VoIP only working for 'local' calls

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Post Reply
User avatar
Tafkam
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Northern Rivers NSW

VoIP only working for 'local' calls

Post by Tafkam » Sat Jul 28, 2012 6:39 pm

Hi. For some reason my VoIP won't work for distance calls, they just all sound busy. Calling local numbers is fine. So weird that it only affects the distance calls. I suspect I might have cocked up my VoIP dial plans in the advanced config somehow. If anyone can look at these and tell me if there's a glaring problem, I'd really appreciate it.

My VoIP dial plans:
x.T
1[38]x.T<:@pstn>
<:02>[3456789]x.T
000<:@pstn>

Also, a quick question about configuration. In the basic settings, under "VoIP", the SIP Service Provider is set to "manual'. Should it be set to Exetel, which is on the list? Is that likely to affect the distance calls?

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: VoIP only working for 'local' calls

Post by Dazzled » Sat Jul 28, 2012 7:23 pm

I avoid Billions as you know, but the listed providers are there to get the config right. You can also do a custom setup and fill in the boxes yourself. If you can make local calls, the config part is right.

Are the trunk calls optional 02, or to another state that forces you you to add 07 etc? I confess I haven't studied Billion dial plans either, but the Billions I have seen have a Test button at the dial plan page that if pressed will show you exactly what will be dialled when you input numbers.

User avatar
Tafkam
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Northern Rivers NSW

Re: VoIP only working for 'local' calls

Post by Tafkam » Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:40 pm

Hi Dazzled,
I've only tried 07 numbers , as QLD is where I ring the most. I just assumed it wouldn't work for any long distance....

I changed the 02 rule to this : <:02>[45689]x.T Then I added this rule, <:07>[3]x.T which fixes my immediate problem because the QLD numbers I call all start with 3.
It's only a temporary fix until I can try to get my head around how it should be.
My VoIP number is an 07 number. The purpose was so my daughters in QLD could call me for the cost of a local call.

User avatar
Tafkam
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Northern Rivers NSW

Re: VoIP only working for 'local' calls

Post by Tafkam » Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:58 pm

Am trying this now, which seems to work.

<:02>[3456789]x.T <-----prepends 02 to any number in NSW
[012]x.T <----dial anything starting with 0,1 or 2 as is. I can't work out why this one is necessary, but it seems to be working. Have no idea if it affects my 000 rule or my 13/1300/1800 rule.

User avatar
lodperera
Exetel Staff
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:26 pm

Re: VoIP only working for 'local' calls

Post by lodperera » Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:29 am

Tafkam wrote:Am trying this now, which seems to work.

<:02>[3456789]x.T <-----prepends 02 to any number in NSW
[012]x.T <----dial anything starting with 0,1 or 2 as is. I can't work out why this one is necessary, but it seems to be working. Have no idea if it affects my 000 rule or my 13/1300/1800 rule.

Hi tafkam,


It would affect your 000 and 13/1300/1800 rule if this rule is before the others,

Bring this down the list to give less proirity and re-test. :)

regards
LOD

User avatar
Tafkam
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Northern Rivers NSW

Re: VoIP only working for 'local' calls

Post by Tafkam » Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:57 am

Thanks LOD, didn't even think of that! As it happens it's already on the bottom of the list. All seems to be working OK (for the time being, anyway).
Thanks everyone for your help :)

Post Reply