Billion 7800VDPX Voip Setup

VOIP setup and troubleshooting
Post Reply
pauls
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: beecher

Billion 7800VDPX Voip Setup

Post by pauls » Tue Apr 23, 2013 12:29 pm

Have just got a Billion modem to replace my aged not working Netcom modem.
I have the internet working without a hitch but cannot get the VOIP to work :(
Can receive incoming phone calls, but when I dial out I get the Voip dial tone--
then I dial the number out-- then all I get is the engaged tone.

Other netcom modem was sort of working and had to reset every second day to make voip work
that is why I bought this one

User avatar
stevecJ
Forum Admin
Posts: 1040
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:48 am

Re: Billion 7800VDPX Voip Setup

Post by stevecJ » Tue Apr 23, 2013 12:49 pm

pauls wrote:Have just got a Billion modem to replace my aged not working Netcom modem.
I have the internet working without a hitch but cannot get the VOIP to work :(
Can receive incoming phone calls, but when I dial out I get the Voip dial tone--
then I dial the number out-- then all I get is the engaged tone.

Other netcom modem was sort of working and had to reset every second day to make voip work
that is why I bought this one
Hi,

One of our support engineers will get in touch with you in order to check on the voip service.
To Log a fault ticket, please click click here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

=================
Exetel Support Portal
=================

pauls
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: beecher

Re: Billion 7800VDPX Voip Setup

Post by pauls » Fri Jul 05, 2013 6:21 pm

So I've had the Voip working for a couple of months and haven't had any problems with it :D :D :D
But I did the foolish thing and activated a firewall that was in the modem :( :( :(
I fixed that by doing a factory reset and manual reset :D :D :D
Problem is now when I make phone calls after I dial out the phone waits at least 30 seconds before it goes through
and dials :( :( :( :shock:
What settings do I change to rectify this? :shock:
Sent billion a question and thay have passed the buck saying it is a exetel problem to fix :? :? :? :?


What do I do now
Paul

User avatar
stevecJ
Forum Admin
Posts: 1040
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:48 am

Re: Billion 7800VDPX Voip Setup

Post by stevecJ » Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:14 pm

pauls wrote:So I've had the Voip working for a couple of months and haven't had any problems with it :D :D :D
But I did the foolish thing and activated a firewall that was in the modem :( :( :(
I fixed that by doing a factory reset and manual reset :D :D :D
Problem is now when I make phone calls after I dial out the phone waits at least 30 seconds before it goes through
and dials :( :( :( :shock:
What settings do I change to rectify this? :shock:
Sent billion a question and thay have passed the buck saying it is a exetel problem to fix :? :? :? :?


What do I do now
Paul
Hi Paul,

I will check on this further and get back to you soon.
To Log a fault ticket, please click click here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

=================
Exetel Support Portal
=================

pauls
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: beecher

Re: Billion 7800VDPX Voip Setup

Post by pauls » Mon Jul 08, 2013 10:42 am

So I dont want to download a Soft phone as this has crashed my modem before and did not work
I use a panasonic dial wirless phone and have done for 3 years through voip and do not want a softphone account
All I want is the setting changes for this to happen so I don't have to wait every time

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Billion 7800VDPX Voip Setup

Post by Dazzled » Mon Jul 08, 2013 11:57 am

In the Quick Start VoIP setup:
Account name, Username, Authentcation ID: are all your 10 digit VoIP number;
SIP Registrar: 58.96.1.2;
SIP Registrar port; 5060;
Password: as supplied to you by Exetel

Don't bother with Answering machine or Email, get it working.

You should have a softphone available for testing when you have modem troubles. The easiest to use freebie I know, and available for all common computer systems, is Linphone http://www.linphone.org/. The same info above is needed to configure the software. The softphone can make an outward call without changing the modem; inward calls need modem changes. Softphones need a mike and speaker on your computer for the audio, but they usually print out the call status which is often enough for testing.

[edit] Linphone for Windows and Mac are at http://www.linphone.org/eng/download/pa ... phone.html
For Linux try your repo.

User avatar
thomashouseman
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Toongabbie
Contact:

Re: Billion 7800VDPX Voip Setup

Post by thomashouseman » Thu Jul 11, 2013 1:01 pm

I have the same modem and voip has been flawless.
Happy to compare settings if you like.
I'm using the one's dazzled has above but use sip1.exetel.com.au instead of the 58.*.... ip address.

Cheers,

T.

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2311
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Billion 7800VDPX Voip Setup

Post by KavindaS » Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:11 pm

thomashouseman wrote:I have the same modem and voip has been flawless.
Happy to compare settings if you like.
I'm using the one's dazzled has above but use sip1.exetel.com.au instead of the 58.*.... ip address.

Cheers,

T.
You may paste a screen capture of the settings page here. In the mean time please submit a ticket by emailing residentialsupport@exetel.com.au including the voip number and the issue described.

User avatar
thomashouseman
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Toongabbie
Contact:

Re: Billion 7800VDPX Voip Setup

Post by thomashouseman » Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:19 pm

Huh? I was offering to help PaulS not wanting to log a ticket. Maybe I shouldn't use big words like flawless.

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2311
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Billion 7800VDPX Voip Setup

Post by KavindaS » Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:34 pm

thomashouseman wrote:Huh? I was offering to help PaulS not wanting to log a ticket. Maybe I shouldn't use big words like flawless.
Kindly ignore the request made for the ticket. Still if you could paste the settings page (since you have the same model / model no) it would be helpful to have a comparison. :)

User avatar
thomashouseman
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Toongabbie
Contact:

Re: Billion 7800VDPX Voip Setup

Post by thomashouseman » Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:49 pm

Image

and

Image

pauls
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: beecher

Re: Billion 7800VDPX Voip Setup

Post by pauls » Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:38 pm

Thank You Thomashouseman for your postsn and webshots :D :D :D :D :D
I changed my Sips from numbers to letters and wohoo phone now works with no waiting for it to dial out :D
and it now fixed the problem of not dialing out at all after the firmware upgrade :(

User avatar
thomashouseman
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Toongabbie
Contact:

Re: Billion 7800VDPX Voip Setup

Post by thomashouseman » Tue Jul 16, 2013 4:39 pm

pauls wrote:Thank You Thomashouseman for your postsn and webshots :D :D :D :D :D
I changed my Sips from numbers to letters and wohoo phone now works with no waiting for it to dial out :D
and it now fixed the problem of not dialing out at all after the firmware upgrade :(

Win!

Post Reply