Galaxy S2 "EXETEL" apn does not work

Mobile phone plans, SIM card activation and porting issue
Post Reply
bruceee
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:03 pm
Location: Warilla

Galaxy S2 "EXETEL" apn does not work

Post by bruceee » Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:25 pm

Hi, We have just got a new Galaxy s2 set up and working fine ( including WiFi ) except for Packet Data using the EXETEL APN, works OK using the yesoptus apn but I believe this is not the one to use if I wish to remain solvent.
Hope someone can help
Regards B edit: z15 plan

dbr
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Sale VIC

Re: Galaxy S2 "EXETEL" apn does not work

Post by dbr » Thu Aug 11, 2011 7:38 am

What are the APNs that Exetel use for Optus?
For handsets (but not iPhones) being used on the Exetel (via Optus) network, the APN is ‘INTERNET’ or ‘OPTUSWAP’.
For iPhones being used on the Exetel (via Optus) network, the APN is ‘YesINTERNET’
http://www.saferoz.com.au
First Aid * Fire * Safety

bruceee
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:03 pm
Location: Warilla

Re: Galaxy S2 "INTERNET" apn does not work

Post by bruceee » Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:25 am

Sorry dbr, must have been half asleep last evening, I meant that the INTERNET APN does not work
These are the facts as of last night
Z15 plan
yesoptus apn works ------- is the phone default

internet apn DOES NOT WORK -------- the 3G indicator flickers for a second or two then disappears, opening browser gives a "page cannot be found", WiFi was turned off at this point.

Could it be a Provisioning problem ? I am familiar with setting up APN's.

Phone is out at work today and not available for troubleshooting till this evening.
Regards B

stevecJ
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1041
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:48 am

Re: Galaxy S2 "INTERNET" apn does not work

Post by stevecJ » Thu Aug 11, 2011 4:12 pm

bruceee wrote:Sorry dbr, must have been half asleep last evening, I meant that the INTERNET APN does not work
These are the facts as of last night
Z15 plan
yesoptus apn works ------- is the phone default

internet apn DOES NOT WORK -------- the 3G indicator flickers for a second or two then disappears, opening browser gives a "page cannot be found", WiFi was turned off at this point.

Could it be a Provisioning problem ? I am familiar with setting up APN's.

Phone is out at work today and not available for troubleshooting till this evening.
Regards B
I have already created a ticket (4300253) and passed it to the relevant department to provision the APN 'internet' for your service.

I will send you an email once it is completed. :)
To Log a fault ticket, please click click here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

=================
Exetel Support Portal
=================

bruceee
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:03 pm
Location: Warilla

Re: Galaxy S2 "INTERNET" apn does not work

Post by bruceee » Thu Aug 11, 2011 4:43 pm

Many thanks stevecJ for a very welcome response, will see how it performs in an hour or so B

bruceee
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:03 pm
Location: Warilla

Re: Galaxy S2 "internet" apn does not work

Post by bruceee » Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:27 pm

stevecJ, there has been no change yet APN "internet" does not work B

ShaminG
Exetel Staff
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Galaxy S2 "EXETEL" apn does not work

Post by ShaminG » Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:54 pm

stevecJ, there has been no change yet APN "internet" does not work B
I have got this updated from the supplier end. Could you please restart the mobile handset and check the data service.

APN should be the same : INTERNET :)

bruceee
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:03 pm
Location: Warilla

Re: Galaxy S2 "INTERNET" apn does not work

Post by bruceee » Thu Aug 11, 2011 7:13 pm

Hi ShaminG All working OK now B

ShaminG
Exetel Staff
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Galaxy S2 "EXETEL" apn does not work

Post by ShaminG » Thu Aug 11, 2011 7:36 pm

Hi ShaminG All working OK now B
Glad to help you sort out the issue. :D

drain_master
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 6:25 pm
Location: sydney

Re: Galaxy S2 "EXETEL" Moip

Post by drain_master » Sun Jan 08, 2012 11:34 am

Hi guys,
can i just clarify on this thread? The Samsung Galaxy S2 can be used for MOIP right?
I am thinking of purchasing one because of all the rave reviews.
Also- a slightly separate topic: if i plan for medium phone use (i.e. 30-40mins talk a day), would 1.5Gb data monthly plan suffice for use with MOIP??

EroshanJ

Re: Galaxy S2 "EXETEL" Moip

Post by EroshanJ » Sun Jan 08, 2012 2:43 pm

can i just clarify on this thread? The Samsung Galaxy S2 can be used for MOIP right?
Unfortunately, we do not have the MoIP version for android platform at the moment :( But, you can try 'Sipdroid' instead of MoIP in Galaxy S II 8)
if i plan for medium phone use (i.e. 30-40mins talk a day), would 1.5Gb data monthly plan suffice for use with MOIP??
I just made some calculations from our VoIP bandwidth meter, please refer to following usage according to audio codec

G.711 (64Kbps)
Total usage per 40mins call is 25.55 MB

G.726 (32Kbps)
Total usage per 40mins call is 16.17 MB

Hope i answered your questions :D

Let us know if you need further information

Post Reply