I might need to get someone to send me the settings as I had to do this with previous Optus plans to initiate the SIM service for MMS (I need this activated too). Which I can do by putting the SIM into the Nokia 6500.
When I open eXeSMS an error window displays, if I then click 'OK' -see attached jpg, the program opens?
Message displayed after initial setup below
Error Failed to send SMS:Connection failed
:?

Re: eXeSMS will not send

Posted: Mon May 24, 2010 9:07 pm
by Gidget
The latest stand-alone exeSMS program version for your PC is 2.1, downloadable from here (after logging into your User Facilities)
https://www.exetel.com.au/members/send_ ... exeSMS.php

Have you tried that version?

Alternatively, see this thread
http://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.ph ... 37#p266737
for a guide to getting version 1.5 working again.

Gidget

Re: eXeSMS will not send

Posted: Mon May 24, 2010 10:06 pm
by steve sydneyside
Gidget wrote:The latest stand-alone exeSMS program version for your PC is 2.1-Have you tried that version?
Have downloaded the file and will try to setup newer version. Post back here when I have results.

Thanks for the speedy reply :D

Re: eXeSMS will not send

Posted: Mon May 24, 2010 11:13 pm
by steve sydneyside
Ok, so I downloaded the Version 2.1 which required Java Platform to run \ open as it would not execute without it :o
available from here http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/index.jsp
After a few installs \ restarts (Windows) managed to get the newer Version 2.1 to open eXeSMS. Tested it and it is working
Unfortunately it did not register the new SIM details (Login ID & Password) only the older SIM details from the Nokia 6500 modem days what have I done wrong?
Where are the settings needed to change this, I thought they were in a Tab on the Version 1.5 but that Tab no longer exists?
Edit I received mail from Exetel Support
Outgoing calls and outgoing SMS has not been provisioned for this service therefore you will not be able to send SMS using this plan.
so I now have the answers to why it's charging SMSes to another account although Support did say will not be able to send... 8)

Re: eXeSMS will not send

Posted: Tue May 25, 2010 2:57 pm
by cubic
Outgoing SMS being disabled for the SIM is irrelevant - you're not trying to send an SMS through the mobile service. What exeSMS does is connect to the Exetel server via your internet connection, and send from there. So the username and password you enter into exeSMS should be the ones you set up in your user facilities (SMS API Access) and not related to what internet connection / 3G SIM you're using. The only reason why it should be fussy about the connection is if you restricted your SMS API username to work only from a particular IP address, so check in your user facilities and remove / change that if necessary.

Re: eXeSMS will not send

Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 2:27 pm
by steve sydneyside
cubic wrote:Outgoing SMS being disabled for the SIM is irrelevant - you're not trying to send an SMS through the mobile service. What exeSMS does is connect to the Exetel server via your internet connection, and send from there. So the username and password you enter into exeSMS should be the ones you set up in your user facilities (SMS API Access) and not related to what internet connection / 3G SIM you're using. The only reason why it should be fussy about the connection is if you restricted your SMS API username to work only from a particular IP address, so check in your user facilities and remove / change that if necessary.
@cubic thanks for the input will check the users facility and adjust settings from there