SIP Server upgrade

Old, inactive threads
User avatar
VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

SIP Server upgrade

Post by VoIP Admin » Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:21 am

We will replace our existing SIP Server with a newer version SIP Server. The new server would allow more SIP clients, with new features added plus bug fixes.
We will commence the change-over on 10 July 2008 at 6am AEST. There will be an outage in a windows time between 5 - 15 mins. Calling-Card service will also be affected.

All customer does not need to change any SIP details within their SIP software / hardware.

User avatar
VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Post by VoIP Admin » Wed Jul 09, 2008 5:53 pm

SIP Upgrade plan has been postponed to Friday 11 July due to further testing.

oldman
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 6:50 am
Location: Strathpine, QLD

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Post by oldman » Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:35 pm

VoIP Admin wrote:We will replace our existing SIP Server with a newer version SIP Server. The new server would allow more SIP clients, with new features added plus bug fixes.
Can you give any more details of the new features?

Shortlegs
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Dapto

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Post by Shortlegs » Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:51 am

Today 11/7 . i an getting a busy tone every time i dial out, I now that the numbers i am dialing are not busy. Is this happening because of the sip server upgrade? I have reset the modem several times. the modem is a NB9W

Edwin
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 6:25 am
Location: Sydney

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Post by Edwin » Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:57 am

I have been experiencing the same issue, busy tone for every number called.

JamesR
Posts: 424
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Post by JamesR » Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:59 am

Edwin wrote:I have been experiencing the same issue, busy tone for every number called.
Exactly the same here...
Regards,

JamesR
Customer since 2005

User avatar
VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Post by VoIP Admin » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:08 am

We're actively troubleshooting the problem. There are some unforeseen problem which wasn't occur during lab test. Will keep everyone up-to-date.

sable
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 9:28 am
Location: NSW

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Post by sable » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:12 am

All outgoing calls except those to non did Exetel users result in engaged signal even with area code

can receive incoming calls

need fix urgently, my clients getting toey

denishancock
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:36 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Post by denishancock » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:52 am

We're unable to make any outgoing calls. This is obviously a problem caused by the upgrade. Can you please advise when we will be able to call out again ?

ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Post by ForumAdmin » Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:01 pm

It's being worked on.

No MTTR is yet available.

egort
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 9:53 pm

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Post by egort » Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:47 pm

My Voip is working fine but instead of sip1.exetel.com.au, I have the IP address (58.96.1.2) on my setup. My friend just up the road from me was having the busy tone problem but he put in the IP and his now works.

Evert

User avatar
VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Post by VoIP Admin » Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:53 pm

The issue we have this morning is now resolved. For those who still can't register, please reboot your voip machine after 5 min.

Some of you may have problem with sip1.exetel.com.au, which probably related to dns issue / registration message too big. I suggest try 58.96.1.2 as it connect straight to the server without resolving any dns.

denishancock
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:36 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Post by denishancock » Fri Jul 11, 2008 1:16 pm

DNS changes works for me, thanks everyone !

JamesR
Posts: 424
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Post by JamesR » Fri Jul 11, 2008 1:19 pm

VoIP Admin wrote:Some of you may have problem with sip1.exetel.com.au, which probably related to dns issue / registration message too big. I suggest try 58.96.1.2 as it connect straight to the server without resolving any dns.
Being an agent, we have setup all our customers connections with sip1.exetel.com.au per the instruction manuals, and now the business VoIP here does not like the sip1.exetel.com.au but does accept 58.96.1.2.

Will this mean we need to reconfigure all my VoIP customers to the IP instead of the domain? Is there any chance that the sip1.exetel.com.au will still work? Why isn't it working for us - have we set something wrong somewhere?
Last edited by JamesR on Fri Jul 11, 2008 1:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regards,

JamesR
Customer since 2005

terrox
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:00 am
Location: MAYF exchange Hunter Region NSW

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Post by terrox » Fri Jul 11, 2008 1:20 pm

Where will the new features be posted?

Post Reply