Page 5 of 5

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:08 pm
by tabletennisman
ExetelVoice wrote:
Just activated my z39 plan for an iPhone 3gs running 4.3.5 and can't seem to find a way to check whether the correct APN is assigned. After inserting the new SIM I reset the Network Settings on the phone and all appears to be working correctly (calls, SMS/MMS etc), but just want to make sure I am connecting to the correct APN and avoid the risk of incurring huge data charges mentioned. How is this done witout JailBreaking the phone?
The APN should be YESINTERNET for iPhones on the mobile Z plans. You should check this.
Anything else and you will be paying high data charges.
when using 'internet' apn setting on 4 of our htc desire phones here, mms messages don't send. MMS messages only send once 'yesinternet' apn is set. Your support staff said this will be fine and won't incur further charges?? Who's right?

(Exetel Residential Support #4290317)

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:51 pm
by brianh
Blackberry Plans must use 'BLACKBERRY' (informed as of today by ShaminG)

Please update original post...... AND edit the Optus Wiki to reflect the new information.....

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:14 pm
by ShaminG
Blackberry Plans must use 'BLACKBERRY' (informed as of today by ShaminG)

Please update original post...... AND edit the Optus Wiki to reflect the new information.....
It's already there, please refer http://exewiki.exetel.com.au/index.php? ... thering.3F

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 8:40 pm
by brianh
That's all listed under Tethering.... Why would I look there, if I'm not tethering?

In addition, there are four "flavours" listed, without any clarification of what they're used for....And apart from that, they are NOT listed under APN, where I would expect to find them.

I think it needs to be set out more clearly, otherwise customers still have no idea what they are supposed to use.

Regards,
Brian

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:49 pm
by Audrey Jnr
jokiin wrote:
ExetelVoice wrote:
the information in the APN field is not viewable when using an iPhone with an Optus SIM card, the ability to see this information or not is decided by the carrier whose SIM you are using, resetting the network settings will always load the default carrier profile for any SIM which has a carrier profile associated (any provider that has supplied the iPhone has their own carrier profile)
Had a minor freak-out earlier this month when my new Z15 SIM didn't automatically configure the APNs needed for internet & MMS on my Nokia (Thought I MUST be incurring $1430 / GB cost because of it - drama queen!), but a quick phone call to Exetel and the configuration /settings were SMS's to me. Crisis averted.

Now, with plans to activate a Z plan on my better half's 3GS iPhone, I'm trying to cover all bases. V frustrating that we can't view the APNs on an iPhone, without Jailbreaking or carrying on with Apple Configuration Utilities! Ugh! iPains!!! :twisted:

But, if I understand johnny2times and jokiin's exchange on Page 4, all we have to do is insert the new SIM, reset the network settings, and trust that the SIM is configuring all APNs as desired. (Even though it didn't do this with my Nokia - grumble whinge :? )

Now, because I'm a teensy bit Amish and don't really trust new-fangled techno gadgets etc etc, I thought, as a fail-safe, we could insert the sim, test that the internet connection and mms are working, then leave it for a couple of days and see what shows up in the Member's Facility? If the wrong APNs were configured, would the costs show up in the "Plan Excess Charges" section of the Mobile Usage section of the Member's Facility, or the "Plan Excluded Charges" section of the mobile phone meter / call summary?

Does that sound like an odd way to go about it? One reason (other than iPains! and laziness) I'd like to avoid using the Apple Configuration Utility is that the 3GS currently has a bit of a hardware glitch (santa's gonna fix it), and we can't update it, so the Utility might not even work.

So a couple of tests with the APN's then see if anything nasty shows up in the Member's facility? Do you guys think that sounds like a reasonable plan?

Would love to hear your thoughts - peace out :wink:

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:04 pm
by jokiin
Audrey Jnr wrote: all we have to do is insert the new SIM, reset the network settings, and trust that the SIM is configuring all APNs as desired. (Even though it didn't do this with my Nokia - grumble whinge :? )
yes, something an iPhone can do but a Nokia can't
Audrey Jnr wrote:

Now, because I'm a teensy bit Amish and don't really trust new-fangled techno gadgets etc etc, I thought, as a fail-safe, we could insert the sim, test that the internet connection and mms are working, then leave it for a couple of days and see what shows up in the Member's Facility? If the wrong APNs were configured, would the costs show up in the "Plan Excess Charges" section of the Mobile Usage section of the Member's Facility, or the "Plan Excluded Charges" section of the mobile phone meter / call summary?

Does that sound like an odd way to go about it? One reason (other than iPains! and laziness) I'd like to avoid using the Apple Configuration Utility is that the 3GS currently has a bit of a hardware glitch (santa's gonna fix it), and we can't update it, so the Utility might not even work.

So a couple of tests with the APN's then see if anything nasty shows up in the Member's facility? Do you guys think that sounds like a reasonable plan?

Would love to hear your thoughts - peace out :wink:
Certainly no harm in being cautious and checking after a few days as to what's happening

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 6:23 pm
by Ditman1
I have just moved 2 services onto the new Z plans and I have to say felt left up in the air after calling support 4 times on the weekend.

Call was hung up on the first time and then once the VOIP I could not hear the person in the call centre and they could not hear me.

That aside the first operator was sending me the settings via OTA that did not arrive so I called back and I was told the APN for MMS was mms but no other settings like IP or port.

Can these settings not be put in the wiki somewhere for step by step setup.

I was lucky I have my daughters phone with Exetel already and copied the settings from there.

Thanks

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:02 pm
by ShaminG
Can these settings not be put in the wiki somewhere for step by step setup.
This has not yet been added due to the diverse setup process in handsets. However, we will update the wiki with some generic set of instructions. I believe that will address the matter to a certain extent :).

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:28 pm
by Ditman1
This has not yet been added due to the diverse setup process in handsets. However, we will update the wiki with some generic set of instructions. I believe that will address the matter to a certain extent .
Thanks for that would make life a bit easier. :P

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:48 pm
by ShaminG
Thanks for that would make life a bit easier.
Once the wiki page has been updated, I will provide you with the link. :)

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:48 pm
by Ditman1
Once the wiki page has been updated, I will provide you with the link.
Hi

I have bought everyone new phones for Christmas 2 x Android & 1 x Unlocked Telstra Samsung. I thought I would get a head start before Christmas so the day isn't a right off.

I haven't had an email for Updates to the WIKI and I still can't find the settings for MMS, And Internet and wap. I'm am going to setup 1 phone at a time so don't want to call the helpdesk 3 times.

Generic Settings would be good like :
Bearer
Addresses needed
Ports
IP addresses

Broken down to MMs, Internet, WAP.

Thanks

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 2:24 pm
by Dazzled

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 5:38 pm
by Ditman1
Many thanks Dazzled this will make life way easier.

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:02 pm
by Lawrie
on the new iPhone 5 is it still necessary to set the APN or does it pick up the setting automatically?
I cant seem to find the menu option to edit the APN............

Re: APN for Exetel mobile services using the Optus network

Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:25 pm
by KavindaS
Lawrie wrote:on the new iPhone 5 is it still necessary to set the APN or does it pick up the setting automatically?
I cant seem to find the menu option to edit the APN............
Make sure no other additional profiles created. Therefore it should automatically push the APN from the phone.