Slow speeds in Cammeray

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
Post Reply
jowtron
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:57 am
Location: Sydney

Slow speeds in Cammeray

Post by jowtron » Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:11 am

Hi, i've just moved house and the speed of the internet seems to have gone down significantly. I've done the isolation test and here is the tracert and ping tests.
It seems like there is some kind of problem somewhere. Any help would be greatly appreciated. The exetel speed test says this:
Your current bandwidth reading is: 2.63 Mbps. Although this is still faster that ADSL1 it is not very good for ADSL2+ right? Also im not sure if this is related or not, but the voip call delay seems to have increased.

Pinging 220.233.0.50 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=59
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=59
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=59
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=59

Ping statistics for 220.233.0.50:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 33ms, Maximum = 37ms, Average = 34ms

Tracing route to www.telstra.com [144.140.108.23]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 3 ms <1 ms <1 ms home.gateway [192.168.1.254]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 38 ms 32 ms 35 ms 10.0.1.25
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 36 ms 34 ms 37 ms 37.2.233.220.static.exetel.com.au [220.233.2.37]
6 54 ms 35 ms 33 ms 119.225.5.249
7 36 ms 33 ms 34 ms 10.251.24.2
8 40 ms 37 ms 36 ms GigabitEthernet1-4.ken12.Sydney.telstra.net [139.130.65.145]
9 36 ms 37 ms 35 ms TenGigE0-1-0-2.ken-core4.Sydney.telstra.net [203.50.20.1]
10 46 ms 46 ms 45 ms Bundle-POS1.win-core1.Melbourne.telstra.net [203.50.6.22]
11 45 ms 45 ms 49 ms TenGigabitEthernet8-1.exi2.Melbourne.telstra.net [203.50.80.154]
12 48 ms 48 ms 49 ms telstr312.lnk.telstra.net [139.130.1.246]
13 47 ms 48 ms 48 ms 144.140.109.252
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.


28.8 kbps dial-up
33.6 kbps dial-up
53.3 kbps dial-up
56 kbps ISDN
128 kbps ISDN
384 kbps DSL
768 kbps DSL
1000 kbps DSL
1500 kbps DSL/T1/Cable Modem
2688.7 kbps YOU

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1984
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: Slow speeds in Cammeray

Post by James » Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:33 am

jowtron wrote:Hi, i've just moved house and the speed of the internet seems to have gone down significantly. I've done the isolation test and here is the tracert and ping tests.
It seems like there is some kind of problem somewhere. Any help would be greatly appreciated. The exetel speed test says this:
Your current bandwidth reading is: 2.63 Mbps. Although this is still faster that ADSL1 it is not very good for ADSL2+ right? Also im not sure if this is related or not, but the voip call delay seems to have increased.

Pinging 220.233.0.50 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=59
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=59
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=59
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=59

Ping statistics for 220.233.0.50:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 33ms, Maximum = 37ms, Average = 34ms

Tracing route to http://www.telstra.com [144.140.108.23]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 3 ms <1 ms <1 ms home.gateway [192.168.1.254]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 38 ms 32 ms 35 ms 10.0.1.25
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 36 ms 34 ms 37 ms 37.2.233.220.static.exetel.com.au [220.233.2.37]
6 54 ms 35 ms 33 ms 119.225.5.249
7 36 ms 33 ms 34 ms 10.251.24.2
8 40 ms 37 ms 36 ms GigabitEthernet1-4.ken12.Sydney.telstra.net [139.130.65.145]
9 36 ms 37 ms 35 ms TenGigE0-1-0-2.ken-core4.Sydney.telstra.net [203.50.20.1]
10 46 ms 46 ms 45 ms Bundle-POS1.win-core1.Melbourne.telstra.net [203.50.6.22]
11 45 ms 45 ms 49 ms TenGigabitEthernet8-1.exi2.Melbourne.telstra.net [203.50.80.154]
12 48 ms 48 ms 49 ms telstr312.lnk.telstra.net [139.130.1.246]
13 47 ms 48 ms 48 ms 144.140.109.252
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.


28.8 kbps dial-up
33.6 kbps dial-up
53.3 kbps dial-up
56 kbps ISDN
128 kbps ISDN
384 kbps DSL
768 kbps DSL
1000 kbps DSL
1500 kbps DSL/T1/Cable Modem
2688.7 kbps YOU

Cammeray connects to the North Sydney exchange, and depending on which part of Cammeray you are in, you are on the edge of the exchange.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Slow speeds in Cammeray

Post by Dazzled » Sun Oct 18, 2009 10:17 am

Jowtron, re what James said, could you post the attenuation and line rate shown in your modem's status? Long distances increase the attenuation and decrease the rate. A staff member can look up your true line distance from your phone number, but the attenuation is usually indicative. When your home is at the end of the phone line there's not a lot you can do, except optimise your software.

Traceroute to Telstra isn't very informative, as Telstra never replies - it hasn't really timed out, Windows just says that. Other operating systems say "No reply".

jowtron
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:57 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Slow speeds in Cammeray

Post by jowtron » Sun Oct 18, 2009 11:26 am

Thanks for the replies. It would be great if a staff member could look into this.

Downstream Upstream
SNR Margin 20.0 dB 14.0 dB
Line Attenuation 25.5 dB 10.5 dB

jowtron
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:57 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Slow speeds in Cammeray

Post by jowtron » Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:33 am

I just tried connecting using ADSL1 and get a much higher sync speed and speetested at 3.68 Mbps instead of 2.7Mbps using ADSL2+. Perhaps i'd be better off on an ADSL1 plan.

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1984
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: Slow speeds in Cammeray

Post by James » Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:21 am

jowtron wrote:I just tried connecting using ADSL1 and get a much higher sync speed and speetested at 3.68 Mbps instead of 2.7Mbps using ADSL2+. Perhaps i'd be better off on an ADSL1 plan.
You mean you connected with ADSL G.DMT?

I would stay on ADSL2, as it is cheaper than ADSL2.

Post Reply