"Line in use" message on my handset

Mobile phone plans, SIM card activation and porting issue
Post Reply
CatS84
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 1:05 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland

"Line in use" message on my handset

Post by CatS84 » Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:00 pm

Having a problem with my landline - can't call out and people can't call in, and my cordless handset displays a "line in use" message after it dials a number. I tried unplugging everything, using new cords, switching to a corded phone, and still no luck. Having no problems with my ADSL though. Is this a wiring issue, or a problem at the exchange's end?

Any help would be much appreciated!

User avatar
udara
Exetel Staff
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:06 am

Re: "Line in use" message on my handset

Post by udara » Tue Oct 30, 2012 9:01 pm

CatS84 wrote:Having a problem with my landline - can't call out and people can't call in, and my cordless handset displays a "line in use" message after it dials a number. I tried unplugging everything, using new cords, switching to a corded phone, and still no luck. Having no problems with my ADSL though. Is this a wiring issue, or a problem at the exchange's end?

Any help would be much appreciated!
I will get a Support engineer to contact you shortly :)
To Log a fault ticket, please click Here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

==============
Exetel Support Portal
==============

CatS84
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 1:05 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland

Re: "Line in use" message on my handset

Post by CatS84 » Fri Nov 02, 2012 10:00 am

Thanks, issue has been fixed, Exetel support was speedy and helpful.

User avatar
udara
Exetel Staff
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:06 am

Re: "Line in use" message on my handset

Post by udara » Fri Nov 02, 2012 10:08 am

CatS84 wrote:Thanks, issue has been fixed, Exetel support was speedy and helpful.
Thank you :) . its good to hear that everything has been fixed
To Log a fault ticket, please click Here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

==============
Exetel Support Portal
==============

CatS84
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 1:05 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland

Re: "Line in use" message on my handset

Post by CatS84 » Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:16 am

Hello! It seems I am having exactly the same issue again. Cannot dial out from my landline handset, nobody can call in. I hear a ringing/dialling noise when I try to make a call. Please let me know if there is a better way for me to communicate a recurring issue.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
udara
Exetel Staff
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:06 am

Re: "Line in use" message on my handset

Post by udara » Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:41 am

CatS84 wrote:Hello! It seems I am having exactly the same issue again. Cannot dial out from my landline handset, nobody can call in. I hear a ringing/dialling noise when I try to make a call. Please let me know if there is a better way for me to communicate a recurring issue.

Thanks in advance.
It would be best if you could drop an email to residentialsupport@exetel.com.au . however I will get a support engineer to contact you shortly to have a look at this :)
To Log a fault ticket, please click Here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

==============
Exetel Support Portal
==============

Meshal S
Exetel Staff
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Colombo

Re: "Line in use" message on my handset

Post by Meshal S » Mon Nov 26, 2012 4:47 pm

Hi CatS84,

We have tried getting in contact with you and in being unable to do so; have left you a voicemail message and sent an SMS message to your mobile phone regarding how we wish to proceed on this issue. We need your assistance for further testing; so please respond to us as soon as possible. The ticket reference is 5905027.

Post Reply