HSPA setup and configuration (for wireless networking, please use the 'Networking issue' forum)
Post Reply
Posts: 436
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 11:19 am


Post by Shady » Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:33 am


Date: August 2010

Optus is committed to delivering a leading mobile network, as be seen in the number of new 3G site launches and capacity upgrades actioned over the month of July.

During the month of July, a massive 240+ new 3G sites have launched and 130+ 3G capacity upgrades have been completed.

This is great news, as each new base station brings with it more capacity into the network, allowing for more customers to access the Optus 3G Network and an improved experience for existing customers, as it eases any existing congestion on existing sites.

This translates into improved customer experience!

Regional Australia Update

Optus continues to deliver competition into Regional Australia, with key new sites building depth and breadth deployed into the network in recent weeks. From 5 sites on the beautiful Atherton Tablelands in Far North Queensland, 6 out in Central Western NSW, 5 new sites on the expansive Eyre peninsula in South Australia, a few more for the Mallee region in Western Victoria and sites At Toodyay and Woodanilling to boost our footprint for Optus mobile customers in Western Australia. There isn’t a state or Territory of this great land where Optus isn’t busy acquiring and building new 3G sites.

Coverage Maps.

The Optus Coverage maps are now updated every month, so you can be assured of viewing accurate coverage representation.

3G Network Development — Metro

A snapshot of the new 3G sites now turned on is provided below:


2100MHz — Clayton Station, North Melbourne, Balmoral Park (Derrimut), Skye West.


2100MHz — Erindale, Pirie St (Adelaide).


2100MHz — Rosebay North, Springwood.


2100MHz — Erskine (Halls Head).

3G Network Development — Regional Australia.


900MHz — Longlands Gap (Millaa Millaa), Malanda (Upper Barron), Millaa Millaa, Yungaburra (Peeramon), Yungaburra.

2100MHz — Barney Point, Cannonvale, Freshwater West (Kamerunga), The Range (Rockhampton), Annandale, Freshwater West.


900MHz — Cargo, Carrathool, Cudal, Cumnock, Dunedoo, Molong, Nana Glen, Oaklands, Stuart Town, Urana, Yeoval, Canowindra, Coutts Crossing, Lucknow (U900 and U2100), TAMBAR SPRINGS.

2100MHz — Ulong.


900MHz - Bothwell, Ringarooma, Sheffield, Waratah.


900MHz — Toodyay Nth (Julimar), Woodanilling.


900MHz — Freeling, Hamley Bridge, Kirton Point, Koongawa, Mallala, Minnipa, Owen, Poochera, Wild Horse Plains, Wudinna.

2100MHz — Kirton Point, Tarpeena.


900MHz — Apsley, Booroopki, Byrneville, Cashmore, Glenorchy, Goroke, Katamatite, Newstead, Bundalong, Glenorchy, Lockington, Newstead, Seaspray, Tambo Crossing.

3G Capacity Upgrades.

A snapshot of the Radio and Transmission Upgrades completed during the month of July is provided below:


2100MHz — Mt Rogers, Russell, Kaleen.


900MHz — Roseworthy.

2100MHz — Blackwood, Edwardstown, Golden Grove, Ingle Farm, North Haven, Plympton, Regency Park, Salisbury South, Unley.


U9U21 — Mullion (Yass).

900MHz sites —Corowa, The Rock. Crookwell, Moruya, Ungarie, West Wyalong.

2100MHz sites — Blacktown CBD, Bullocks Flat, Camden, Dolans Bay, Fairfield West, Guildford Station, Horsfield Bay, Kingscliff, Menai, Mid Sapphire, North Auburn, Orchard Hills, Pendle Hill, Riverwood, Rydalmere South, Toongabbie, Willoughby. Blacktown CBD, Camden, Helensburgh Central, Johnstons Br. Old Toongabbie, Lodden Creek (Maddens Plains), Mingara, Minto, Mt White, New North Kellyville, Ourimbah, Rossmore, Sandringham, Schofield, Schofields Station (Riverstone), Toongabbie, Woodpark, Woonona Heights.


900MHz — Blackwater, Dululu (Wowan), Edungalba (Gogango).

2100MHz sites — Biggera Waters, Elanora, Fishermans Island (Lytton), Macleay Island, Molendinar, Nerang, New Farm, Oxford St (Bulimba), Paddington, Parklands, Robina, Rothwell, Sanctuary Cove, Southport, Tallebudgera, Wynnum West, Bundaberg, Mt Lowe, Nudgee Beach, QLD Univ. Technology - Carseldine Campus.


900MHz sites — Beveridge, Dysart Siding, Flowerdale, Glenrowan, Mangalore, Merrijig, Merton, Mt Baw Baw, Tatura, Wangaratta, Waygara, Yarra Glen. Camp Hill, Metung, Mt Raymond, Orbost, Swan Reach.

2100MHz sites - Avalon Airbase, Box Hill, Bundoora West, Campbellfield, Glenvale, Heidelberg West, Altona Meadows, Bacchus Marsh Township, Bendigo Tafe, Box Hill, Diggers Rest, Donvale South, Fawkner South, Glenvale, Lalor, Mt Martha, Pearcedale, Ringwood, Rosanna, Sunshine Station, Tecoma, Wheelers Hill. Kerrimuir (Box Hill Nth), Research North (Diamond Creek), Rosanna, Tecoma, Werribee Central.


2100MHz — Baldivis, Banjup, Barracks Arch, Beckenham, Bibra Lake, Cockburn, East Victoria Park, Bull Creek, Como, East Cannington (Welshpool), Fremantle Hospital, Herdsman South, Kwinana South, Leeming East (Jandakot), Maida Vale South, Mt Lawley South (Highgate), Munster, Nedlands West, Northbridge, Whitfords (Ocean Reef), Yokine, Fremantle Hospital, Hazelmere, Kewdale, Leeming East, Maddington East, Maida Vale South, Marangaroo, Merriwa, Midland, Osborne Park, Perth CBD East, Wanneroo, Wellard.

Latest Population Stats

Current figures valid as at March 2010.

Item: Population/National
2G: 96%
3G DUAL BAND: 96%*

* Use of an external Antenna will provide coverage to 97%. Optus dual band devices and coverage areas: Dual Band (2100/900MHz) devices can provide access to 3G services in the Optus Dual Band coverage area. A number of factors may affect coverage including location and demand on the network. For more information please go to http://www.optus.com.au/coverage

Post Reply